We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, modern facilities, culturally rich district.”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #43 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value, modern facilities, culturally rich district.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights, just recently in May 2013.

The private room with ensuite bathroom is adequate, with enough space for 2 people who are travelling lightly.

There are 2 private en-suite rooms, both of which are close to the street and reception. Most of the lower windows are bordered up, save a small window in the bedroom and bathroom that allow natural light into the room.

In regards to the bathroom, the toilet is on opposite ends to the shower and does not get wet when the shower is on. While the shower has a shower curtain, it does share the same floor as the bathroom, and drains via the shower drain and a drain under the sink, however the bathroom is spacious enough that the whole bathroom doesn't get wet.

The bed and pillows are firm but not uncomfortable, and very clean.

The free breakfast provided was simple (toast, cereal, tea and coffee). We bought our own honey and fruits from the 24 hour store around the corner and added them to our breakfast. The communal kitchen upstairs, although we didn't use it, seemed to be equipped with all the basics.

Bunc was easy to find, in a great area of Singapore that was bursting with culture. There is a plethora of cheap food options in every direction, much to our delight!

The Little India and Bugis MRT stations were an easy 10 min walk from Bunc. There is some construction work happening on the MRT at the moment, so there is a bit of noise outside the hostel during the day, but we didn't have a problem with it as we were mostly out.

The Bunc staff were friendly and willing to assist us with all our enquiries. Bunc is great value for anyone looking for affordable accommodation in Singapore.

Room Tip: The 2 private en-suite rooms are closer to the street and reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeganT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Tegan,
Thanks for your review, it really encourages us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    210
    64
    14
    14
See reviews for
22
108
102
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Bunk bed accomodation as the name suggests. However there are solid walls between each matteress so its almost private rooms. View the web site pictures, they give a good impression. Individual lockers with each bed. Tiles and very moderm decor in the bathrooms. Good range of jams with the free breakfast. Good wifi. Given the cost of Singapore this is a great deal.

Room Tip: All much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hi Quentin,
Thank ya for making time to leave us a review.
Our main vision is to make traveller realize that at bunc,
You can enjoy the comfy of a boutique hotel and culture of a hostel.
Bunc was built from scratch and every detail with travellers like you in mind.
Hope to see ya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my second stay at Bunc in 3 weeks.
It is located in Little India which means there are plenty of cheap places to eat and lots of good shopping around the area (SimLim square is one of the largest electronics markets in the area and is 2 minutes walk from Bunc).

Reception, which includes big long tables for dining, is open, bright and welcoming. The reception staff are all friendly and helpful, checking us in quickly. Oh, and there is a nice massager chair too - $2 for 8 minutes, well worth a tryout.

The rooms are fairly small, shared dorms, but absolutely adequate and, for the price, I'd rate them at the higher end of facilities - definitely worth the price.
Each bunk has its own reading light, big light, blue LED light for night time, 2 shelves, a towel / clothes rail, mains socket and big lockable storage locker under the bed. Aircon is great, keeping the doms nice and cool.
Showers are big and clean and lovely and warm and powerful!

Breakfast is basic (two cereals, and as much toast, jam and peanut butter as you could want, along with tea or coffee) but pleasant enough, and there is plenty of space in which to eat.

Some friends were staying at other local hostels, and the general consensus was Bunc was definitely better and worth the very small extra cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hey Keith,
So happy you liked us.
It really encourages us to be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

If u're looking for an affordable yet chic. clean. trendy. cozy. close to mrt. warm. cozy again. clean bathroom. clean bedsheet. warm and clean white bedcover. puffy white & cozy pillow. cool airy room. yummy cereal and bread breakfast in a cozy self service kitchen table. airy patio. *lemme grasp a breath first...

well anyway.. spend a night here and i'll bet ur gonna booked it for the rest of your holiday in sg :)

Room Tip: u could choose the queen size bed in a communal room .. or if ur lucky enough u could get the privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rerawardhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Nonaitik,
Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay, hope to see ya again soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hostel as part of a layover on our way to Hong Kong because we were pretty impressed with the pictures on the website and the price.
The hostel is pretty easy to find using this link >>>>

http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/BuncRadius-Little-India/Singapore/57630/directions


On arrival the staff were really helpful and friendly, the lobby is full of posters and leaflets with ideas for shopping, bars, sightseeing and eating.
The hostel looks just as good as it does on the website which is really nice because some places just use any old pictures and it's a bit of a shock when you actually arrive. I didn't believe it could be as good as it looked for the price so i was pleasantly surprised, you won't be disappointed.
The layout is great, the typical elements of a hostel (dorms, bunks and shared social areas) and completely revitalized them. There are choices of doubles and singles (the beds are really comfy, a total relief when you finally get set down and have a break from travelling) and are sort of built into the walls, so everyone gets their own little space, plus there is no creaky metal sounds every time someone gets into bed which is also really nice :)
Breakfast is pretty good, typical hostel style, tea, coffee toast and fruit, what impressed me is there are EIGHT types of toast toppings, and nothing is ever let to run out, the staff are on top of things all the time.
There's also a female only floor, free laundry, free wifi and 24 hour reception.
The place is great, it makes me mad to think that such a simple concept is being used here that really works and is really great value when there arefilthy decrepit hostels charging so much more for so much less. All hostels should be like Bunc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffLeopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Steff ! Steff ! Steff !

The Planning, The Tiring months of constructions, The tedious rectifications.....
You have just made it all worthwhile!!

Its the little touches that goes a long way...and we believe in it.
Hope to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I went to Singapore with my friends to release our stress and pressure after finishing our work contract, so we decided to find a hostel because we only stayed for one night and went shopping all day long.

We arrived around 11 or 12pm and unfortunately our room was not ready until 3pm. what a disaster because we carried our luggage with us, but luckily MICHELLE, the receptionist was so kind and told us to go enjoy our time and come back at 3 while leaving our luggage there. she gave us the number to make sure that our luggage would not be taken by other guests. I was kinda worried but my luggage was kept safely.

I had no high expectation since it is a backpacker hotel, but once i got into my room, i was kinda surprised because it's beyond my imagination. i like the decoration with black and white theme and it was so nice. our bed were perfect and nice (so clean and smell nice).

the bathroom was a heaven. really big and clean. even they got hairdryers.

and I really like the lobby (or waiting room maybe?) it is really nice with all the pictures, nice couch.

Best backpacker hostel i've ever stayed at. worth more than I have spent.
Definitely going back!!!
Thankyou Michelle for all the information and kindness. You're the best

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Patricia,
Thank you for leaving us your review...
Yup we are currently the only hostel in Singapore that has built a luggage room thats
Card access security.
We are glad you like us.. Hope to see ya again soon。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hostel has a very nice fashion touch of minimalism. Rooms were ABSOLUTELY clean, shiny white, and with a very powerful air conditioning system (which in Singapore is a total delight). Free breakfast (hostel level: toast, jam and tea.. but quite nice).

The hostel is on one end of Little India so, it will take you approximately 10 minutes to walk to the nearest metro station, but it's WELL worth it, you probably will never be as safe walking through Indian-looking roads as in Little India.

Don't be fooled by the surroundings; the hostel is very modern, very fresh and clean and overall VERY QUIET) (in the big rooms each bunk bed has its own reading light)

Definitely recommend it for families, couples or friends. If you're REALLY into partying, it might not be the most party-like hostel, but it every single other aspect this place is extremely comfortable. Staff is really helpful and willing to go the extra mile to help you.

Room Tip: If you're not a big group, try to get a bed as far away as possible from the air con or the fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Chema
Thank you for your kind compliments..
Its really encouraging to be appreciated.
Hope to see ya again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 225 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#11 of 225 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Property: Bunc Hostel
Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing