We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected quality at this location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Enoteca L'Operetta

Enoteca L'Operetta
Ranked #1,575 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Quays
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unexpected quality at this location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a birthday dinner here a few days ago and when I was made aware of the location I was hesitant to say the least. Boat Quay being such a tourist trap by reputation you don't expect that much quality and ambiance. Well, this was very different and a delightful dinner. A must try on the starters list is the asparagus in crepes with egg on top, delicious. The burrato, the cold cuts, the octopus, all very good. Same goes for the various Risotto's we had and the ravioli. The baby chicken was a bid of a disappointment, but still good in taste and quality. The wine list is covering all areas in Italy and the Brunelo we picked certainly was worth it. Great alternative again to many other high-end Italian places.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went to L'Operetta last night, it was my third time at the restaurant. Lots of people don't know of this restaurant's existence, but it is in a great spot away from the bars in Boat Quay with a pretty spot on the water's edge - I always sit outside.

The food at this place is really good and the pizzas are very yummy. However, the whole experience was such a let down yesterday due to the service. It's not that anyone was rude or did anything particularly bad, but it just felt a bit chaotic with no management. We ordered our food, and the starters came really quickly. Then the mains arrived literally after only two bites of the starters! The bottle of wine we had ordered still remained unopened in the ice bucket and we had to send the mains back and call someone over to open our wine. We then noticed that all the other tables had bread baskets, so we asked for some. Eventually, our mains arrived for the second time and when we had nearly finished the bread basket arrived! It was just all over the place with food coming at random times and no one overseeing the table. At the end of the meal, I had to wait 15 minutes for the return of my credit card

As mentioned it was not like anything was terrible, but it made the whole dining experience a bit disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FNCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real italian pizza, among the best in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

It is located in Boat Quay and offers the possibility to eat either inside or outside just on the river.
The (Italian style) food is of very high quality (also for Italian like myself) and the wine list offers a very good selection.
The pizza here is excellent! Even in Italy is not easy to find the same quality!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dadde74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Real Napoli-style pizza, right on the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a real italian pizza, as they make in Napoli (where pizza was born, Naples for americans), this is the place. Not only the pizza is very well made and cooked but also the quality of the ingredients appears to be very good. Before pizza we had a fish carpaccio and it was also very good. We were four and we spent about S$50 per person, including a S$50 wine bottle (quite expensive, as all the wines in Singapore). Our table was right on the river, with a very nice with of Singapore skyline, so the total experience has been very pleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r0bert0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A truly superb dining experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was a truly unexpected elegant restaurant. From the moment we called ahead to book a table through to the end of the meal, the service was exemplary. Once we arrived, the welcome was so genuine. Friday night is Pizza night in our family and my partner was not disappointed, in fact, he was impressed, the Bagna Cauda was so fresh, and the marinated chicken with my requested asparagus was just perfect. The menu is well pitched, with good choices, I would like to see more fish on the menu, the wine list is good and the Reidel 'Eve' decanter was quite a showpiece! My partner's dessert, chocolate fondant with icecream looked and tasted superb. A memorable evening, we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magnums2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca L'Operetta also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Enoteca L'Operetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing