We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!!”
Review of Bunc Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bunc Hostel
Ranked #48 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had booked a budget hotel in the Little India district. I checked in and it was filthy. I quickly checked out, crossed the street and arrived at Bunc. I thought my hostelling days were over but Bunc has reaffirmed my love of hostels. It's super clean, with brilliant facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, and a lovely funky building with an outside balcony area. Only cost $50 Singagore dollars. Close to two metro stops (Little India 5 mins away, Bugis 10 mins away). Loved it. Stay here - its Fab!!

Room Tip: I shared a room but they also do private rooms, but book in advance for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Veronica,
Thanks for your Fab review!

We are really happy that we are able to help you reaffirm your love for hostelling.
Hostel culture is really amazing, everyone should experience it at least once in their lifetime..am sure they would never forget it.

Hope you will drop in for a visit when you come by Singapore again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 544 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

The minute i entered, pleasant and friendly staff and was shocked to find how clean it is. Amazing experience and would definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radlinramsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hey Radin,
Thank you!

We are really really glad to have met your expectations.
It encourages us to continue to improve ourselves and try to meet every of our guests expectations.

Thank you for your encouragement!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Best thing about this place was the comfy beds, then the hot showers and then the fun room where you can chill out and listen to music or watch films. Breakfast is basic and cereals a bit chewy but staff were friendly - although we had to remind them a few times to get us a taxi to the airport - and they let us shower before our flight in the evening even though we'd checked out that morning. You do have to pay for towels though which is a bit unusual.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabbyfq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Gab,
Glad that you liked our beds! We have spent many nights thinking and throwing around ideas for its customed design and many bed prototypes were built and torn apart in the initial stages of building up Bunc..the whole idea was to create a personal sanctuary that’s self-sufficient yet still in a dorm style setup.

Bunc was built with her Guests in mind…

With regards to the cereals and the taxi incident We would like to apologize for the slight blemish and we have taken steps to improve on them...as for the towels, regrettably we do have to charge a small fee for washing and also to encourage returning of the towels. We really hope these did not make your holiday less enjoyable..

Hope to see ya soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Excellent all around - homely, clean, great location. Best hostel Ive ever stayed in and felt as though I could get my own space even in the dorms. More along hotel standards and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_W_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2012

Hi Kim,
Thank you for your review.

It gives us the encouragement to continue to try to push the boundaries further to bridge the luxuries of a hotel and culture of a hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Really great place to chill a moment and sleep well after partying. The staff is very nice and helpful. I wont't forget beds and blanket!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallaboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, General Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you Walla for your kind review, would you like to leave us your address ...we'll send you one of our comfy duvet.. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Best design I ever seen for hostel.
Well located, really clean, comfortable and the staff is really nice.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMJP_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was quite surprised when i first enter bunc. Wasnt expecting the place to be better than what I had in mind due to the price. Everything is quite neat and clean. I like the way the place was design. The beds are really really comfy. the toilets are quite well equipped. All I can conclude is, bunc is simply worth and really wouldn't be a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan5391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eewm, Manager at Bunc Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi Bryan,
Glad we lived up to your expectations.
Thank you for your review and we hope to host you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#60 of 244 in Singapore
304 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#31 of 244 in Singapore
510 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#41 of 244 in Singapore
409 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#137 of 244 in Singapore
60 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunc Hostel

Address: 15 Upper Weld Road Bunc Hostel, Singapore 207372, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 244 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $20 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bunc Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunc Hostel is a brand-new 233-bed, 3-storey hostel strategically located at Upper Weld Road, within the culturally rich Little India Historical District in Singapore. Founded by enthusiasts long smitten with the charm behind the concept of a hostel stay, Bunc is the re-imagination of the Singapore hostel, a vision brought to life by carefully refining and reassembling the essential elements of a hostel. To make your stay a pleasant one, we offer full air-conditioning, complimentary Wi-fi, kitchenette facilities, recreation rooms with gaming facilities, an outdoor tanning deck, commercial washer-dryers, a ladies-only floor and most of all our custom made, roomy Bunc beds that maximizes personal space and privacy. Bunc beds come in two sizes: Singles and Deluxes. A deluxe Bunc bed is twice the size of the full-sized single, and is able to accommodate two people spaciously. Each Bunc bed is luxuriously appointed with duvet covers and plush pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bunc Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunc Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing