We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$180
$156
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Concorde Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$169
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$389
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orchard Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$161
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$148
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$904
$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$182
$147
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$302
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Naumi Hotel(Singapore)
$215
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,559)
Filter reviews
2,559 results
Traveler rating
1,512
826
179
23
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,512
826
179
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomperanakan loungeparkway paradeeast coast parkfree airport shuttleclose to the airportfamily roomlaksashopping mallspacious roomlate checkexcellent hotelan upgradelocal foodexcellent stayrain showerspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,350 - 2,355 of 2,559 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It was a great pleasure to have stayed in this hotel. It was fully renovation after the fire. But to what I know, they have actually upgraded some of the rooms before the fire.

The rooms were spacious, clean & all room type comes with 46-inch LED TVs, complimentary wired internet and Wi-Fi access and a full range of amenities. Value for money.

They also have family rooms which come with 2 queens size bed, which I never expected.

The new Village Hotel Katong has a totally new looks, in fact, everything are new. They are not far from city and easy access to any part of Singapore.

I'm sure to recommend to all my overseas & local friends to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajOlepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Sajolepy

We really do appreciate your great feedback from your recent stay at the newly refurbished Village Hotel Katong. We are as excited as you are about the great hotel product we can share with our guests and continue to delivery service excellence to back it up.
As you note, the hotel does also have a selection of family rooms that provide both space and comfort which are proving to be very popular across or travel markets.
Please do continue to spread the word and recommend Village Hotel Katong to all your family and friends, as we would be pleased to accommodate their needs.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at The Village Katong for a one night stay over on route to Bali , it had only been open a week as it had just completed a refurbishment , so every thing was lovely and new , the staff were lovely and friendly , and couldn't do enough for us , they upgraded us to a bigger room on the 10th floor , which was very nice , the bed was extremely comfortable ,and a good hot shower , they have a free shuttle bus to and from airport which was great , arrived right on time at 5 am to take us back to airport , the hotel is about a 15 minute drive to airport .
The hotel is a short walk to a shopping mall and eating places .
Even though our stay was short ,the experience was good . It's perfect for a short stay , but for a holiday , I would stay closer to the city and attractions .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shezau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Shezau

Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay at Village Hotel Katong.
It was pleasing to hear we were able to assist you with the complimentary airport shuttle service, which makes the journey to and from the hotel hassle free.
The hotel has recently undergone a major refurbishment so every thing is new and modern, although we have styled creatively with the local traditional Peranakan style which is full of vibrant colours and intrigate designs.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to being your hotel of choice when next in Singapore.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

our experienced stayed at village hotel so wondering , luxuries hotel , interior design very beautiful and the person who served us like Ms Marlene as a reception very help full and kindness and also Mr Ibrahim who serve us during breakfast very hospitality alls village staff impress and charming . in vilaage katon hotel provided healthy breakfast and tasty . fantastic hotel and the best price also . we recommend to all traveler who will traveling to singapore to stay at village hotel . dont miss it

Room Tip: room no 511
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 577angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear 577angelina

Thank you for providing such great feedback about your recent stay at Village Hotel Katong.
We really do appreciate your kind words, and I have personally passed on your comments to team members Ibrahim and Marlene.
We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Singapore, and be sure to spread the word that Village Hotel Katong is such a great hotel to stay when in Singapore.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a staycation in the Paranakan Premium Room. Room was beautiful and I really love the bath tub that comes with the room! Great for chilling out while watching tv at the same time.

Location of the hotel is good. There is a supermarket downstairs, loads of eateries across the road and a shopping centre on the other side of the road. I also understand that shuttle service is provided to and fro the airport.

Service rendered by the staff is 5*! Every staff that we came into contact were friendly and very attentive to our needs; from the Reception, to Katong Kitchen, to the Executive Lounge staff, housekeeping staff, the list goes on.

Areas for improvement:
- Pillows provided are too soft for our liking
- Outer façade of the building reminds us of the former Paramount hotel which was old and dated. We really need to look beyond that outward appearance to discover the transformation inside.
- The range of F&B provided in the executive lounge is limited. We have seen other hotel executive lounges providing better range of F&B.

Overall, we had a great stay! The staff at this hotel are really service gems. They are really the ones who made the difference and made our stay so pleasant and memorable!

Room Tip: Paranakan Premium Room with bath tub is highly recommended!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyfultravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Joyfultravel1

Thank you for your feedback about your recent experience at Village Hotel Katong.
I have personally passed on your praise to the team and we are pleased we were able to create such an enjoyable stay for you.
I have also reviewed our comments noted as areas for improvement, and will be working with the team to address your concerns and to be able to make the necessary changes to the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon, and thank you for choosing Village Hotel Katong.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed at the Village Katong for four nights and was very impressed. We were upgraded to a larger room as we were travelling with a three year old and the staff were very helpful. The hotel has recently been refurbished and everything was spotless. The buffet breakfast was fine and the hotel offers a free airport pickup and drop-off service. This is a great value hotel and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett W, General Manager at Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear SteveP

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback from your experience at the Village Hotel Katong. It was pleasing to hear the team were able to upgrade you to one of our larger rooms which assisted with your travelling family.
The hotel has recently completed a full refurbishment and can now offer a brand new hotel to our guests with a fresh new design using the local Peranakan culture influences, supported by service excellence.
The hotel shuttle bus provides our guests the comfort any hassle free option of getting to and from the hotel and airport, and we encourage all our guests to partake in this free service.
Next time you are travelling into Singapore, feel free to let us know, and we would be pleased to have you stay with us again and experience all we have to offer.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews