We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal- down home yet high quality”

Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House
Ranked #323 of 10,930 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal- down home yet high quality”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The food is as unpretentious as the name on the door and to be honest I was curious to see if the could pull it off.

This is not a cheap restaurant so there need to be some compelling reasons and value to justify the prices on the menu....and there were.

Quality ingredients- no attempt to cut corners...no small portions of something expenisve, no attempt to disguise in lots of sauces and spices.

This is a place for those who like oysters, various seafoods such as crab (the crab cakes are epic), beef and hearty soups and well cooked fishes.

Luke's is a welcome kick in the butt to more fusion and delicate approaches to cuisine...and with the Chef overseeing his staff (he can be seen up front from time to time at the beginning of the evening)- these guys pull it off nicely.

Warmly recommended amd look forward to returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    58
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“I take it all back…..”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Well - I do!. The last time was a disaster and after a couple of months i found myself short of a place for dinner - wanted a steak - and though we'd try again.

The experience was totally different. We got a table, seated immediately, friendly staff with time to talk and good well priced wine along with great food. Three of this time and all the plates were scraped clean, it real was very well done.

On this performance I would recommend Luke's for good atmosphere, great food and properly trained staff…. this was worth the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great steak”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

After hearing great things about Luke's Oyster Bar I thought I would go. I had the rib eye steak which was succulent and tasty. The service was efficient and friendly.
Would go back! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henrik_eckorsft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, great ambeince. Will be back!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Went for dinner on Friday evening with husband. No reservations, and they were full except bar seats around 8pm. The attentive waitress approached us immdiately and offered us a bar seat. The bar tender was knowledageble on food and drinks without being pushy, gave us some great suggestions. Not just generic ones but where all the different oysters were from, the differnet gins on the bar, how the meats are cooked etc. The food came out in timely manner, the plates were cleared, the servers ready to cater. The oysters were so far the best I had in Singapore (from US, Canda, and AU) and the veal was delicious. Even the salad was exceptional, and my husband who never eats salad wanted some. Will be back to try the other items for sure!! on our night: Crowd is 80% expatriate, mid 30s and up.. Oh, if i have to fault one thing..the dessert menu is not so extensive..but who goes here for desserts! Plenty to please and beyond before getting to dessert!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Impeccably Honest Food - Great Ambiance - Best In Singapore”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Amazing experience - putting all the other restaurants that I have been to in Singapore in the shade. Food was impeccably honest, tasty, fresh and delightfully served by an attentive and knowledgeable staff - simply great value for money - but best of all - we felt welcome and not rushed for the table to be turned - and Travis, thanks for spending time at our table!

Will surely come back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing