We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, Over-priced, Poor Service”
Review of Nasi Lemak Kukus

Nasi Lemak Kukus
Ranked #953 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Malaysian, Singaporean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over-rated, Over-priced, Poor Service”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I tried this nasi lemak outlet after reading the good reviews by several food bloggers.

My experiences were absolute disappointment!

This was the second time I tried this outlet. The first was several months ago, then the rice were fragrant and fluffy but the chicken was dry, tough and tasteless.

I brought my wife along for my second round recently. This time the rice was not fragrant at all. The chicken was tenderer than previous but the meat was equally tasteless – confirmed, double confirmed - quality is just not there.

My wife takes very small portion for her meals and this time was no exception. She had a very small portion of rice, 2 vegetables, chicken and another item costing $10. Mine was large portion of rice, prawns, bekerdel, and ikan bilis costing $9. Apparently they counted the number of items you ordered regardless of how small the quantity. In any case, the mediocre standard does not justify the price.

When my wife took a Styrofoam box which was beside the rice container to refill some rice for me, the “power burger” guy when into a rage. He demanded that we return the rice to the container and that she should have brought my plate to the container for the refill instead. They should have provided small plates for customer for such refill – i.e. no tact, and no service. I overheard a guy ordering for a group of eight diners requesting that their dishes be serviced separately from their rice and proceeded to make his order. The lady server proceeded to take 8 portions of all he was ordering. He has to clarify the number of portion that he wanted for each item as they wanted variety. No common sense.

Both times when I was there, the place was hot and stuffy. And the burger man seems to amuse himself by hitting the gong very time him finished preparing a burger and on several occasion just for the hack of it. It was very annoying as we were seated in front of the gong.

I think those food bloggers have to redo their review again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunzi8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    17
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Nasi Lemak Experience for Less Than $10”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've come here several times with different groups of friends to enjoy the fragrant nasi lemak. Every trip brings back nostalgic memories of when nasi lemak wasn't just the standard white rice and fried chicken meal.

The food is simple and delicious--fragrant rice, crispy golden chicken and an assortment of other lauks. Price wise, it's a dollar for free flow of rice. The sambal is free flow too--I'm unsure of its cost. The other lauks have different prices, up to about $3.50 per serving. The drinks can be a little pricey, but I didn't really mind as the total was definitely less than $10.

My picks: A huge serving of rice, some mussels, the fried chicken wing, a slice of omelette and some fabulous sweet sample. With a drink, the total came up to $7+.

As for its halal status, please bear in mind that it is NOT MUIS halal certified. A quick Google search showed that the ingredients were (said to be) halal and the stall has Muslim staff; if that's all right with you, do try it out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liyana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth your money, worth trying.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Nasi lemak is not only served in the day now, dinner and even supper people are looking for them. THIS IS ONE YOU SHOULD TRY. Family or friends should be okay to go eat and chill out. Good urban songs and cooling atmosphere. I give 4/5 for a first time ;D

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asraf-Michael07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional nasi lemak”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The nasi lemak is really good here, especially some of the traditional items. The chicken wings are crispy and juicy coated with just the right amount of batter. One wing wasn't enough. My favorite item is the very tasty sweet sambal which tastes a little like the Indonesian sambal bajak. They also offer spicy sambal, emphasis on "spicy," so buyer beware! They also serve lots of other dishes, but I recommend sticking to the traditional nasi lemak items which are the best (rice, chicken wing, ikan bilis, egg, and lots of sweet sambal). My biggest complaint is it's a bit out of the way, in Upper Thomson.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchie-Wetchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

the rice was too salty. the fried chicken wing was a disappointment. After eating the fried batter, what remains is the tasteless meat . It is very obvious that they restaurant uses poor quality frozen meat

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HedyTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nasi Lemak Kukus also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Nasi Lemak Kukus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing