We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SO Sofitel Singapore
Nearby Hotels
$420
$382
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
$238
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$180
$156
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$251
$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$228
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$280
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$319
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$191
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$901
$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$214
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
1,088
494
164
81
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,088
494
164
81
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslau pa satsatayurban roomkarl lagerfeldpool partyrobinson roadboon tat streetstreet food markettelok ayerrooftop barboutique hotelbusiness districtroom phonemini barheritage buildinghigh techraffles place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,524 - 1,529 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Visited the bar/lounge on a weekday night. Staff showed us the menu and suggested if the group would like to start off with a Dom Perignon. We looked at her, sensing the condescending tone in her suggestion, we replied politely thanks but no.

The place looks like somebody spent effort to make the place look different. The menu looks exceptionally pretty. We ordered cocktails, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and a Double D, both have very nice drawings and descriptions on the menu.

We were also served with very nice looking popcorn, pickled cucumbers and nuts. All of them looked out of the ordinary and different.

The drinks came. Didn't expect the taste of the cocktails especially Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to mimic that of cough syrup, and probably wondered whether the mixologist actually tasted what he prepared before serving.

We politely shared with their staff that particular cocktail tasted nasty and would like iced water.
This helpful and concerned staff enquired if we would like another drink after serving us iced water. Although I shared with him in a forthcoming manner that the look of my guest's face didn't show any confidence for a second drink.

I was very apologetic to my guests that i suggested to visit the bar, paid the bill of about $56 and left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElvinSeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoTonyC, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear ElvinSeah,

Thank you for your feedback. Xperience bar was developed to introduce new concepts and aesthetic to the Singapore bar scene and we are happy that you have noticed the difference and effort we put in.

Just like any other cocktails made, the cocktails are received differently by different people, which each having their own preference. Our Ambassador would offer to create or tweak the drink to match your cocktail preference.

We took note of your comment and we will make sure that we ask our guests' preference with their cocktails.

Thank you and we hope you will give us another try.

So kind regards,
Tony Chisholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What an interesting property, it has the feel of a Parisian hotel where space is limited but extremely well used it is stylishly decorated and yet modern and sophisticated to all appeal to younger guests. Brand new only opened a month ago. The highlight is the quality of the floor staff led by Xavier, they are efficient, interested and try to assist and anticipate. The rooms are stylish with all the mod cons and like a Paris hotel a little crowded space is well used. You need to be able to use the tablet and a smartphone to navigate the facilities of the room a nice well fitted bathroom with a generous shower space. Complimentary mini Bar but sparkling water like Perrier should be part of the offering, a good iIlly café pod machine is also offered but for some reason it has 3 different pods only so you can't have the same coffee if you want they should have 2 of each ditto with the tea and Milk should be in the fridge. Room service was a let down , the offerings are limited, the club sandwich offered with French fries came with half a dozen Chunky chips - some a little undercooked ( there is no reason why a French hotel chain can't put French fries on a plate especially as it is advertised ) and when we ordered the Nasi Goreng we were told it wasn't available....when the room service person I spoke to picked up on My surprise she sorted the issue for me after a couple minutes, hats off to her for her intuition. The rooms of a 5 star hotel should offer bathrobes, something in cotton with flowers to match the lobby flamboyance of colour of pinks and purple vases full of fresh flowers would be a good choice. On arrival the person at the counter then takes you to a section in the lobby and offers a complimentary welcome fruit cocktail and or alcohol signature drink, a nice touch then takes you to your room and shows you how to use it all . You find in your room another welcome fruity cocktails , some madeleine butter cakes and a small plaque of dark chocolate....fabulous ....however on the second night no such luxuries I would have loved the madeleine & Chocolate as part of a turndown service each night.. But win saying all of this I think this hotel provides a nice alternative to other 5 star properties in Singapore.

Room Tip: Next door to the Hotel is an evening outdoors eating area that you cannot but fail to notice the stay cooking away woft though the air and it became a must eat at on our first evening. Use Xavier and his staff to steer and helo you during your stay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philippe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoTonyC, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear philippe1953,

We appreciate that you take the time to provide us both positive and constructive feedback. Your feedback is crucial in helping us create a better experience for our guests.

I am glad that you liked our interior designs.

I will pass on your constructive feedback regarding the in-room dining menu and the items in our private bar to our Wine & Dine and So Neat and Tidy team respectively.

We look forward to see you again at Sofitel So Singapore!

So kind regards,
Tony Chishlom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A much needed addition to Singapore is this hotel. I've been a fan of the SO in Bangkok for a long time and wondered if this new one would live up to a very strong reputation and it more than does so.
The room had a stunning European feel to it with high ceilings and a really cosy feel. The bed was fantastic and beyond that the design attention to details have the wow factor. We were told that Karl Lagerfeld was the key influencer behind much of the interior design and he's done a hugely impressive job.
SO ;-) great to see a hotel with mini ipads and iphone5s available and connected in the rooms for music streaming etc, a great touch.
The bar and restaurant on the ground floor will I think become a real go to place in Singapore, already when we were there, the word had got around that a cocktail surrounded by this décor is a must in the city. The menu was adventurous and exciting with the option to try lots of different plates in various portion sizes.
Finally the pool and its bar on the roof. Great to get an outdoor breeze in central Singapore and clearly somewhere to hang out day and night.
Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Leave your gadgets and devices at home.. they have them all here for you to use!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamsoKinight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoTonyC, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear SamsoKinight,

Thank you for taking the time to show your feedback and we really appreciate it.

I am So happy that the hotel have lived up to the reputation and to your expectations. I am glad to know you have enjoyed you stay with us and we'll love to have you back with us at Sofitel So Singapore.

So kind regards,
Tony Chishlom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Superb hotel decoration and location . I stayed in the Heritage part which seem much better than the traditional side .
Was staying there less than a week after opening and was still in teething times but the staff is fantastic and devoted to make your stay a pleasant one ....

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank BruxellesEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoTonyC, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear BruxellesEric,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel So Singapore and for taking the time to provide us with such positive reviews.

Both the So Hip wing and the So Heritage wing have their own unique atmosphere and I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your room at the So Heritage wing.

Your positive comment about our So ambassadors will serve as a great motivation for them to continue providing excellent service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel So Singapore!

So kind regards,
Tony Chishlom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

When we arrived at this hotel we knew it had only been open for a few weeks so were weren't sure how it would be. The entire hotel is completely over the top, uber camp and fabulous from the gold tiles in the rooftop swimming pool to the pink quilted elevator. The roof itself was TINY but with a great use of space and one of the coolest mini bars Ive ever seen, including an Illy machine. You even get a little toy lion on the bed. The whole place was overflowing with fresh flowers and smelled amazing. The staff were friendly, bubbly and super helpful and very accommodating when it came to a late checkout. The only issue with this hotel which is a bit of a biggy is the lighting concept as some of the exterior lights shine right into the hotel rooms which is not ideal but we mentioned it to the duty manager and they're aware of the issue. Fun hotel and close enough to the shopping and attractions of Singapore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitesands1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoTonyC, General Manager at SO Sofitel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear whitesands1123,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We sincerely appreciate the effort and your input.

We appreciate the positive and constructive comments you have for us and as a newly opened hotel, it is very crucial for us to receive honest feedback in order to make improvements.

We hope to have you again at Sofitel So Singapore!

So kind regards,
Tony Chisholm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews