We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing tasty brunch for a great price at Marina Bay Sands”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moluccas Room

The Moluccas Room
Ranked #5,741 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Indonesian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing tasty brunch for a great price at Marina Bay Sands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Molucca's restaurant is an elegant and tranquil place to have brunch. Their contemporary Indonesian cuisine was amazing and delicious and a steal.

Their Rijsttafel Weekend brunch cost $38++ PER COUPLE for 6 dishes or $56++ PER COUPLE for 10 dishes, both including free refills...
This restaurant has everything right going for it, ambience, food, location and price!!!

The view from the restaurant of the waterfront is spectacular.

I learned about this restaurant through the chubbyhubby.net website which has amazing on-the-mark reviews of restaurants. It is also the best foodie website I have found.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarnasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    6
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money and service quality slacks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very disappointed with such services at a restaurant at such prestigious area. The staff were not attentive and their training in service definitely sucks. As the waitress asked me to which guest the dish were to be served, she immediately served to the wrong guest!

The food were just so-so. This will be the first and last time we will dine here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GennTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Focused on passing trade not returning customers!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a reservation at the restaurant on Saturday evening at 8pm, were seated quickly and given our menus. When the lady arrived to pour our water we asked if we could order and wandered off without pouring the water, wrongly we presumed she was finding someone who could take orders but clearly that was asking too much. After trying get someones attention for 20 mins we placed our order.

When we arrived the table next to us had finished their starters. Their empty plates were still there 40 minutes later when their main courses arrived. The waiters showed a real lack of initiative, the customers had to hold up their used plates whilst the main course was slipped underneath. The whole thing looked very amateur and the waiters showed no initiative or interest.

At 8.45pm as our starters had still not arrived my husband went to find out what was happening. He spoke to a lady who had no interest in what he had to say, she just looked at him with a glazed look, so we left.

I emailed the restaurant on the Monday morning to share my comments, a week later I still haven't recieved a reply. This says that they don't care about service, they will get by on passing tourist trade. There are lots of nice places at MBS so save yourself the stress and try one of those instead.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenny79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zashaari
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good indonesian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Food was good. Location great. Service ok. we were a big group but the restaurant refused to move the tables around so that we could be seated in a long table. The tongue satay is recommended

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank zashaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Modern indonesian with great flavor and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is situated right on Bayfront Avenue on the Ground level of MBS, facing the water, So you get the view of the CBD night light, Raffles hotel, Esplanade etc. The restaurant is air conditioned but with open glass doors, so you get a patio seating feel without the heat, if you chose to sit by the front. The food is not traditional Indonesian dishes, but with a modern twist yet still paying homage to the original flavors of the Indonesian dish. Presentation is French (the chefs are Indonesian and French). The restaurant dishes are all Halal, but they serve alcohol. The service staff there are friendly, with one or two "slow" ones..but the server Budi is polite and informative and we had a pleasant service experience with him. (sometimes rare in Singapore...) We had a good dining experience :)!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moluccas Room also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to The Moluccas Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing