We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant Fragrance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
Ranked #140 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Fragrance!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I booked one night in advance at a reasonable rate but then had to extend to three nights so at last minute paid £100 room only before i got there. The room was horrendous w no window and freezing air con. Turned it off and all was soaked in condensation. The mattresses are PLASTIC. Coated so unbelievably horrible to sleep on, sweaty and slippery. I was given a window room for 2nd and 3rd night also breakfast, either juice or tea not both! Tiny bathroom but ok. Good pool in sun but only 4 chairs for 100 rooms. Caters for mass tourism and much slamming of doors and shouting in the early hours.
The staff were really good and helpful.
The location is excellent.
However, the over riding memory will be the vile synthetic smell that pervades the whole place, it made me feel ill each time walked in . It hangs on your clothes and is altogether revolting.
I have to say I found it a totally depressing place and I would never go back ....ever!

Room Tip: Don't get a windowless cell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank legrysbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    356
    206
    78
    57
See reviews for
156
316
62
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Room is new, small, but clean and have very cool air cond. Location is just a cross walk from Central Mall Singapore and 5-minutes walk from clarke quay area
Free breakfast is also delicious, choice: english breakfast, mee siam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBCIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice and clean hotel with a pool on the roof, but very small rooms (we could hardly open our suitcases) and even smaller bathrooms which lack of shower tray, or shower curtain, so after one takes a shower everything, the floor and the toilette gets completely wet.
For a little upgrade you get rooms with window and basic breakfast (choice out of 3-4 set meals) served in the bar next to the hotel. There is a strong parfume smell throughout the hotel, which may disturb some people, who have allergy to aromatic smells. Great location, about 15 min walk from Marina Sands bay attractions, 10min from Quai bar street and the river.

Room Tip: When upgrade is offered at the reception it is worth to pay a little extra for a window-ed room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vizzzitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelspruit
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

front desk good, all clean, small room no windows but expected, location excellent, walk to clarke quay and to china town. close to subway.
dont pay extra for the breakfast, it is half the size and has things missing from the menu they show you. i heard guests complaining.
as i said good value for location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were looking for a good place to stay preferably at not a crazy price, which is something this place mostly delivered. It is perfectly adequate but by no means amazing.
The rooms were the smallest of our whole Asian trip but they were clean and modern. No amenities in the bathroom besides some all purpose liquid. The sink was tiny and the place is noisy so do bring earplugs.
Internet was crazy expensive and it was weird we had to pay before we checked in.
The location is good and we mostly walked.
The best thing about the place is that they have a pool, which was nice but the gym cannot be called a gym at all. It is a tiny room with a treadmill and an elliptical that is barely 4 sq.m and is so hot as it is glass and directly under the afternoon sun.
Overall not a friendly lace but adequate if you are staying for 1 or 2 nights as we were.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Totally enjoyed my two weeks. The hotel has a great location. Very friendly staff. They provided all info I needed since that trip was my very first one to Singapore. It is a very safe place, too. I often left my stuff in the room and nothing has happened. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeY_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is great, unless you like reasonably sized rooms, having a fridge, having a safe, having respectful staff, or real workouts rooms. The entire hotel is heavily doused in perfume, so prepare yourself for headaches (you cannot escape it--are they covering up some smell?

The toilet in our bathroom was SURROUNDED by white mold. I know what mold looks like, this was mold. Disgusting. Also, we had to pay cash up front for our room before we even saw it. We would have left if we haven't paid already. We never got a receipt for paying with cash (very sketchy). There was NO SHAMPOO/CONDITIONER in the bathroom, only soap. Internet was very expensive so we didn't buy it. Have to pay even to use computers in lobby.

Also, we were woken every morning at 7am by doors slamming and people walking in hallways. Very poor noise insulation because the rooms are WAY TOO SMALL! The "gym" looks big in pictures on the hotel website but it is actually ONLY TWO AN ELLIPTICAL AND A TREADMILL! THE POOL IS THREE FEET DEEP! This is awful, manipulative marketing.

I wish I had brought durian into this hotel and left it to rot. Just say no to Fragrance Hotel--don't ruin your Singapore experience.

I am not a stuck-up girl. This hotel just sucks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#144 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Hotel Clover The Arts
#132 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#155 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
#174 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Bugis
#164 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Riverside

Property: Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
Address: 20 Hongkong Street Fragrance Hotel - Riverside, Singapore 059663, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fragrance Hotel - Riverside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing