We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay location for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
Ranked #177 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel due to its location for 3 nights for a total of 412USD. In Singapore if you are spending more time in your room than for cleaning up or resting then you are not taking the island to your full advantage. You could stay at the Swissotel Merchant Court across EuTongSen/NewBridge for at least double if you so desire. This place does require an adventuresome spirit, however, due to lack of proper closets and the shower /toilet/sink all being together so no multitasking in there (everything gets wet with the shower going.) I could also hear the neighboring room's bathroom echo so indeed the walls are thin. Room 416 had two twin beds and a window, although the view was nothing to send a postcard about. I did not have time to check out the workout room or pool. I will definitely stay here again since it is so close to so many great sites, shops, eats, and drinks. And if you want the coldest and cheapest Tiger juice in town with good food on the side go to China Seafood restaurant at the corner of Pagoda and Trengganu in Chinatown! This spot is great for taking refuge from the heat, rain, or long walkabout and watching the world's people walk by and even more interesting on days near CNY if you can get a table.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrankyJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 903 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel location was just perfect for us. It was located near the MRT and just across the street there is a medium size mall, and in 5 minutes walk, we can walk by the boat quay. The room was small but ok for both of us. The most important thing for a room for us is its cleanliness and the safety for us... the room was just clean, comfortable, and safe. The breakfast was ok.. not great but just ok....
I will definitely want to stay in this hotel again in my next visit to Singapore

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budisantoso K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

A reasonably priced clean tidy small hotel convenient location walking distance to China Town and Boat & Clarke Quay.
If you need a room just to sleep then you might be ok. If you have claustrophobia then forget it. We only had 48 hours to spend and had a late night flight so booked the room for 2 nights but only needed to sleep the one night which is all I could've coped for and checked out late the second night for our midnight flight.
The bathroom is also tiny with the shower being a wet shower over the toilet. A struggle have a decent shower and feel clean.
We were offered to upgrade our room on arrival for free wifi but didn't need this however later found out if we did we would have gotten a room with a window.
Because of the size of the room this kept us out and about so we saw more of Singapore!!

Room Tip: Spend more stay at a higher rated hotel with bigger room & nicer facilities and if you need late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gntAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Location is good, as the Clarke Quay MRT is just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Room is just nice but without window. Staffs are very friendly. There's a 7-11 just next to the hotel, so you can easily get whatever you want/need. Everything is quite okay, but if there's free wifi included it'll be perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cecilia_Koh9919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is close to Clarke Quay MRT. Our room was clean, the staff were courteous, the roof top pool was refreshing and open until quite late. Our room did not have a window (but this seems to be quite common in SE Asia) and as a result the room did get damp from showering - a dehumidifier resolved this. However I have paid double the price of this hotel for a smaller and similarly damp room in Singapore. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bean1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Checked in to discover our room didn't have a window so we upgraded. At over $140 a night that was disappointing, funny enough that wasn't disclosed when booking through a third party website. Also had to upgrade to receive wifi package which is a joke. I have stayed in hostels for $8 a night all over Asia and never once had to pay for internet, surely a 3 or 4 star hotel can provide free wifi. Rooms are very small but clean. Staff were friendly and helpful, a pleasure to deal with. The location is also good and that is what you are paying for. Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweenzn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we only stayed at singapore for 3 days to visit a friend and see the city. Turned out to be quite expensive, including this hotel. However, it is what it is and for the price we paid we couldnt get anything better. Location was great butthe rooms very small. I guess you are paying for the location (best in town).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adri1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Clover The Arts
#169 of 319 in Singapore
300 reviews
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#144 of 319 in Singapore
344 reviews
Santa Grand Hotel Boat Quay
#216 of 319 in Singapore
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#185 of 319 in Singapore
272 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#263 of 319 in Singapore
932 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Selegie
#159 of 319 in Singapore
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Address: 20 Hongkong Street Fragrance Hotel - Riverside, Singapore 059663, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $85 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Riverside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing