We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not sleep because the noise from road.”
Review of Meriton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meriton Hotel
Ranked #47 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can not sleep because the noise from road.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Because of my room located on the 2nd floors ,front side of the hotel then I can not sleep because the disturbance sound from road and restaurant on 1st floor (the noise start at 1 AM-4 AM. very ) the room and shower room is very small but bed is good that is okey for this price.The staff very friendly and can speak English very well.The hotel far from MRT station but can walk.

PS. Thai restaurant opposite of the hotel is very well.

Room Tip: Should not chose the room at road side. Because you will get the disturbance sound. (Another side no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Varangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    9
    6
    21
See reviews for
4
17
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is the worst we have ever stayed in. The smell of smoke was disgusting, the carpet was filthy, the kettle cable did not reach a plug unless you held the kettle. The bathroom hand basin! water leaked all over the floor when you turned the tap on, round the plug hole in the bathroom little flies were hovering. They did not do the room we had to ask for towels we didn't sleep in the bed just on top. Thoroughly disgusting place would rather stay in a hostel than this hell hole. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racsouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Wish we had have read the reviews on here prior to staying here!

Terrible experience...we had to be moved rooms after seeing a rat (!) in our first room. The receptionist was pleasant, but we didn't receive an apology for the disruption.
The bed was comfy...but the bathroom was filthy & the carpets were putrid. Our room was so small we could barely access our cases.

Definitely NOT value for money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Singapore is an expenisve city for hotels - trust me take the hit, pay the extra money & stay somewhere nice...!! TRUST ME ON THIS.

The rooms are small, smelly and many are infested with small cockroach type critters on the walls and floors. We arrived late at night (1am) and saw 4 or 5 rooms before we finally settled on one, the one we settled on had windows that you couldn't even shut let alone lock. The shower, sink, toliet combo in the bathroom is an interesting set up.

We had already decided between us that we would stay that night and then lose the money we had already paid for the 2nd & 3rd nights & find alternative accomodation.

Believe me when I say don't waste your money. Pay the extra and stay somewhere nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I've stayed in backpacker hostels 100's of times and the 'deluxe' room here made them look like 5 star-hotels. Without exaggeration, you open the door to find filth and bugs. There is a closet which is your bathroom and shower and the bed takes up the entire area of the room. You have to keep your bags/luggage on the bed as there is no other place to put them. Noisy outside as well. To be fair, it is in an interesting area of S'pore...little India. Lot's of cheap food hawkers and interesting people watching. Not close to MRT. Stay away. Many more better looking hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Go to other hotel or sleep on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samsquamch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There was a mice running around in the room.I have to cover up the entrance door once the mice ran out of the room to avoid it to come back into the room.There was a cockroach.The bathroom was wet when I checked in.There was a construction site next to the hotel. The receptionist was nice. The bed was okay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeeHRaIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I were only in Singapore for one night and just thought finding a cheap (but not budget) place to stay would be alright. Oh how we were wrong.

Firstly the taxi driver had never heard of it so we were driving around for about half an hour looking for it. We did have a map but this didn't help. In the end we got out and walked and this was the only way to get there as big construction works are going on and blocked off the road.

The lady at reception was nice, gave us our key and off we went, up 4 stories of stairs to our room.

Opening the door of the room was actually quite funny, it was the tiniest room with a double bed flush with 3 walls and a tiny bathroom about 1meter by 1 meter with the shower toilet and sink all inside. With just enough room for the door to open.

There was no window, the walls were absolutely filthy with black marks and dirt, the sheets were covered in stains, the air con smelled moldy which is carsongenic, the toilet water ran for about 20 minutes after flushing, the room was just down right nasty.

If you are thinking of staying here please think again. If you think it's ok for one night it's not, spend a bit more money and get something half decent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liltwav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#228 of 315 in Singapore
66 reviews
Geylang
Oxley Blossom
Oxley Blossom
#20 of 79 in Singapore
11 reviews
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#8 of 79 in Singapore
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Snow
#17 of 79 in Singapore
117 reviews
Fuji Hotel
#22 of 79 in Singapore
1 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Lucky
Hotel 81 Lucky
#28 of 79 in Singapore
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Hotel

Property: Meriton Hotel
Address: 43A Jalan Besar Grand U Hotel | #01-00, Little India district, Singapore 208804, Singapore (Formerly Grand U Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Meriton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing