We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Singapore”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #48 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I like this hostel because it has some class and no weird stuff going on in it. Very safe. Although, I hope the newly trained staffs can be more properly trained to cater to the guest's needs and wants. And the bed sheets and pillows really need to get cleaned with boiling water because it's giving me rashes. But other than that, the whole place looks really neat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeoLee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hi Xero,
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.
My apologies for the minor setbacks to your otherwise perfect stay with us.
Yup we did have a change of new staffs recently and they are still in the learning stage.. Give them some time and i am sure they will do well. As for the linens, we do outsource them to an external professional laundry com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 531 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was in three hostels in Singapore. BUNC is the best, really. The only problem is that there are too many people in one room. I like design and friendly stuff. It was a bit noisy at night. Although I didn't eat breakfast because I was sleeping it's nice: toasts, coffee, cakes.

Room Tip: don't choose beds near air-conditioner: too cold and windy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vadim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Vadim,
Thank you for your kind review and taking time to write it..
Hope to see ya soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My son stayed in this hostel last few month during Singapore Comic Fair before he proceed to Japan, he strongly recommended this to all his anime's buddies and friends. Me too, without looking for further details about this hostel, booked and checked in 1 day before my arrival.Well, walking distance to MRT station and bus station ,lots of food retailers behind this premises. Never forget, the cleanliness is superb,cleaner than your expectation. The staffs , Oh my, they speak very fluently English as if they are westerners,of cos they speak Chinese too Great for single, family and group. Mind you , you will find ladies' dorm and ladies' lounge too. Another greatness, budge hostel with simple breakfast, where can you find this in Singapore? Ahem, I am running a travel agency myself. Still....Bunc Hostel will definitely get my vote. Travel agency operators use to say: No star fee with 5 star service .Bunc hostel got it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccliawyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi CC,
We are very happy your son and you liked us so much.
You said it... 5 star hostel without the 5 star price... Value for your money.
Hope to see ya soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I'm always questioning when friends asking me to stay in hostel during a trip. Surprisingly, Bunc hostel is very clean and quite modern. You have own locker, light and space in bedroom. The staff was very helpful and breakfast is quite nice. You can easily get tourist attraction information or meet people in hostel lobby.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmmeSastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Hi Amme,
Thank you for leaving us a review.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location wasn't great but staff were very helpful & the place is spotless, nicer then some of the hotels I have stayed in if I am honest. Highly recommended for travellers, families & couples. Breakfast even served in the mornings not any hostels that I have stayed in before had this, great hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hi Corrina,
Thank you for making bunc your choice hostel for your Singapore trip.
Glad you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see ya soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is the best hostel me & my girlfriend have stayed in by a mile.

We've never wrote a review but decided as the hostel deserve credit for the effort they've put in!

First off all the cleanliness of it is the same as a top of the range hotel. There is cleaner that you see all the time keeping the place perfect.

The kitchen area is big and spacious and even if it does get busy there's always somewhere to sit. It's also got loads of plates,bowls etc with cooking facilities. Also you get a free cereal an toast with different spreads each day.

There is a massive fun area with a projector screen with loads of comfy bean bags were you can watch movies that the hostel provide. It was an Excellent way to meet people.

The staff literally can't do enough for you and work endlessly to make your stay a good one. I seen the staff asking a lone traveler to come chill with them in the fun area so they didnt have to sit on there own. A very nice gesture and gives a nice vibe off.

Would recommend to anyone looking for hostels in singapore



  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctysonefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Hi Ct,
Thank you for your kind compliments.
Hope to see ya back at bunc soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hostel is walking distance to the main attractions in the city, also handy for getting on the public metro system. The beds were comfy and having your own light and locker was ideal. The carpet in the bedroom really needs to be hovered more often but apart from that the rooms were nice. The bathroom was very modern, however it was always very hot in there due to no AC. On one day out of the 4days I was there the bathroom had a lot of little flying bugs in the shower which wasn't very good however my partner did not experience this in the male bathroom. The staff were nice, we arrived late in the evening and they helped carry our bags after the long flight. The breakfast was also a nice touch, toast and cereal to the start the day, and a water filter machine for cold clean water at any time! The streets surrounding the hostel were questionable but once inside you felt really safe.

Overall a really nice hostel for the price!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRIPMCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi There,
Thank you for taking time to give us your review.
Improvement is indeed an endless process and we are far from being perfect, be assured that we will not stop trying to improve and to reach perfection.

we would like to thank you for helping us out by pointing out the areas that we might missed out and we will step up our efforts in those areas.

Like many areas in the hostel, Bunc was built with her guests in mind,We have built our bathrooms in such a way that all of them will have natural ventilation to prevent them from having the "Damp and Mouldy" smell. We have also installed heavy duty industrial fans in them on top of the usual exhaust system. But i guess we will have to look into how to cool the bathrooms down in the afternoons where the weather gets really hot outside...

Thank you again for giving us this chance to make improvements and we do hope you would come back to witness the improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#55 of 240 in Singapore
303 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#28 of 240 in Singapore
507 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#132 of 240 in Singapore
60 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#39 of 240 in Singapore
409 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 240 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $22 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing