We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very atmospheric”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #139 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Penza, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very atmospheric”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were at this hotel in April 2014 with my husband and friends. We stayed for two nights. Pluses this hotel: good location in central of ChinaTown, near food cort and metro stations. Just two metro stations and you have the Marina Bay. Very atmospheric interior. This hotel was Chinese opera many years ago. Minus this hotel: no cheсk in ahead of time, although room were available; most of rooms very small size and doesn't have windows. But if you stay in room with windows, you'll have awesome view of the China Town and skyscrapers.
I'm traveler around the world. Follow me on my blog - papulinkot.ru and instagram papulinkot!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina_Domanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    503
    342
    94
    64
See reviews for
186
292
289
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Schoolboy error I know but make sure you get the correct Santa Grande, at least we first visited the sister hotel across the street, where we were perfunctorily waved in the right direction. Ideally located for SMRT railway network to get you fairly close to all points Singapore. Check in friendly and efficient. The interior is fascinating, with posters detailing a history of the theatre use and what went on backstage ( goodness knows how with the size of the rooms). The hotel provides a quiet escape from the chaotic bustle of Chinatown. Our room was located on the first floor behind the stage (a 'warrior' room I think), it was clean, WiFi was efficient, with some figuring out we were able to open the wooden window blinds for some light ( a dark ambiance all over the hotel, chiefly red and black colour scheme). The room was small and this could become wearing I imagine if experiencing an extended stay, but was manageable for a night. The noise didn't effect us as I think we were the last people to grab a meal in the street at about midnight. We were able to check out and leave our cases the next day (under lock with a ticket to reclaim given from reception. The gentleman who helped us gave us some tips about when to set off for Woodlands for the KL train that night, which were negated by the hotel being unable to secure a taxi for us, leading to a somewhat frenetic public transport chase across town. If Woodlands Railway station is your outgoing transport hub, give yourself plenty plenty time for a successful exit strategy. Ideal as a base for a short stay, no food ( but many options just outside) and handy communal tea/ coffee facilities.The cross is definetly closer to the convenience rather than comfort side of the axis.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bozzieOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Rite in the heart of china town. Food is all over and is cheap. Subway is just 5 mins walk. Room is average size. Lighting is poor. Will have noise from outside as ppl walking. In the hotel it's a bit dark as lighting is poor. Bed is average and security is not so good as anyone can walk in and out of the room so own security is a must. Minus all the down side the hotel is ok to stay for a few days but not for long. Coffee and tea is free flow. Shopping is very good.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The best thing about this hotel was its location, close to Chinatown MRT and only steps away from the night market and Chinatown Food Street. Staff was friendly and the interior design of the hotel was unique. The room itself was clean, with clean bathroom, working AC, wardrobe, and a safety box. Bed was quite hard and uncomfortable for me. Everything else was fine, until 12 midnight, when a garbage truck was collecting rubbish for around half an hour along the street where the window is facing, the noise is just unacceptable. Other than that, the room was OK, service was fine, location was great.

Room Tip: If you need a quality rest, maybe better ask for a room without window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The location of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen was great, but the condition and size of the family room we stayed in, was shocking. There was just one tiny room about 2.5x2.5 sq m with a double bed and a single bed placed on the staircase. The tiny bathroom was in a ran-down condition with a shower right above the toilet, which made impossible to use the toilet if somebody is having shower. After one person finished having a shower, the toilet sit was wet, therefore, we had to clean/dry the toilet sit at least three times a day as there were three of us. The wardrobe was tiny too. Overall, the family room in which three of us stayed, was enough only for two people, the interior was in need of refreshment at least. The room did not have a fridge. The Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen had the only helpful staff member, a mature Chinese man, who was always happy to help us and others, making us feel welcomed. Most other staff members at the reception were not willing to help and did not show much hospitality. The room was certainly overpriced for that condition and size.

Room Tip: not more than two people can fit in a family room, which is supposed to be for three mature people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen because of it very unique thematic interior design. The management embellish the hotel with Chinese Opera milieu. There are pictures with texts explaining the origin and works of Chinese Opera. It is located right in the centre of Chinatown. At night, you see many tourists and locals bustling the streets. There are plenty of food stalls and souvenir shops. It is very near the Chinatown train station. It probably take 20-25 mins to walk to the Central Business District area.

Improvement: The legs of the bed seem filmsy and the toilet is a bit small even for Asian.

But overall, I love the ambient and amenity of the hotel. It bring me back to those days during Qing Dynasty, where Chinese Opera flourish.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I would love to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sebastian W,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed, the theme of Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is based on its history of being the most popular opera house in Singapore. Our hotel was also a prominent landmark back in its heyday! We are glad that you enjoyed our location as the Chinatown Food Street is right at the doorstep and many other eateries nearby. The souvenir shops are also very convenient for tourists.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and we hope to welcome you and your friends again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I had stayed at the hotel before about 2 1/2 years ago. I remembered it was fine for a few days where you wouldn't be staying in the room much. With this I decided to book again at the hotel. Singapore is not cheap for hotels, but at 700myr, 275sgd for 3 nights for a standard room I thought was reasonable. At check in the young lady wasn't that helpful bordering on aggressive. Fortunately her Indian colleague was slightly better.

I was taken to the room and first thing I noticed it was of Food Street side. Food Street in Chinatown has been renovated with nice food stalls and a good place for congregating. But they now play Chinese pop songs from before midday to nearly midnight. Also, this room seemed smaller than the one I had before. Thus I asked reception if there was a quieter room. They took me to another room, no window, quiet but TINY! I asked if I could pay and upgrade to a larger room. They explained I could but at rack rate which would be an extra 165sgd a night! I then phoned there central reservations department and in the end got a queen size with balcony for only an extra 50sgd a night.

This room was nice. As the hotel is in a lovely old Chinese theatre the rooms are not going to be the same as a modern hotel. The room has a 24 inch lcd TV, bed was comfortable, bathroom Okay. But again it was facing Food Street. I needed iron, ironing board, hangers and extra pillow, all delivered quickly. Wifi was fine, quick enough.

So in summary. I would recommend the hotel to people that want to stay in Chinatown, in a historic building that are not fussed about the noise outside. If you want peace and quiet and large rooms, you can get better value for money in Singapore.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bourneman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Bourneman1971,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a detailed review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable time staying with us!

Yes indeed, Chinatown Food Street is right outside our hotel thus it can be very lively and full of energy at times.

Thank you for your feedback regarding our service. We have reviewed the approach of our service crew towards our hotel guests and shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations through guidance and retraining.

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen again, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay with us here!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#175 of 315 in Singapore
350 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#258 of 315 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#272 of 315 in Singapore
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#124 of 315 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 315 in Singapore
673 reviews
Naumi Liora
#107 of 315 in Singapore
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing