We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
Ranked #159 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dormitory style. 4 or 6 to a room. I was given 4 to a room. The room was so small you have hardly any room to turn. It comes in bunker style - 2 double deckers. On each floor there is only ONE toilet and THREE showers to service about 40 people. Can you imagine a situation when you have a bad stomach.

You have to walk up to 5th floor every morning for your two pieces of toast with butter and jam, a spoonful or two of baked beans, a hard boiled egg and coffee/tea. And may you be blessed if you are occupying a room on the higher floors as there is no lift, no one to help with your luggage.

Rate is S$33 per person per night. Two doors away is a hotel which charges S$118 per night. So if you are with a friend it is wiser to stay in this hotel (nothing to shout about but it's better than this backpackers outfit). It will work out to S$59 per person in the hotel vs S$33 at this hostel

EXTREMELY noisy
l

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandieKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    47
    20
    33
See reviews for
26
14
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We haven't had any reservations in Singapore, and kind of just ran into this, but we could've hardly done better!
The hostel is clean, comfy, well equipped, the staff are very nice and attentive. We stayed for three days (two nights) in a room for four. Room is a bit small, but quite nicely decorated. We loved the hot tub on the roof top. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Now, hostels should be clean and comfortable, cheap and have a good atmosphere. But what these folks offer for (at the time) SG$27/pp (excl. breakfast) is not yet printed in the backpackers’ dictionary. To be honest, if it hadn’t only opened a few weeks ago, it’d be a wonder that all the 15 or so other places in the area were still in business. (Note: we checked out most of them, and they were all quite expensive but mostly in a pretty shabby state!)

Comfortable beds in small (max 6 beds), spotless rooms with ample electricity sockets and electrically secured lockers per bed; all are air conditioned, some have window wash rooms with better facilities than most budget hotels will offer; hot/cold drinking water dispensers; laundry wash/dry machines (coin operated) and hanging area; communal cooking facilities (though not extensive); WiFi; Internet workstations in lobby; 3 minutes walk from the Lavender MRT station; 5 minutes walk from various local restaurants (“coffee shops”) serving excellent food; a common area with large flat screen TV on each floor; breakfast on the roof garden (not included in our price as it wasn’t available then; a JACUZZI on the roof top as well as deck chairs and a charcoal BBQ for guest use. Let’s see, have I missed anything?

Well, I can tell you that the manager is very proud of the business and he was constantly inquiring about any problems or suggestions we could identify. He was particularly interested in feedback on the orthopaedic pillows they selected for the beds, which have a special shape and should maintain perfect comfort. Well I can tell you that we were very comfortable indeed! And when we asked at check-in whether they had any rooms with windows, they not only put us in one but also made sure we had the room to ourselves as long as possible (in our case all week).

Yes, Mercury is a phenomenon and we would recommend it to any traveller wholeheartedly. Our first afternoon in Singapore is spent in a hot tub on a roof top, several high rise buildings surrounding us, and it was just what we need to recharge after a strenuous journey and will remain a very fond memory. To crown this, we find that we can easily manage Singapore on a tight budget, with the hostel costs under SG$30/pp (excluding breakfast) and all the tasty Chinese food at the coffee shops priced between SG$5 to SG$15 for generous servings.

Room Tip: Many rooms are closed but all have air conditioning. If you like air circulation like us, ask if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2fortheroad-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I randomly picked this hostel out of what seemed to be a lot of hostels with not much to choose between them. They all seemed pretty central, all shared the same facilities and all charged around the same price.
The place itself is nice enough. The location is good, just 2 mins walk from MTR station and with shops and restaurants nearby.
It is very clean although I think that would be expected for Singapore, which is a very clean place. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room, which was very small and windowless but you get what you pay for. For 33 (Singapore) dollars I think this was good value. The shower area was spotless. The wifi worked well. The water was hot.
There was a nice roof garden area with a couple of sun loungers and a hot-tub (not sure if it was working though).
The staff were variable. Maybe it was miscommunication or maybe they were geared towards a certain type of traveller.
I probably wouldn't stay here again. This isn't because they were so terrible (they weren't) but more because in a city with a lot of budget options I would prefer to stay somewhere where the staff were friendlier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahinguangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

an exceptional property that far exceeded expectations. Close to an MRT station and just 3 stops from central Singapore it had an excellent location with many local shops and eating places. The property is tastefully decorated with a funky vibe and offers a comfortable setting for relaxing. New bookings include a a cooked breakfast served on the roof terrace. Outstanding. Beds and dorms are fantastically comfortable. Staff are uniformly helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 bed dorm; like me you may be lucky and have it all to yourself. Rooms are windowless so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frazerprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

we stay here one night before continue our journey to Hanoi. i guess the hostel is newly renovated or built, because of the cleanliness. every locker is equipped with personal auto lock. the room is small, but clean. no breakfast provided during our stay.
the hostel is a walking distance from lavender mrt, hawker, and minimarket.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaSantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in a private room for 4 persons. Even though the room is quite small but the 2 buck beds are actually great. The staffs are nice and if u don't mind about shared bath room, then..... This is a recommended for sure

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkytoon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#143 of 218 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#51 of 218 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Coziee Lodge
#75 of 218 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#24 of 218 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#86 of 218 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#54 of 218 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercury Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Property: Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
Address: 57 Lavender Street Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, Singapore 338714, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mercury Backpackers' Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel is the largest backpackers' hostel in the vicinity of Lavender Street, Singapore. The hostel is new, comprising 4 1/2 storey building painted Orange, symbolizing "Bright & Lively". The hostel can accommodate 90 patrons, its entire premise are fitted with security cameras and is fire safety certified. The hostel stuff are in a brand new condition and rooms can accommodate 3 to 6 persons. The rooms are designed with different themes. Special rooms are created for Families and Female patrons. All bedding set used is equivalent to the standard of 4-5 stars hotels. Wooden bed frames were introduced to reduce noise. Patrons are issued with individual cupboards for safe-keeping of their belongings. Cupboards come with a special Magnetic Key Tag scan lock. Reading light, shelves and charging sockets are also provided. There are plenty of shared showers & toilets on every level as well as hot/cold water. Washing basins have Hair-blower devices. Coin-operated washing machine is also found within the vicinity. Vending machines for Cold drinks are sited at the reception area. We provide Warm & Hot water and free used of our microwave oven. The hostel reception is operated 24 Hours. Our friendly staff can help with your Questions & Queries. There is phone-intercom service to reception on every level. The premises have 'WIFI' and unlimited FREE internet access available, extra computers were also catered. Bonding area was introduced for interaction on all levels. The most attractive feature of the hostel is the 6 person's Relaxation Jacuzzi Pool on designed roof-top garden, Sun-Tanning beds and BBQ equipment are also available. We may have the best accommodation, security system and facilities provided but it is most important for us is to provide the best service to ensure you have the best, cosy, clean and comfortable stay with us during your visit. Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Rooms Details: Per Bed Space, Mixed Dorm/ Female Dorm - Shared Bathroom (Shared Double Bunk Bed, in 4 or 6 Bedded Room) Entire Room - Triangle Room, Mixed - Shared Bathroom (Room for 3 people - 1 double bunk bed & 1 single bed) - Family Room, Shared Bathroom (Room for max. 2 Adults & 2 Children's - 1 Queen Size & 1 Single Bed) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Mercury Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing