We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Russian restaurant in Singapore with a superb wine list”
Review of Buyan

Buyan
Ranked #1,944 of 10,930 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Description: Buyan invites you to enjoy dishes from Russia and the former Soviet Union, from homely stews to caviar indulgence. This is the very place to try the real taste of the world-known Russian borscht, pirozhki (small pies) or pelmeni (dough pockets filled with mixed meat).
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great Russian restaurant in Singapore with a superb wine list”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I am yet to meet anyone who is a FAN of Russian food, but there really should be some. A good place to start is Buyan, a great Russian restaurant in Singapore, with an incomparable wine list. The food is authentic (a Russian friend confirmed this). We tried two salads - The Olivier (also known as "Russian salad" and Mimosa - and both were superb, as was another starter - Herring under the fur coat (herring covered with vegetables). Pelmeni - a kind of Russian dim sum - also went down well. Finally we finished off with Kulebyaka, a hearty Russian pie filled with salmon. On previous visits I have tried staples like Chicken Kiev (one of my favorites) and Shashlyk kebab - both very good. Buyan also has a reasonably-priced wine list and good set lunches.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good Russian Food and superb list of drinks”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Nice interior, very good menu of food and drinks. Good atmosphere with nice music...
Price level is very good considering the quality of food and drinks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Almari76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“The Musculine Appeal”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Buyan has both a bar and dining section. The bar is stocked with extensive range of close to 50 different types of vodka. The range of whiskeys offered is almost as impressive. I thought the masculine setting attracted a more serious and business like crowd. This is good for drinkers that prefers a quieter setting and to have a good conversation. Nevertheless the atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable. We were there during the $3/g caviar promotion which complimented our vodka tasting perfectly. Food was well prepared and done with good quality produce. However, we don't find all the dishes appealing to our taste orientation. Service was prompt and friendly. Overall it was an enjoyable evening with a masculine appeal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severodvinsk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Russian dinner”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was twice there. Musical band there is excellent. Pleasant atmosphere and arrangement. Restaurant has 2 floors: bar area+dinning area - ground floor, dinning zone plus open air bar located on second floor. Restaurant' furnishing - seems came from French or Dutch motif. My impression - Catherine Great style, very positive and romantic. Menu - designed with love, main intention, as I understood - create opportunity for people to try Russian dishes, rare abroad usually. BUT. Chef seems Singaporian because every dish has slight Singaporian "footprint". Meal quality is absolutely fine, but the taste is not 100% authentic. In general there are no critical findings, but calibration of the current chef by Russian specialist is necessary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid lunch in restaurant weeks”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Set lunch at normal time is S$18++ and quite good. Eapecially liked the shashlyk, good chicken and lamb with grilled vegetables.
During the resaurant week, set lunch is S$25++ and the value of the meal was much lower. We had choice of lamb fried rice or croquette, just carbs and very little meat. Would try again after restaurant week is over.

They serve slow so estimate minimum 90 minutes lunch time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hitoritabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buyan also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Buyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing