We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #146 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Overall it is a good hotel to stay. Breakfast is included but room is very small. Excellent location, 3 mins walk to Chinatown MRT. It is located near to Maxwell food court, which you can find a lot of cheap and tasty local foods.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesseyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for leisure travelers and food lovers as everything is just within walking distance!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    501
    342
    93
    64
See reviews for
183
291
288
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Situated near the China Town MRT station, it is just a few minute walk away from the station. Walk straight from MRT exit and turn right at the first corner as you walk straight then you can see the hotel right opposite of you.

Decorated using the traditional Chinese palace with warrior and scholar theme in front of their room doors. It is a theme that you won't normally see in conventional hotels, unfortunately the room is relatively small with queen size bed and tiny space to walk between the bathroom and bed, it is a room for not more than 2 person. There is a TV and 2 bottle of mineral water available for free.

Bathroom is good, it had a "stone" theme to further enhance its traditional theme. Water level and temperature is great, i had a great time showering there. Shampoo and body lotion is abundant here, so you don't have to carry your own here unless you have a very strict personal preference.

Room is adequately clean and comfy to stay. Room service is quite good on first day but after that the cleaner effort is reduced as some items are in the same position as arranged by the cleaner on first day. However having said that, the room is still kept clean.

Everyday we are being almost the same breakfast, greeted by warm smile and service from the uncle and aunties that served us. imagine having the same type of food as breakfast for few days, it is kind of bored for me but taste is bearable.

Room Tip: Rooms next closer to escalator is better as you don't have to walk far to reach the lower ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast, we have noted as experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I visited Singapore for an examination and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I am very happy with the service i got. The room was very clean and tidy though smallish for understandable reasons.
I requested for a room with a window and I got it although I never opened it.It was very quiet and you can do your reading if needed without any disturbance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They responded very quickly when i needed help. The hotel serves breakfast and that is done very well.
The hotel is very conveniently located to local eateries and public transport is close by.
Overall it was a nice pleasant stay. I would stay here if i visit Singapore again .

Room Tip: Make the reservation early and check in early..you have a selection then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made you stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive comment to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung,Indonesia
Level Contributor
514 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times in this hotel , this hotel suits our needs and budget, because we find that Hotel in Singapore often ridiculously expensive compared to other countries that we have visited.This hotel is easy to find , just walk from the Pagoda Street MRT exit , turn right.The lobby was coloured in red as well as the sofas.Check in was always easy and fast.The room was quite small, hard to walk when we put our luggage on the floor.Very basic room and amenities , with a bathroom the size of 1m+ x 1m+.Usually the price of the room is about $ 80-100 per night with breakfast for 2 person.Location is superb, near to everything and in the middle of Chinatown area.Staffs and Front desk are polite and helpful , especially those pakciks running the resto for breakfast.Breakfast ,well , for us its delicious , and buffet ,altough its short of choices.We definitely will come again , because in Singapore, this is one of the Value for money hotel, and we spend most of out time outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Clark Quey and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

the hotel very beautiful. near MRT (china town station) , comfortable, clean , bathroom is ok have a hot shower , dryer ,
the staff were very friendly and professional. and the hotel has free wifi internet is all around it is very good. value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fangpotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very nice place to stay in Singapore, 5 min walk from the China Town MRT station. What is worth mentioning is that, it was renovated from an old Peking Opera Theatre. Clean, quiet, but room is small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgeek1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

No problems with the staff, just the size and bathroom.

I did try the breakfast on the first day, not a good choice or standard so had a quick drink and went elsewhere.
First night I was woken up by the rubbish collectors outside in the early hours.
Rooms are so small that you find it hard to find a place to put your luggage. Hated the bathroom and the sliding door that did not close properly. My room was changed for another, only slightly bigger, but away from the dust cart noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I think all the rooms are of a small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that some of our rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby area which are very quiet and conducive, and can enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wi-fi service. Regarding the noise due to it's location situated in the heart of Chinatown can be a little bustling at night whilst it reflects the ambiance in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travelers like you, which we are sorry to hear that. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets. We also appreciate your feedback about the sliding door, we have since rectified this issue and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#174 of 312 in Singapore
345 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
662 reviews
Keong Saik Hotel
#117 of 312 in Singapore
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#248 of 312 in Singapore
244 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#271 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#124 of 312 in Singapore
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing