We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeds expectations”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #46 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Far exceeds expectations”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hostel is one of the best around. The location is very convenient as it is close to the city. The price is affordable. The rooms are great with friendly staffs that are there to help you. Facilities are amazingly clean and high tech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeoLee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Heya Xbeat,
Thank you so much for taking time to review us.

Its encouragements like yours that makes us want to keep improving and try our very best to be able to meet all our guest's expectations.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    213
    66
    15
    17
See reviews for
22
110
107
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had booked a budget hotel in the Little India district. I checked in and it was filthy. I quickly checked out, crossed the street and arrived at Bunc. I thought my hostelling days were over but Bunc has reaffirmed my love of hostels. It's super clean, with brilliant facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, and a lovely funky building with an outside balcony area. Only cost $50 Singagore dollars. Close to two metro stops (Little India 5 mins away, Bugis 10 mins away). Loved it. Stay here - its Fab!!

Room Tip: I shared a room but they also do private rooms, but book in advance for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Veronica,
Thanks for your Fab review!

We are really happy that we are able to help you reaffirm your love for hostelling.
Hostel culture is really amazing, everyone should experience it at least once in their lifetime..am sure they would never forget it.

Hope you will drop in for a visit when you come by Singapore again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The minute i entered, pleasant and friendly staff and was shocked to find how clean it is. Amazing experience and would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radlinramsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hey Radin,
Thank you!

We are really really glad to have met your expectations.
It encourages us to continue to improve ourselves and try to meet every of our guests expectations.

Thank you for your encouragement!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Best thing about this place was the comfy beds, then the hot showers and then the fun room where you can chill out and listen to music or watch films. Breakfast is basic and cereals a bit chewy but staff were friendly - although we had to remind them a few times to get us a taxi to the airport - and they let us shower before our flight in the evening even though we'd checked out that morning. You do have to pay for towels though which is a bit unusual.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabbyfq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Gab,
Glad that you liked our beds! We have spent many nights thinking and throwing around ideas for its customed design and many bed prototypes were built and torn apart in the initial stages of building up Bunc..the whole idea was to create a personal sanctuary that’s self-sufficient yet still in a dorm style setup.

Bunc was built with her Guests in mind…

With regards to the cereals and the taxi incident We would like to apologize for the slight blemish and we have taken steps to improve on them...as for the towels, regrettably we do have to charge a small fee for washing and also to encourage returning of the towels. We really hope these did not make your holiday less enjoyable..

Hope to see ya soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Excellent all around - homely, clean, great location. Best hostel Ive ever stayed in and felt as though I could get my own space even in the dorms. More along hotel standards and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_W_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Hi Kim,
Thank you for your review.

It gives us the encouragement to continue to try to push the boundaries further to bridge the luxuries of a hotel and culture of a hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anus, Bourgogne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Really great place to chill a moment and sleep well after partying. The staff is very nice and helpful. I wont't forget beds and blanket!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallaboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, General Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you Walla for your kind review, would you like to leave us your address ...we'll send you one of our comfy duvet.. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, null, French Polynesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Best design I ever seen for hostel.
Well located, really clean, comfortable and the staff is really nice.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMJP_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#53 of 231 in Singapore
293 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#21 of 231 in Singapore
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 231 in Singapore
402 reviews
Chinatown
Wink Hostel
Wink Hostel
#12 of 231 in Singapore
679 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 231 in Singapore
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Property: Bunc Hostel
Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing