We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“my review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

The location is very good. The hotel is closed to sightseeing place such as Budha Tooth Relic and Museum,Sri Mariamman etc.And it's also really really close to MRT Chinatown!!!
the room quite small...but it's small as other hotel in Singapore actually.

Room Tip: Superioir is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kritsana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    498
    340
    91
    64
See reviews for
182
290
286
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel has a great location and it's cheaper than the others in Singapore. Unfortunately, these are the only positives about this place. The people are rude, they made us feel as though any question we asked was a complete inconvenience to them. When we got to our room there were loads of mosqitoes everywhere. I shared my shower with 15 of them. They did bring up insect spray when we asked but then waited outside the door for it, even though we said we'd bring it back to reception in 10mins time when we were going out. The rooms are tiny and the shower was over the toilet. The beds are dead hard. To be honest, I could put up with the small room, crap bathroom, horrible staff and uncomfortable bed, as you're only there to sleep but the mosquitoes were the nail in the coffin! We won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management’s attention. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We have reviewed the approach of our service crew towards our hotel guests and shall continue to strive for better customer service and relations through guidance and retraining.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. I always choose a balcony room.Walk to bars,cafes,restaurants, markets and MRT.Friendly and helpful staff. Coffee and tea always available.Service are standard but location are very good, plenty of stores to buy souvenirs and restaurants to buy food, plus access to MRT are very close.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Giftzii-Zii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we will continue to work hard to provide service to better suit guests' needs.

Thank you again for your great review, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleycw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked in for 4 nights with Asia direct ,single lady , I knew there might not be a window in the room,
The room smelled stale there was a hair in the bed, my wardrobe at home was bigger than the room very little storage space, if you took a shower you had to walk across a wet floor to use the toilet, I left the next morning losing money but could not stay another night, I have stayed in better hostels.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We appreciate your candid and objective feedback about Victoria Hotel and have shared your concern with our team for immediate action to improve guests' experience.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed there from 13th-16th feb, we got the room with windows as requested but its roadside so it gets busy during the night and disturb our sleep, but we have noone to complain since it was our choice. Service are standard but location are very good, plenty of stores to buy souvenirs and restaurants to buy food, plus access to MRT are very close. We got a promo price for the room around S$ 100 per night, would not have stayed for a regular price.

Room Tip: Better a room without a window than with one but roadside, it gets busy during the night and may dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I Gede Githa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing a great review! We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and we are happy to have hosted your stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. I always choose a balcony room.Walk to bars,cafes,restaurants, markets and MRT.Friendly and helpful staff. Coffee and tea always available.Thanks to Khalid Ho an excellent concierge and security always there to assist and advise when on duty. A good durian café has opened next door. Chinatown seafood restaurant for beers and snacks. I'll be back. Thankyou Lai Chun Yuen

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star rating! We appreciate your feedback and this encourages our team to work even harder to provide even better service! Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is delighted to hear that you had an overall pleasurable stay with us.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to you continued patronage!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Positioned in the heart of Chinatown, very close (a one minute short walk) to the MRT station, location is undoubtedly the main attractiveness of this hotel. It's also reasonably priced (that is always good). The room I stayed in was small but functional, clean and nicely furnished (though windowless). The only downside was related to the thickness of walls: I could hear everything that was going on in the room next to mine, so if you are lucky, like I was, and you have a quite neighbor, you'll sleep like a charm, but if you are not... then you might have a problem.
All in all, though, a great choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFab86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreciate all your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. However, we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in certain aspects of your stay. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here, we look forward to welcome you again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#165 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#106 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#267 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing