We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Neat Hostel to be stayed”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #48 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I would say it's best to choose the female dorm room. The room is clean and neat. Higher floors have less connectivity to their wifi. I am hardly can online in the room (2nd floor). However, their stuffs are friendly. You can meet a lot of people from different country here! The living area is very big, just like a big space for a big family. The wifi connection runs fastest at living room/reception counter. So you can bring along your lappy and sit in front of the table. There are some couches where you can lay yourself there and feel no shy! It's pretty good hostel.

The small disappoint is the location of the hostel is a little bit far. It's took me 15 mins to reach Bugis or Little India MRT. However, I'm sure this would not be a problem for backpacker who always walk a lot~!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laymin_0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hi Laymin,
Thank you for staying with Bunc.

We have to apologize that the room you were at had the weakest Wifi signal..we are still fine tuning the wifi infrastructure we have in the hostel.

Please be assured that we are trying to maximize the Hi speed coverage through the whole hostel, we have even taken the fastest fibre optic broadband plan from our internet service provider, in fact ..I am writing this review from room 310 which is on the 3rd floor!

Improvement is an endless process, thus we never stop to seek perfection in every way we can..which is why we are grateful for your review too as its one of the ways to know where we will need to improve on.

Thank you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 544 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

Bunc Hosted is located on Little India area, 15 mins walking distance to Mustafa Center and Bugis Junction. The nearest MRT station is the Bugis and there's a 711 right next to Bunc. The hostel itself very modern-minimalist and very clean. The room is quite small in my opinion. I was stayed on mezzanine floor, and found out that ladies bathroom on third floor has more bathroom than the mezzanine. 2 unit hairdryer are an additional point. I never stayed in hostel before, but Bunc definetely changed my opinion about hostel. I had a a very nice sleep for 2 nites. And oh have I mentioned about the staff? Staffs in reception so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazychair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hey there Lazy :)

Thank you soo much for giving us the chance to play host to ya.

We are glad that we have changed your opinion about hostels!
Its one of our missions when we decided to create Bunc!

"To let everyone know that they can still enjoy value for money luxurious comforts on a shoestring budget.."

Hope to see ya again soon. See ya!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Me and my hubby stay at BunC for 4 nights. It's actually very good, all the staff are superb.
The only minus point is that there's a construction going on nearby it, so it was a bit difficult to locate the hotel at the first moment.(but luckily there really put some signboard through out the way from Bugis Station. 7-11 is juz few steps away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cellowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Hi Wei,
Grateful for your review.

Yup, we hate the construction too but its for the better future.
The government is actually putting a metro station right at our doorstep!
The next time when you are back, look out for the Jalan Besar MRT station , its only 15mins from the airport.

We can't wait for it to be ready.

Hope you will visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I only stayed a few hours at Bunc, in between 2 flights, but I was happy I did. It's very modern looking and feels clean. The bunks have are large with shelves, electricity outlets and light. There is also a locker. If you move during the night it doesn't squeek. There are blowdryers in the women bathroom. The staff was helpful and offered to call me a cab.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Audream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thanks Audream,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Its encouragements like yours that makes all our hardwork worth while.
And its nice to be appreciated! its worth a million bucks!

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our entourage of 2 families consisted of 4 adults and 3 primary schooled children spent 2 nights here on the eve of the Deepavali celebration. Why did I mentioned this festival in particular? You see, Bunc is located in the centre of Little India and coincidentally, on the eve of Deepavali, almost all of the foreign workers of Indian descend in Sinagapore converged here to do their final shopping and mingled around with their home town buddies before the Festival of Lights.

Don't get me wrong, the lights decorations and the festivity mood was awesome but the crowd was just too overwhelming. Wherever you turn, there were groups and groups of people. You need to really make an effort to squeeze through them to get to the Little India MRT station which is located about 5-6 minutes of brisk walking. I believe if you are there on any normal days (not during festivals or public holidays), you will not be fortunate enough to witness this.

Now back to Bunc. For those uninitiated, Bunc mainly caters for backpackers and everything they offer is very minimal and basic. So do not expect any posh or luxury services because they run this hostel on the 2S principals which is sharing and self-service. (I'll explain later) They provide free wifi for tenants thru out the building which is a plus.

We were offered a 4 double decker bunk bedded room on the top floor. Although the room was a bit narrow but it has enough space for 4 adults, 3 hyperactive kids plus luggages to maneuver around quite easily. Our bed were super singles and comfortable even though theres no windows. If you have elderlys staying here, make sure they have the lower bunk. Each bed has their own individual lights so that you won't distract others. They provide drawers and lockers for your luggages in the room. Overall, the rooms were like new and very clean.

There's a bathroom on every floor which is to be shared by all the rooms on that particular floor but during our stay there, we didn't see anyone else using it so we practically had the bathroom to ourselves. You can only open the bathroom doors if you have key cards to ensure privacy. There's only 2 toilets and 2 showers so either use them early or later in the day to avoid long queues.

Their "buffet" breakfast consist of 2 choices, either cereal or bread. Coffee and tea are also complimentary. The unique thing here is that you need to do your own dishes after your meal. I think this policy instills the sense of community in all of us.

All around Bunc, you can find mainly Indian eateries but there's a Chinese coffee shop, a Thai and French restaurant just behind it. We didn't venture far enough to discover any other places to eat. There's a 7-11 a few shops away too if you need anything.

Overall, Bunc is a very good and clean place to stay for the price it offered but definitely not for those who's fussy and needs a butler to clean their forks and spoons. I'll definitely recommends it to friends.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Will74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hey Will,
Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.

It was great hosting you and your family.

We would like to assure you that Bunc's Guest to toilet ratio is definately one of the best around at 9 pax to one cubicle( shower or toilet) this is actually one of the many items in the regulation to get approval from the Goverment before one can operate a hostel. Furthermore we didnt just move bunc into an existing building, we actually tore the old building and rebuilt the building with very careful and thoughtful planning..don't worry there is enough toilet for everyone;)

Thank you for your feedback on breakfast. We currently have bread( wholemeal and white), jams and peanut butter (and sometimes nutella.) we have honey stars and koko crunch for cereals , fresh milk and coffee snd tea we realised too that to make it a healthier breakfast , we have fruits ( apple, orange n pear). We will improve on the breakfst variety and when you come back to bunc in future we hope to provide a better breakfast for you.

See ya soon and remember to check us out if you return to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Awesome hostel for double bed; cheap,clean n queit!walking distance to little India,bring ur own cloth for privacy.uses key card for room entry;24 hours manned reception.

NO air cond during the day in the rooms but fan is provided!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanspilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Hans,
Thank you for taking time to review us.

For the aircon, we need to turn it off in the afternoon because we have to let our fresh air system run throughout the hostel. It pumps in cooled fresh air into every room to allow warm air ( bad air) to raise and be taken out by the exhaust system.. This is how we get rid of stale air and bad smells too. Its more environmentally friendly too.the room will still be cool.

Bunc was built with her Guests in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and the experience was one I wouldn't forget for a long time to come. The service of the staff was excellent. They were very helpful, kind and above all, polite. I was greeted with the most amazing concept I've ever come across. They had this neat little portion of the wall that had information about Singapore and their daily schedule above it, for example Monday Movie Night and for the durian lovers, Durian Tuesday.

When we got to our room, (we stayed in the family room), I was just flabbergasted. They had these neat bunks, usually I see the double decks, but this were actual bunks! And lots of personal space and privacy. The bed was superb and real comfy. Got to love the pillows and blanket. For those that can't sleep without a night light, they got that covered too! I didn't get much hours of sleep during the nights because we were busy exploring Singapore but even with the little hours, I was very fresh the next day and well rested ;) And that only happens when you get good quality sleep.

Continental breakfast every morning. They have a common area out front where in the mornings everyone has breakfast and by noon to night you see people using the WiFi or just working on their laptops.

They have WiFi and the room was air-conditioned. They also have a Ladies only floor. Oh, most important, VERY CLEAN TOILETS/BATHROOMS.

Their location were very convenient. Smacked right in the middle of Little India so we had the choice of going to either Farrer Park MRT station or Little India MRT station. There are lots of Indian food down the road and pubs too. Mustafa Center (and Mustafa Money Changer) is nearby and there's churches and mosque nearby too. 7eleven is right next door.

This place is really amazing and the rates were good too :) I highly recommend this. :D

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PearlCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi Pearl,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are encouraged by your kind review and we promise to better ourselves in every possible way
Especially in areas that we are weak on..

We are also happy that you appreciated all our efforts and hardwork in the planning process when we built bunc.. It does firm up our believe that little" touches" do go a long way.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#58 of 244 in Singapore
304 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#30 of 244 in Singapore
510 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#41 of 244 in Singapore
409 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#137 of 244 in Singapore
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $20 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing