We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can not bear the room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moni Gallery Hostel
Ranked #124 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hostel is very well situated 10mns far from the metro station, it is cosy. We liked the self service kitchen where buiscuits, toasts, butter and jam are offered but you must bring your own milk. Don’t leave your food in the fridge unless you write your name on it. We left a closed bottle of milk at night we bought it for the breakfast and have not found it in the morning. The staffs are very helpful. One of the staff spent a quarter of an hour with me helping me charge my laptop. There is free wifi and laptops available. However, the rooms are horribly tiny. We booked a room for 6 with booking.com, when we arrived there the owner said he had not received the booking, we will check with booking.com because we had the confirmation email. However the room we were offered is unfortunately like a “prison”, no windows, extremely small, not the one mentioned in the booking I think, only three persons can stand, we cannot breath, almost no light. I think the room is meant for two or four but no more. Two of the beds can not be used as one is below the AC and one is exactly in front of it in the upper beds. The room number is M6. Please avoid it, we have not seen the other rooms but if you are claustrophobe you cannot spend more than one hour in it. Hope the other rooms are bigger. We spent two nights there, it was like a nightmare after spending the day in nice singapour it was horrible to finish the night in prison. There is no hot water in the showers below, please use those upstairs. As far as cleaning is concerned, it was not acceptable as well, the showers and toilets are not very clean and as far I am concerned, I will never go back again. To finish on a positive note, the price is very correct in expensive Singapore, those who can bear to live in these conditions will be happy, I can tell you the hostel was very crowded. May be we didn’t have luck with the room !!!!!!

Room Tip: avoid room M6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FerialKrichene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 178 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is great value for money. Rooms are basic, but clean and wellkept. Owners are extremely helpfull. Computers can be borrowed for free just as there is free WIFI. A place of my choice next time I'm in singapore.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob-SteenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

the room i staying is quite clean with 6 beds... the bathrooms are very clean and convienient, especially, the staff are friendly and enthusiatic... you can use the Internet freely and you can go to the Sentosa from here easily by catching the monorail (from boon ken to the last point- purpe line), afterthat you enter the Vivo city level 3 to buy the ticket to Sentosa (4$S)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thuanhle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a good stay at moni gallery. Hotels in singapore can be highly priced so staying at a good hostel is a great alternative allowing you to splurge on the plentiful activities available throughout the city. We stayed for a week in a family room with 2 bunks. The room was small but the beds were comfortable. We were located right next to the bathroom on the ground floor so it was noisy but convenient. The noise didn't affect us too much as we were so exhausted after each day of sightseeing. The owners Richard and Susan were delightful, Richard was always ready for a chat whenever we saw him. We found all other staff members to be pleasant and accommodating. We appreciated the free wifi (occasional problems which were always rectified by the morning) and the free bread and biscuits along with the ice cold water and use of the fridge and kettle. The kitchen area is quite pleasant being outside with shade cover (wet when it rains, but so nice to feel like you are outside). Showers were warm and pleasant. On occasion the bathroom near us was busy, but each time this happened there were always available toilets or showers upstairs (very pleasant and quiet area compared to downstairs). Location is good, close to MRT and close to Lavender st food court which had an interesting range of well-priced food options.
As long as you remember that this is a hostel you will be happy staying here. We stayed for 7 nights with 2 young children and we enjoyed our private, (though slightly damp smelling) little green room. The air-conditioner worked a treat which was a blessing as the room had no windows.
A great addition would be a mirror on the wall in the room - this would relieve the crowds in the bathrooms and hallway. (An iPad on reverse function camera mode is a reasonable substitute, but a mirror would be great!)
We found this hostel to have a pleasant atmosphere and was certainly good value for money in Singapore.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends. We got a room with two bunk beds, 4 lockers, a rectangular table, two electrical sockets and an aircon. The room was tiny, about 5x12ft so it was hard to move around but the beds were spacious. We stayed a room that didn't' have windows so the room smell was stale and stuffy. Sheets were clean, however they only provided two blankets. Extra blankets cost SGD4! I thought it was weird that they did not provide blankets for everyone.

We only used the shared shower/toilet on the first floor. There were 2 toilets, 2 showers with hot water, and 1 shower with only cold water on our floor. It is full on mornings and nights. Good thing we usually wake up late and go home much later than most people.

Shared areas were cozy. There's bread and biscuits available 24/7. You cannot here much noise at least on our floor so sleeping wasn't difficult. The hostel is 3 minutes away from Boon Keng station and about 5 minutes away from Farrer Park station (North East Line). It is near a few residential hawker places as well.

All in all, it was a good stay. This is already one of the cheapest places we could find in the expensive city of Singapore at SGD 88/night for a room for 4.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kahelluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monigalleryhostel, Manager at Moni Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hi Kahelluna
Thank you for your overall positive review of Moni Gallery Hostel. We are always trying to improve our facilities and service levels. I apologise that you only had two blankets in a room meant for four persons. We issue every guest with a blanket. This blanket is placed in the guest's locker for them to collect when they check in. We are sorry that you did not find enough blankets in your lockers, it might have been an oversight on our part. Please accept our apologies.
Regards.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Moni's facilities are great compared to other hostels; it was clean and well-designed. Although I gave them a rating that is quite low because of a staff of theirs who really ruined our stay--ahem ahem Ross. I'm sorry to put his name here, but he just got on our nerves. His customer service was horrible; he's so rude to Moni's tenants. He sleeps in the reception area's couch and i tell you, it's not pretty for the guests' eyes. He doesn't accompany your needs after 11 o'clock even if it's urgent or not. He's like a robot. I'm going to share one (from a lot) of bad experience that we had with the said staff. On our last night there, we went back to the hostel quite late and we forgot our front door key so we cant practically enter because they lock up the doors. From the glass door, we saw Ross inside. We rang the doorbell for him to open the door for us but he acted like a deaf. We know he saw us already, but he won't open the door for us. So we repeatedly rang the bell and he--finally--walked up on the other side of the door. No he didn't open the door. instead, he kept on asking where our key was. He said he wouldn't let us in without our key, like, what? We paid him to let us in! After a few more arguments, he thankfully got to his senses and opened the door. Ironically, he said the reason why he didn't open the door for us was because he was protecting the other tenants. Well, that's good, but, um excuse me? What about us? We are tenants too. He's supposed to protect us too. I would have shouted curses at him but I couldn't because we might be fined. But in all fairness, I love the two other staff who accompanied us there. They were so nice and so accommodative. I'd say those two staffs are total opposites of the guy I was complaining on. Just beware, guys.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paaanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monigalleryhostel, Manager at Moni Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hi Paaanj
Thank you for your compliments about our facilities and two of our staff. I apologise that you had unpleasant encounters with our staff Ross. We have been observing this staff and had also come to the same conclusion as you with regard to his service level. We have since asked Ross to leave our hostel. He is no longer in our employ. I know that this cannot make up for the negative experiences that you and your friends must have gone through but still I offer you my unreserved apologies. We hope that you will still consider staying with us when you next visit Singapore.
Thank you and best regards.
Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Moni Gallery! Staff was friendly! Breakfast is available the whole day! So when you are hungry you can get some biscuits or bread. Was a nice ambience there with all the art around! Common room was great watch movies and play games! Tried to be more eco friendly, they will remind you everywhere to turn the lights off, AC, etc! The only remark is that I only stayed for just one night! Wouldn't mind staying longer! Was lucky with my roommates, we had a great time together!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartJje92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Coziee Lodge
#98 of 241 in Singapore
181 reviews
Mori Hostel
#104 of 241 in Singapore
158 reviews
Traveller@SG
#61 of 241 in Singapore
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
The Shophouse
The Shophouse
#81 of 241 in Singapore
284 reviews
Blue Jazz Hostel
#101 of 241 in Singapore
14 reviews
G4 Station
#177 of 241 in Singapore
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moni Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moni Gallery Hostel

Address: 263 Lavender Street Moni Gallery Hostel, Singapore 338795, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $18 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moni Gallery Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singapore's Latest & Most Exciting Backpackers Art hostel is here, ever thought of staying in an Art Gallery? Is totally a new experience with the best ambiance environment. We are Newly Opened in January 2012, hence we are definitely the cleanest and freshest hostel in town. We are near to the MRT subway station, which is the gateway to the whole of Singapore. Moni Gallery Hostel offers more than just accommodation. If you are searching to stay in a unique and artistic environment, surely Moni Gallery Hostel is your best choice! We also provide Free 24 hrs simple snack & breakfast, so you will never be hungry in the middle of the night. Wifi is provided in the entire hostel and there is also free usage of PC Laptop, Mac Book & Ipad 2 for you. Recreation room is also provided for your entertainment, you can enjoy movies, playstation and table tennis too. Even our baggage storage is totally free for you. Hurry, book now before it's full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moni Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moni Gallery Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing