We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moni Gallery Hostel
Ranked #129 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed January 5, 2014

3 stars in general. 4 stars in the hostel category. It's a very nice and well run hostel. The rooms are solid and clean, bathrooms maintained well, and kitchen area solid. My wife, 4 small children, and myself spent 5 nights there in a "family" room with 6 beds.

Pros:
1. Staff-Andy was superb! Helpful, friendly, organized, cooperative. There was another woman whose name we didn't catch who was great as well, and even kept an eye on our kids while we ran out to the supermarket for 30 minutes. They organized taxis and recommended places to eat.
2. Location-on the edge of Little India. Walking distance from City Square Mall with a movie theater, great places to eat, and good shopping. Also walking distance to several incredible hawker stalls to eat. Finally, from the hostel to most major attractions downtown (Flyer, Gardens by the Bay, Marina Bay, Clark Quay, Harbourfront, etc) it was 15-20 minutes by taxi.
3. Extras-free and fast wifi throughout, laptops/iPads for free use in the common areas, big screen TV with movies or jacks to connect your device.
4. Kitchenette-again, this is a hostel, so don't expect 4-star dining. But having access to cookies/bread/butter/peanut butter, the hot water kettle, microwave, and fridge meant that we could have snacks, or even bring in food, store it, then heat it up later.

Cons:
If you remember that this is a hostel, none, really. It's not the lap of luxury, but it is clean, well maintained, and hot water in the showers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 176 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very friendly personnel, good location in Little India and everything you need to have a good time while exploring Singapore.
The rooms are a little bit small but clean with AC. Good value for Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stiflar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Located close to MRT stop and very easily accessible to all major tourist attractions even airport. Staff is excellent. Rooms are just acceptable mostly due to ventilation. Kitchen needs improvement. However, overall good for those who want to roam out for maximum time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muttaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hostel is very well situated 10mns far from the metro station, it is cosy. We liked the self service kitchen where buiscuits, toasts, butter and jam are offered but you must bring your own milk. Don’t leave your food in the fridge unless you write your name on it. We left a closed bottle of milk at night we bought it for the breakfast and have not found it in the morning. The staffs are very helpful. One of the staff spent a quarter of an hour with me helping me charge my laptop. There is free wifi and laptops available. However, the rooms are horribly tiny. We booked a room for 6 with booking.com, when we arrived there the owner said he had not received the booking, we will check with booking.com because we had the confirmation email. However the room we were offered is unfortunately like a “prison”, no windows, extremely small, not the one mentioned in the booking I think, only three persons can stand, we cannot breath, almost no light. I think the room is meant for two or four but no more. Two of the beds can not be used as one is below the AC and one is exactly in front of it in the upper beds. The room number is M6. Please avoid it, we have not seen the other rooms but if you are claustrophobe you cannot spend more than one hour in it. Hope the other rooms are bigger. We spent two nights there, it was like a nightmare after spending the day in nice singapour it was horrible to finish the night in prison. There is no hot water in the showers below, please use those upstairs. As far as cleaning is concerned, it was not acceptable as well, the showers and toilets are not very clean and as far I am concerned, I will never go back again. To finish on a positive note, the price is very correct in expensive Singapore, those who can bear to live in these conditions will be happy, I can tell you the hostel was very crowded. May be we didn’t have luck with the room !!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid room M6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FerialKrichene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is great value for money. Rooms are basic, but clean and wellkept. Owners are extremely helpfull. Computers can be borrowed for free just as there is free WIFI. A place of my choice next time I'm in singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob-SteenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

the room i staying is quite clean with 6 beds... the bathrooms are very clean and convienient, especially, the staff are friendly and enthusiatic... you can use the Internet freely and you can go to the Sentosa from here easily by catching the monorail (from boon ken to the last point- purpe line), afterthat you enter the Vivo city level 3 to buy the ticket to Sentosa (4$S)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thuanhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a good stay at moni gallery. Hotels in singapore can be highly priced so staying at a good hostel is a great alternative allowing you to splurge on the plentiful activities available throughout the city. We stayed for a week in a family room with 2 bunks. The room was small but the beds were comfortable. We were located right next to the bathroom on the ground floor so it was noisy but convenient. The noise didn't affect us too much as we were so exhausted after each day of sightseeing. The owners Richard and Susan were delightful, Richard was always ready for a chat whenever we saw him. We found all other staff members to be pleasant and accommodating. We appreciated the free wifi (occasional problems which were always rectified by the morning) and the free bread and biscuits along with the ice cold water and use of the fridge and kettle. The kitchen area is quite pleasant being outside with shade cover (wet when it rains, but so nice to feel like you are outside). Showers were warm and pleasant. On occasion the bathroom near us was busy, but each time this happened there were always available toilets or showers upstairs (very pleasant and quiet area compared to downstairs). Location is good, close to MRT and close to Lavender st food court which had an interesting range of well-priced food options.
As long as you remember that this is a hostel you will be happy staying here. We stayed for 7 nights with 2 young children and we enjoyed our private, (though slightly damp smelling) little green room. The air-conditioner worked a treat which was a blessing as the room had no windows.
A great addition would be a mirror on the wall in the room - this would relieve the crowds in the bathrooms and hallway. (An iPad on reverse function camera mode is a reasonable substitute, but a mirror would be great!)
We found this hostel to have a pleasant atmosphere and was certainly good value for money in Singapore.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.4 mi away
Traveller@SG
Traveller@SG
#61 of 241 in Singapore
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
Coziee Lodge
Coziee Lodge
#99 of 241 in Singapore
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Jazz Hostel
Blue Jazz Hostel
#101 of 241 in Singapore
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mori Hostel
Mori Hostel
#106 of 241 in Singapore
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hive Singapore Hostel
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#39 of 241 in Singapore
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Premium Hostel
ABC Premium Hostel
#92 of 241 in Singapore
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moni Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moni Gallery Hostel

Address: 263 Lavender Street Moni Gallery Hostel, Singapore 338795, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $17 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moni Gallery Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singapore's Latest & Most Exciting Backpackers Art hostel is here, ever thought of staying in an Art Gallery? Is totally a new experience with the best ambiance environment. We are Newly Opened in January 2012, hence we are definitely the cleanest and freshest hostel in town. We are near to the MRT subway station, which is the gateway to the whole of Singapore. Moni Gallery Hostel offers more than just accommodation. If you are searching to stay in a unique and artistic environment, surely Moni Gallery Hostel is your best choice! We also provide Free 24 hrs simple snack & breakfast, so you will never be hungry in the middle of the night. Wifi is provided in the entire hostel and there is also free usage of PC Laptop, Mac Book & Ipad 2 for you. Recreation room is also provided for your entertainment, you can enjoy movies, playstation and table tennis too. Even our baggage storage is totally free for you. Hurry, book now before it's full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Moni Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moni Gallery Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing