We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact rooms, not for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Ranked #80 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
553 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Compact rooms, not for tourists”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is good if you have business in NUS area. Otherwise, there is nothing much nearby and a 20-30 minute taxi ride into Orchard Road area. The room is compact i.e. small (when you open the wardrobe door, it touches the bed) but does not feel cramped. Bed is comfortable and the wifi is free and quite fast. There is a small desk for working and free tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was included in the room rate, otherwise it was SGD16 (which is not worth it). Beware that the restaurants nearby seem pricey - but food is nice (we tried the Chinese one). The staff are cheerful and concierge helpful. There are no passing taxis, but the staff are happy to help you book one. Overall OK if you need to be in the area, but not for tourists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    173
    77
    15
    5
See reviews for
50
44
23
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived in the hotel quite early. Me and my friend is visiting singapore to attend our optosystem courses doe 4days. We have a fast check in and have a warm welcome from the Manager Sigfred. He was very professional and helpful especially when noticed my friend with an eyesight problem. He even bring us until we reach our hotel room. Thank you so much for your countless help when we are there.

I have a friend working in vietnam as a front desk also but, we never overcome a service like in singapore especially Sigfred...this guy is very good and u deserve to be one of the Manager. Definitely i will recommend your hotel to my friends if they going singapore!!...

Once again thank you so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
548 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Park Avenue Rochester is good for visiting academics and government types who want to conduct business in the immediate area. It is, however, not great for tourists. With only two medium-sized shopping centers nearby, your shopping options are limited. Those are places catering more for the people who work in the area, though there is a decent selection of restaurants and even a few Starbucks.

What I like about this hotel is that is not advertised as anything else but a sort of public servant-oriented hotel. There is no fancy restaurant, no business center, no modern meeting rooms, etc. It is just your basic, clean guest rooms that are not good for twin sharing as the bed takes up most of the space. The bathroom is nice and clean. The lobby is small but well staffed. Housekeeping is prompt and courteous. All very functional. The coffee shop is the kind where you can grab a quick breakfast and get out for work.

A plus for the hotel is it is close to Buena Vista MRT station that has two intersecting lines for you to get into the city, although to go to somewhere like Marina Bay can be 20-30 minutes. The location of the hotel is also kind of quiet, being in the government/university zone, so that is another plus.

Park Avenue Rochester is recommended if you are in Singapore for work in the vicinity but not if you are on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chattan_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Close to Buona Vista MRT, you can travel to the city hassle free! Close to a mall and a German bar selling great beer. Staff friendly and gym was superb. Pool was nice, the only negative was the layout of the room as the cupboards were hard to get to. But bed was nice and was a quiet stay for 12 nights! Breakfast hit and miss, some days good and other days cold. But overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwk10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel during my last business trip. My company got me a suite room which is more like an apartment rather than Hotel room. I got a room with complete pantry, living room, bed room and bath room. The room layout is pretty good with bathroom can be accessed either via bedroom or pantry. The living room is spacious witch cozy couch, large TV, stereo set with ipod/iphone port, and the furniture is quite modern. There are many drawers located in the pantry, living room and bedroom. The pantry is complete with enough utensils (knife, fork, spoon, plates, bowl, and many other stuffs to cook and eat), a toaster, a electric kettle/pot, electric hob, sink and washing machine (yep they provide washing machine in the room). Based upon request the Hotel also state they can provide rice cooker (depending on availability), I didn't try to request for it though during my stay. The bedroom is not very spacious, but there's also large TV in the bedroom, and there's a working table and chair. The bathroom is OK, but is not very big and cozy enough with suite in another Hotel. I prefer bathroom with a separate bathtub and shower cubicle, in this hotel there's only 1 bathtub/shower. I also got a free complimentary WiFi connection which is acceptable to access my email and occasional browsing.
I only have problem with AC and hot water (the ac in the bedroom sometime not cold, and the hot water on busy hour often didn't work).

The location of this Hotel is on 31 Rochester Drive, near Buona Vista MRT station (5 minutes walking distance), and there's a mall (rochester mall) which is adjacent to this Hotel, and another Hotel just beside this Hotel (Capital Mall/Star Mall). It's quite far to the city center (Orchard, Marina, Clarke Quay, etc), but it's not that big deal since the MRT station is quite near.

All in all for a long stay business trip I do recommend this Hotel. For a short holiday or holiday with family the location can become a problem, you need travel time to go to many interesting places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am booked into the Park Avenue Hotel Rochester for 12 months while on assignment in Singapore, have been there for 7 weeks now.

The hotel collected me from the airport in a very nice car complete with wifi & the reception staff when I arrived were very cheerful despite the very early hour!

My room is very neat & modern with a nice view (1 bedroom superior) although a little small for my liking. Everything is very clean & the housekeeping staff are lovely. For a long term stay the kitchen is a bit small & lacks a few things, but that isn't the hotel's fault, more my travel agent for selecting it.

The hotel is very close to several shops & many restaurants as well as the MRT station which is great for me for getting to work. There is a swimming pool & a gym which are never very busy.

There is a restaurant in th hotel as well but I rarely eat there although the food is fine & tasty. They will send food up to your room which is useful.

Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I loved this hotel as it was so clean,modern and comfortable. I know there are some comments here about the location, but I loved it as it was quiet and peaceful. The MRT station Buona Vista was only a 5 min walk, with easy access to the centre of Singapore and Botanic Gardens. The local mall The Star is great and lots of good, reasonable and nice restaurants. The service was fabulous and staff very friendly. The only negative thing here was the breakfast, which left a lot to be desired, sadly. Otherwise, highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#65 of 312 in Singapore
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
Citadines Fusionopolis Singapore
#208 of 312 in Singapore
20 reviews
12.2 mi away
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#92 of 312 in Singapore
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
Santa Grand Hotel West Coast
#228 of 312 in Singapore
166 reviews
3.9 mi away
Genting Hotel Jurong
Genting Hotel Jurong
#1 of 1 in Jurong
317 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#86 of 312 in Singapore
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Avenue Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Rochester Hotel

Property: Park Avenue Rochester Hotel
Address: 31 Rochester Drive Park Rochester Avenue, Singapore 138637, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in Singapore
#74 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Avenue Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Rochester showcases contemporary 271 business hotel rooms and serviced suites targeting at discerning expatriates working in the business hub of one-north. Aside from being surrounded by the wonders of nature near the lush greenery of Rochester Park, one is also spoilt for choice when it comes to dining and night life with a great selection of restaurants, pubs and gourmet marts just around the corner.The Park Avenue Hotel is set in Singapore's next generation, knowledge and research enclave. Not just brimming with intellectual vision and technological inspirations, it is also cuddled by lush greenery with a vibrant lifestyle and cultured environment.The Rochester Mall sited next to the lush greenery of Rochester Park, provides an exceptional dining experience in our elegantly colonial houses, landscaped terraced-garden and interesting alfresco dining area, brings modern arts and cultural zest of life to the community. In the evenings, chill out at one of the restaurants set in the colonial bungalows of Rochester Park. Be embraced by the nature of lush green environment and enjoy the laid-back charm nestled in the park.Another escape away from the hustle and bustle of city life is to head down to Holland Village. Holland Village is well known for its wide variety of restaurants and bars that are spiced with a young lively atmosphere. There is a very good mix of restaurants at Holland Village; Italian, Mediterranean cuisine, Chinese food, Mexican, Japanese and Vietnamese - try naming it, they have it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Avenue Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Rochester Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing