We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny rooms but clean and in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms but clean and in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This small hotel is in the very heart of Chinatown. Restaurants, street markets etc. are right at the door. It is also just 400 metres from the Chinatown MRT (train system) so access to/from the airport and most Singapore attractions is easy. The rooms and ensuite bathrooms are tiny (the norm for this level of hotel in Singapore) but very clean. In a common area there are facilities for you to help yourself to instant coffee/tea at any time. Not all rooms come with a window – you need to ask. From the windows, you look out to traditional Chinese shophouses across the road. The hotel has a Chinese opera theme, which gives it some interest and character. I found the staff helpful, and check in/check out was easy. But be aware that the main entrance is actually on Temple street. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: You need to ask if you want a room with windows to the outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Hindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided prompt and attentive services that made your stay memorable.
We value your feedback and hope it won't be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back!
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    498
    340
    91
    64
See reviews for
182
290
286
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The location is great and we had kept within our budget for a hotel within the town area.
However, try to avoid getting corner rooms as the shower and room tends to be smaller than the others of the same category. Also avoid getting the 2nd level along the road as noises from the pub/bars opposite will definitely be disturbing for light sleepers. Other than the small shower and noises, there's really nothing to complain about. Definitely worth the stay if you are on a small budget.

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd level corner rooms along the main road for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Overall is ok, the environment is ok, make me like staying at home, so comfortable, but one thing I wanna say is no warm water at 2 nights to shower, that's I'm not satisfied, but I like this hotel overall, I will come again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avis0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We appreciate your time to write us a review. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused. We have stepped up our equipment maintenance and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Your feedback is valuable in helping us improve our service quality and we look forward to welcome you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is close to Chinatown MRT and is very easy to find. It is also walking distance to Clarke Quay and other attractions nearby. We found the shower a bit too small to our liking, the shower head is virtually above the toilet seat! It is a basic room with all the essentials for short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We recognize some of the rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we encourage guests to use the lobby area which is quiet to relax and enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wi-fi service.
We appreciate your feedback look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here on 18 and 19 September 2013 - it was the second stop on a round-the-world journey.

The hotel's location is unimprovable; it stands just a few steps away from bustling Chinatown street-markets and atmospheric temples and shrines. It's close to public transport, too.

The hotel itself is as fascinating as its surroundings. As well as being a refurbished Chinese Opera House (the hotel's rather grand central atrium was the auditorium and the reception desk was the stage!) it led a double life as a high-class brothel! Not now, of course!!

I thought the staff were efficient and courteous, although I agree with many reviewers who say the rooms are unexpectedly small. The atmosphere in the hotel is good, though, and the bar at the back - which doubles as the breakfast room - is cosy and friendly.

I wish I had stayed longer and would recommend it to anyone - specially to those, like me, who have never visited Singapore before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
The hotel retained the old time Chinatown charm which we are glad that you liked it. We hope to see you again real soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We are ready to know that we will get small room but we still much surprise when we see that room directly. Anyway all boutique hotel is the same in Singapore, except you take five star hotel. We actually do not sleep much when we travel so that rooms are cool with us. The best from Santa Grand is location, it is in China Town where we could find Chinese food easily, we loved this atmosphere in China Town. The hotel location is very clean even we know we are staying in China town. One thing we could tell you that, this hotel just for travelers after long day exploration. It is not suitable for business man who need desk to work or space to arrange documents or meet people in the room because there is no table for tea, coffee or something to relax, just for sleep.

Do not buy durian because it is so much expensive outside, buy in Vietnam better.

Room Tip: Any room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThienThao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We are pleased to know you had enjoyed the convenience staying at Santa Grand Lai Chun Yuen.
We thank you for taking the time to write us a review and look forward to welcome you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Quite satisfied with hotel service and staff. Room service and facilities are reasonable. No complaint at all. Appreciated the quiet lounge room with free coffee and tea that made us some relaxable moments and enjoyable private space. Apparently our superior couple room is quite small however as we've only spent time for sleeping and that's not a big deal. I've really enjoyed using MRT and this hotel location was very handy for us i.e. traveling to Santosa island and Marina Bay Sands shopping centre (including casino). There were only a few stations (stops) from the hotel to those places.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay in the hotel sometime during the day at the moment (Nov.2013 onward), do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CuongMietduoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the convenience of where we are located.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back at Santa Grand!
Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#165 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#82 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#106 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#115 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#267 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing