We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURE Awesomeness you wouldn't expect for the price”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #42 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“PURE Awesomeness you wouldn't expect for the price”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hostel has a very nice fashion touch of minimalism. Rooms were ABSOLUTELY clean, shiny white, and with a very powerful air conditioning system (which in Singapore is a total delight). Free breakfast (hostel level: toast, jam and tea.. but quite nice).

The hostel is on one end of Little India so, it will take you approximately 10 minutes to walk to the nearest metro station, but it's WELL worth it, you probably will never be as safe walking through Indian-looking roads as in Little India.

Don't be fooled by the surroundings; the hostel is very modern, very fresh and clean and overall VERY QUIET) (in the big rooms each bunk bed has its own reading light)

Definitely recommend it for families, couples or friends. If you're REALLY into partying, it might not be the most party-like hostel, but it every single other aspect this place is extremely comfortable. Staff is really helpful and willing to go the extra mile to help you.

Room Tip: If you're not a big group, try to get a bed as far away as possible from the air con or the fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChemaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Chema
Thank you for your kind compliments..
Its really encouraging to be appreciated.
Hope to see ya again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    211
    65
    14
    15
See reviews for
22
108
105
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Now, I came down to this hostel for something important. I expect everything to go smoothly, but the indian woman at the reception counter is just horrible at doing her job and can never get things right. She is the only odd one out from the other staffs. Now, the review below mine shows pretty much what I'm saying is true and there are other people that have faced this kind of situation too. Please remove her from the staff list and find somebody more deserving to replace her position. Bunc hostel use to always been get 4 to 5 stars ratings before this. I would like to apologize to Trip Advisor for censoring not many from my previous submitted review, as I would need Bunc Hostel to clearly identify the receptionist that I am talking about, as I do not want Bunc Hostel to get the wrong receptionist as the other receptionist are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arunnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Arun,
We apologize for your unpleasant experience.
The staff you mentioned had just joined our team and was still new to
Certain procedures at work.
We all at some point of time in life, exposed to new things that we have never
experienced before.. We would be thrust into an iffy period.
This is her 1st time in a hostel line, and just like all of us who stepped into this as a greenhorn.
I am sure she will be as good as the rest of us with time..
We do hope you would kindly give her another chance to have another shot at this,
I am sure by the next time want back, she will be as good ..if not better than the most of us.
Improvement is an endless process and mistakes are valuable lessons that comes with it.
Most importantly is given the chance to do all that.

We look forward to seeing you again soon..

Thank you for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall facility is very nice. Location is good, Little India is great. Avoid the large dorms, it's just way too many people to cram into a space! Also I saw a small mouse in the lobby in the early morning and let the clerk know. I'm sure all hostels have rodent issues, hopefully this is a one-off. Not sure I would stay again, however, the value is solid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_Buddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hi C,
Thank you for your review.

We are regulated base on number of people allowed per square meter in our rooms by the Singapore Hotel Board who comes for checks regularly. Furthermore our staffs do practice not to allocated 100% occupancy to our rooms at most it will be only 60% of the beds and we do allocate the bottom and better ones first..Please be assured that all our Guest's Comfort are one of our top priorities.
Most of us do stay in the hostel and in the same kind of room setups, so we know all the plus and minus points of each and every room.

Thank you again for highlighting the mouse issue to us, we called our contracted professional pest controller that very same morning to investigate and what they have found out is that it came from outside of the hostel grounds as they did not find any evidence of it living out in the hostel after a day of through checks. Please be assured that this is a one off incident as we do have regular checks by the pest controller company and we have put up preventive precautions in place as advised by our pest controller.

Please do let us have another chance to host you..its feedback like yours that allows us to rectify our weaknesses and improve ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning at 9 and receptionist told us we have to wait till 3 pm to check in. We asked her can we take a shower and she said we have an hour and then our key wont work. At around 12 I asked her can I use a toilet she said I CAN'T cause she only gave us a key for an hour!!!! Then she checked in our friends first who arrived at 12 cause their bed was ready despite of paying the same money for the bed. Very bad experience even when hostel is quiet nice for the value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarolaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Karola,
Thank you for your review.
We are sorry for the unpleasant exprience
And hope that it didn't spoil your holiday.
There could be a slight miscommunication in this instance,
We would like to assure you that we do allow early check ins
If the beds you have booked weren't used the previous night..as we do understand
That sometimes flights are really long and are tiring..showers to freshen up while waiting for your beds to be ready are allowed and even after checkouts too..before heading off to the airport.
As for just usage of toilets we do have a common one in our lobby that does not need a keycard that you could use...

We are backpackers too and we understand your needs..hope that we would have another chance to host you and your friends.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

almost as much as i expected, but when i visit it was fairly quiet, not much occupancy. i wonder what will it be like if stayed longer and had met many more people from all around the world, that would be exciting. but i only stayed for 2 nights, so i'm looking forward to visit Singapore again and stay at bunc again. but i do hope even when jalan besar station is build, bunc's room rates won't rocket sky high,, we backpackers are on a budget travel you see =P so please to keep the room rates fair..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Indah,
Thank you for taking time to review us,
Yup it was quite unfortunate that just
before your arrival we had a huge group
that checked out after staying for a week
with us, and we will usually have a short void inbetween.

At bunc, we do keep our rates fairly competitive.
We believe in providing value for your money and have built the hostel with the backpackers in mind.We believe that you dont have to rough it out even on a
shoestring budget.for a little extra you would be having more than just a bed.

Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This place was GREAT. Staff- amazing. Decor-amazing. Bathrooms- clean, spacious, and hairdryers provided. Amenities- great, clean, and organized kitchen space with everything you need. Do it yourself laundry-yay!! (Although a tad expensive). Bedrooms- comfiest pillows and duvet I have used in four+ months!! Oh, and wi-fi worked (well) in the rooms. Major bonus for that.

The only negative.. the rooms are SO small. There are twelve people crammed into a room and the builder didn't seem to make efficient use of all the space available in the room. First of all, the platform for the single bed that is on the bunk above the double bed should go all the way across so there's room to put bags, but instead there is a big cutout in it so that space is completely useless. And there aren't any shelves near the double bed so anything you need on/near the bed with you has to just stay under the covers with you, since the only other space to put anything is on the ground below where people will step.

Other than the small rooms, this place gets an A in my book. I would stay there again for sure; I only mention the room size as a recommendation to the management/owner in case there was ever future plans of renovation or building a new hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Romi,
Thank you for giving us your five star review despite what you had felt about your room.
We do have rooms that are a little more spacious compared the ones that you were in as the way the building was constructed there were just this much space we had. But operationally we have been more flexible by practising intelligent allocation of the beds... We knew the room was a tad smaller so we will nvr fill up the room to it max capacity unless we do not have anymore rooms left. Rest assured that we as the hostel staffs , we have tried sleeping in every room before the hostel opened for bookings, this allows us to ' feel' every single room and bed in the whole hostel. Part of intelligent allocation we will also try not to utilize the " not as good beds" compared to the rest.

The "hole" in some of the single beds are actually a requirement when we submitted to the Singapore fire department, they have insisted that we have that hole so that in a case of fire, the smoke from the fire will travel faster to the smoke detector in every room to activate it before it becomes any bigger. Here in singapore , the Goverment is strictly concern about tourist's safety.

We are infact building our new outlet and we will bear all the points you have brought up in our mind... Hope to get the chance to host you in our new hostel!

Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, free Internet that's fast, breakfast served till 11 everyday, films on all the time and booking in advance worked out at £25 for three nights, location is ok, little India is a strange place

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Wooly,
Great to have a review from you.. Its really encouraging and give us the clearer direction to perfection..

Glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see ya soon and host you again...cheersx2
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 227 in Singapore
483 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 227 in Singapore
290 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 227 in Singapore
676 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 227 in Singapore
402 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 227 in Singapore
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Property: Bunc Hostel
Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing