We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at another place, where they care about your reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #185 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Deutschland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stay at another place, where they care about your reservation”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in Mercury Backpacker Hostel for three nights. We had reservated it 2 month before a room for three persons, because we knew that during holidays in August it is hard to find a cheap room in Singapore. When we arrived at 11.30 PM the staff told us, that there is no reservation for us. Luckily we had printed out the confirmation and showed it. After letting us wait 30 minutes, they find our reservation on their computer and told us, that they forgot it. That happens sometimes, so it would have been ok for us but they didn't even apologize for their fault and were very unfriendly to us. They told us, that we have reservated too early, so they forgot us. After letting us wait another 30 minutes, they said that they have dorm beds where we could stay, but the beds are more expensive than the private room we had booked, because the rates got higher now. We got this good rates because we reservated early - for this hostel it seems to be too early... They also told us, that we wouldn't find a three-person- room in Singapore now, because all cheap accommodations are fully booked - and we should be happy that they offer us the dorm beds. After some more discussing we got at least the dorm beds for the price we booked a private room and one night 30S$ discount. This was ok for us, but it was not right from the hostel. They knew that we had no chance to get another accommodation and saw a good way to make money with us.
The dorm bed room was for six persons and was small, but clean. There are up to 20 people on one floor which share four showers and only one toilet. The shared bathroom also could be cleaner. The jacuzzi and the furniture on the roof-deck are older than at the pictures on their homepage.
All in all I do not recommend this hostel. The staff is not very friendly and just wants to make profit. If you want that someone takes care of you as a guest and your reservation: do not stay at Mercury Backpacker Hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    49
    23
    41
See reviews for
28
14
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived at 7pm only to be told they were fully booked. We had booked and paid months in advance, they even had our booking reservation on the desk but said they gave our room away. No apologies, offer of a refund or anything. They said if we waited around until ten pm someone might check out. We were fortunate a family with an old man checked out because they were up three flights of stairs and it was too much for him. We got their room which was a two bunk tiny room (we had paid for a triple with a double and single bed). The room had an adjoining door with 'working girls' living in the room next door so they were awake and up and in and out the room ALL night. We asked to be moved to the room we had paid for but were told 'fully booked'.
We had paid also for daily breakfast which is also advertised on their front door and website but were told 'not enough staff we don't do breakfast anymore'.

I ended up also with bedbug bites all over my body and face from this place.

Long story short, bad service, no sleep, wrong room, working girls living on level 3, and bed bugs.

The rooms and amenities were quite clean and it is close to the MRT but would not recommend based on our experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnKtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Holland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Is a bit out of the city centre, but the MRT is just arround the corner.
Breakfast is not the usual toast & coffee, but comes with little extras like an egg and a saussage and is served on the rooftop terrace.
The big plus of Mercury is that in the case of a late flight, they offer you to leave your gear, go to explore the city and come back in the evening to recieve a fresh towel and take a shower before you go to the airport. They even provide a relax lounge where you can watch tv or a movie on a big screen.
Staff and management are very friendly and helpfull.
Don't forget to visit the nearby Lavender Foodcourt, which is less touristic and much cheaper than the courts in the centre.
A nice budget place which I can highly reccommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansiHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Clean room, a stone's throw away from the MRT and hawker places, electronic locker, linen comforter and towel provided, hot and cold shower, and best of all... really cheap!! Didn't really care about customer service because for the price, my expectations were very basic and pretty much DIY. Staff are friendly and helpful by the way. Didn't have issues because again, my expectations were very basic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pampaganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Downside:
- No elevator (and it's quite bad cos I travelled with children and was assiged to 4th floor).
- Common room was dark and TV stations are limited.
- Room was small. I booked for 2 family rooms and was assignend to a 6-bed dorm instead, stating the rooms aren't available (which I wasn't sure if they're telling the truth. Well, I was able to book the room, so why aren't they available in the first place?). I asked for rooms on lower levels and they simply said it's not open. I guess people on 2nd and 3rd floors are more of a longer stay while guests on 4th floor tend to be overnighters.
- It can be noisy in the room... be it from the traffic or from the rooms adjacent to yours

But... I still enjoyed my stay because
- Staffs are friendly. They helped a lot on directions, finding food courts, etc
- It's close from the Lavender MRT Station, bus stops and cheap food courts, 24-hour convinient store, etc
- AC is good. The kids in my group slept well and they loved the bunk bed
- Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean. Hot water is available too.
- Free internet is available downstairs
-It's cheap... A couple Singaporean friends had asked me about where I stayed and whenever I stated the price, they said it's cheap... even for a hostel they say it's still a great deal.

So, if you do stay in this hostel, I suggested:
- Don't bring heavy bags and TRY to ask for rooms on the lower level. Especially when you're travelling in a group of 4. I think they have 4-bed dorms the most.
- Go shower early (or late). I stayed for a week and observed that most people on my floor shower around 8 or 9. They have 3 bathrooms on each floor but they have 6 or 7 rooms. So there'll be waiting time on peak hours.

Other than that, enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on lower level. 4th floor can be a challenge for some, especially if you're travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location of the hostel is brilliant right by the MRT and a few stops away from main attractions. We stayed in a four bed dorm, they are quite a tight squeeze but didnt seem to be too much of a problem. The shower and toilet area is very clean! the staff on main reception are very helpful and friendly which just adds to a more enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The dorms are quite a tight squeeze but are bearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Went there with my business friend, he loved to go backpackers. Actually this is my first time stayed at backpakers hostel. Overall the room is neat and clean, the bathroom also has decent hot shower. The very downside is the wall is very thin, so just pray other guests doesn't make too much noise. Location very near to Lavender MRT, close to kopitiam at MRT and walkable to Lavender Food Center, also easy to get taxi just in front of the hotel, very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#142 of 231 in Singapore
58 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#53 of 231 in Singapore
293 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#46 of 231 in Singapore
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#40 of 231 in Singapore
402 reviews
Ark Hostel
#73 of 231 in Singapore
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Property: Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
Address: 57 Lavender Street Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, Singapore 338714, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 231 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mercury Backpackers' Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel is the largest backpackers' hostel in the vicinity of Lavender Street, Singapore. The hostel is new, comprising 4 1/2 storey building painted Orange, symbolizing "Bright & Lively". The hostel can accommodate 90 patrons, its entire premise are fitted with security cameras and is fire safety certified. The hostel stuff are in a brand new condition and rooms can accommodate 3 to 6 persons. The rooms are designed with different themes. Special rooms are created for Families and Female patrons. All bedding set used is equivalent to the standard of 4-5 stars hotels. Wooden bed frames were introduced to reduce noise. Patrons are issued with individual cupboards for safe-keeping of their belongings. Cupboards come with a special Magnetic Key Tag scan lock. Reading light, shelves and charging sockets are also provided. There are plenty of shared showers & toilets on every level as well as hot/cold water. Washing basins have Hair-blower devices. Coin-operated washing machine is also found within the vicinity. Vending machines for Cold drinks are sited at the reception area. We provide Warm & Hot water and free used of our microwave oven. The hostel reception is operated 24 Hours. Our friendly staff can help with your Questions & Queries. There is phone-intercom service to reception on every level. The premises have 'WIFI' and unlimited FREE internet access available, extra computers were also catered. Bonding area was introduced for interaction on all levels. The most attractive feature of the hostel is the 6 person's Relaxation Jacuzzi Pool on designed roof-top garden, Sun-Tanning beds and BBQ equipment are also available. We may have the best accommodation, security system and facilities provided but it is most important for us is to provide the best service to ensure you have the best, cosy, clean and comfortable stay with us during your visit. Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Rooms Details: Per Bed Space, Mixed Dorm/ Female Dorm - Shared Bathroom (Shared Double Bunk Bed, in 4 or 6 Bedded Room) Entire Room - Triangle Room, Mixed - Shared Bathroom (Room for 3 people - 1 double bunk bed & 1 single bed) - Family Room, Shared Bathroom (Room for max. 2 Adults & 2 Children's - 1 Queen Size & 1 Single Bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mercury Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing