We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #43 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed in November 2013 for 4 nights in a double bed dorm with my partner. Place was clean and staff helpful. The double bed dorm, which slept upto 24 at one time was OK but smelt a bit musty after a few days due to amount of people. Only complaints though, breakfast was plentiful and showers decent too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Dellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Andy,
Thank you for your review.
The room you have booked for is our largest dorm room.
Its the large sized dorm and it sells our pretty fast as we have kept its prices fairly
Competitive.. we hope you will try our best seller the standard size and mid sized dorm the next time as the accommodate lesser number of people .
We do have a fresh air system installed in all of our rooms,
the system takes in fresh air from the outside of our building then run it thru a coolant and pumps
It into every room.. This cooled air will force the hot air which are usually 'bad' air up (a bit of science needed here ;) ) and these bad air will be taken out by a separate exhaust system..
We have specially built this system to refresh air in every of our rooms..
Alot of thoughtful planning has gone into building bunc.. With all our guests like yourself in mind..

Do try our standard dorms the next time. Looking forward to seeing back @ bunc !
Luv the bunc team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    204
    61
    14
    13
See reviews for
22
105
98
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The rooms in bunc are cosy and the shower facilities are well equipped. It is located near Bugis MRT which allows easy access to other parts of Singapore. The common area is a great place for discussion and small parties. Definitely a great place to stay, especially for people travelling in large groups!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salimsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hi Salim,
Great that you and your partner liked us.
We are glad to have lived up to your expectations ,yup we chose to build the hostel
here as it one of the last u touched culturally rich district in Singapore.
And we are located inbetween 2 major mRT lines, bugis and little india stations...

Thanks for staying with us and looking forward to your next stay.
Luv the bunc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here one night only, went to a different hostel after that. Well,the facilities are good, the hostel seems well maintained and clean. The location is OK, in Singapore everything is close anyway, its a small place. I booked a bed,kinda a pod bed in a 16bed dorm, not realising that 8 of which are double for couples,family and sharing with friends. I don't think the hostel mentions that on their website,so in a 16bed dorm ypou can easily find yourself sharing with at least 24people. There was even an family with a child on a double bed.the room is not that big and got hot at night. If I had known that they put more than 16people in one dorm I would have gone somewhere else.Had a sleepless night, with people snoring, checking in after midnight and leaving their light on till 2am. The reception told me that the hostel can accommodate over 200 people,way too big for me.I prefer smaller place, not so crowded. The breakfast was busy but didn't have to wait for the shower, well I was up quite early anyway.Not a place to socialise really.

Room Tip: If you are a solo travel they will give you a top of a bunk bed,the lower part is a double bed for c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Hi Kasia,
We are sorry that the room you booked was quite full, you have booked
our large sized dorm category and we have only one of that room type. It usually sold out the
fastest because of its very competitive price.
And so sorry that you could hv missed out on the room descriptions. Its does mention about the room wil have singles and doubles mixed setup..we will look into how we can offer a better describe it.
Had we realized you weren't used to such large dorms we would certainly offer upgrade you to our smaller room type like the mid sized(10-12) bed, or standard size(8-6) beds dorms that were available..
Bunc was built and designed with all our guests in mind..we too knew that we are one of the first hostel with such sheer size thus we had created a fundesk which is a tour desk and also an events desk . We do organize free walking tours, great discounts and free entries exclusively for our guests only ,to our club partners that we work with... Fundesk was envisioned to be the ice breaking component of bunc..

We hope you would give us another try when you come back to Singapore...looking forward to making your next stay with us better.

Luv the bunc team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I love bedroom and bathroom at Bunc. It is clean and comfortable. There are big spaces and sufficient tables and chairs for many people. Roof terrance is so nice to hold a party. Bunc has good security. For entering bedroom or bathroom you have to use your keycard. But if all of you are girl travelers, you might concern when you walk from MRT station to Bunc at night because it is quiet desolate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Napchu,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. Staying true to the backpacker's culture - we do allocate around 50% of our building space to communal areas which thus makes us an ideal hostel for big groups travelling to Singapore as well. Singapore has been consistently ranked as the top safest countries in Asia, as well as for female travellers, our streets are brightly lit as well. We would encourage you to explore the city at night as it does have its own unique beauty amidst the bright city night lights. Our fun desk colleagues are always available to give you the best hints and tips to visit Singapore - always better from a local ;)

Thank you Napchu, and we hope to host you once more! Cheers xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Bunc is in a prime location in little India and is a perfect hostel for backpackers staying in Singapore. The rooms and bathrooms are kept very clean and the staff is friendly. Also has a nice garden area for getting away from busy Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossMaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Rosse,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. The Bunc team constantly strives to provide good service, and of course maintain the cleanliness of our place as we do understand hygiene is indeed important. :) We're glad you enjoyed our deck area, do join us for our movie nights next time as well! We look forward to hosting you once more. Cheers xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

It was the first time we ever have used a hostel and it was a very funny experience.The hostels location is great and the interior is very modern and funky.The double bed was very comfy and the breakfast was good.Staff were always very helpful!In a city where accomodation prices are very high for backpackers I would definitly recommend this hostel as it has a great athmosphere,is comfortable and well located!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Philia,

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review and your very very kind comments. We are indeed in a very good location, and it would be even better once the new downtown line opens! We hope to see you back here soon! Cheers xx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Ideal location to host large groups
I recently participated in a week-long youth conference in Singapore, where bunc was the official accommodation provider. There were 70 of us in total staying at bunc for this conference. My overall experience at bunc was a very pleasant one. I had a great time, and I do believe the conference wouldn’t have exceeded my expectation by so much if not for our stay at bunc. Here are some highlights I gathered from my experience at bunc:
Rooms: We stayed in rooms for 6, which really increases the interaction between delegates from different countries.
Facilities: There was two very connected large decks on the second floor where we had the daily debriefs. The space was also easily transformed to a very cozy place for our closing ceremony, where we had a reception on one deck and a stage on the other. Each of the decks could easily hold 70 people. The first floor lobby was also an ideal place where all of us spent a lot of time working on our group projects.
Compared to other conferences I have been to, where we stayed in double hotel rooms, this stay at bunc was a lot more fun.

Most helpful staff
One of the aspects of bunc is that really impressed me is their staff. There was one day when our group, consisting of 60 people, had some troubles with the bus company. It was 1am and due to some changes in our itinerary, we had no bus arrangements for the next morning. It was then that a bunc staff offered to help. Within half an hour, she was able to source for 2 buses. If it wasn’t for bunc’s help, we would have had to take public transport, which would certainly be a major problem for a group as big as ours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trang_Mei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xJanice, Sales at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Trang Mei,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We're really delighted at the comments that you have left us, and it is comments like such that motivates us to work even harder so that we may exceed your expectations each time you return.

We hope to host your returning stay with us soon, cheers! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#55 of 223 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#11 of 223 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#37 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Property: Bunc Hostel
Address: 15 Upper Weld Road, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing