We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House

Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House
Ranked #211 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've been a regular diner at Luke's every since it opened and it is an absolute GEM! Service is fantastic with servers recognising you and greeting you by name. Some even remember what I've eaten there before and love! Ambiance is cool and not pretentious. I love nearly their entire menu (lunch & dinner!). In particular, I'd recommend their rich and creamy clam chowder, their oysters (super fresh), lobster sandwich and all their meats. Seriously. Round off the meal with their AWESOME warm chocolate chip cookies and stout milkshake. I wish the milkshake was served in a much-larger glass as I can never get enough of it! When it's on the menu, their coconut banana crumble is the best in town. Good selection of wine as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyGirlHollyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    56
    19
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
285 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Cool ambiance with to die for food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My girlfriend took me & my husband to Luke's for lunch. When you open the door to step in the restaurant you get the feeling it's going to be a great experience. The decor & ambiance is just right. Very trendy and vibrant feel! We all had a hamburger that melted in our mouths! The pom frites were cooked just right! We were too stuffed after our burger and fries to order dessert but the chef sent something out for us to try which was amazing! You will not be disappointed with Luke's!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bakerswoodfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Solid american fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I started with the clam chowder, as it's always been one of my favorite dishes. It came served in a cute glass jar. Good though a bit too creamy and less 'sea-foody'than what i prefer. As a main I tried the crab-cakes, which were excellent, ie, lumpy/meaty, with the right crispiness. The side-dishes were also all very solid, in particular the lobster mac-and-cheese and the asparagus.
Service was very good for Singapore, discreet and yet ready when needed.
It''s not cheap but at least it's good (it stood above many other over-pricey outlets these days, such as Salt).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FedwardHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Culinary Excellence from start to finish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A craving for oysters on a Friday eve after work led us to this brilliant eatery run under the expertise of Luke Mannagan. From the paprika infused savoury bread scones to the perfect blend of ingredients in the tuna Tatar and crab cakes, each dish was a delight. The perfect ending came in the form of the chocolate brownie with peanut butter icecream..perfectly baked and fudgy with a smoky flavour. Although I myself am known for my excellent home baked brownies these were truly exceptional. All in all a place not to be missed, although it is on the pricier end of the scale!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KhushnaeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
932 reviews
580 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Oysters from at least three sources, and original dishes to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

During our six weeks stay we were there twice. I went crazy over oysters from Powder Point, Katama Bay & the Beau Soleil.

But equally great were scallops, my son was crazy about the lobster roll and the next time the original burger. The chef was around in the restaurant both times, so he was overseeing what was being delivered to the guests.

Impeccable service and great value.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Luke's Oyster Bar & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing