We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice place in SG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #141 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very nice place in SG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

the hotel very beautiful. near MRT (china town station) , comfortable, clean , bathroom is ok have a hot shower , dryer ,
the staff were very friendly and professional. and the hotel has free wifi internet is all around it is very good. value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fangpotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    494
    338
    89
    64
See reviews for
182
287
281
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

A very nice place to stay in Singapore, 5 min walk from the China Town MRT station. What is worth mentioning is that, it was renovated from an old Peking Opera Theatre. Clean, quiet, but room is small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgeek1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

No problems with the staff, just the size and bathroom.

I did try the breakfast on the first day, not a good choice or standard so had a quick drink and went elsewhere.
First night I was woken up by the rubbish collectors outside in the early hours.
Rooms are so small that you find it hard to find a place to put your luggage. Hated the bathroom and the sliding door that did not close properly. My room was changed for another, only slightly bigger, but away from the dust cart noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I think all the rooms are of a small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walker17_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that some of our rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby area which are very quiet and conducive, and can enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wi-fi service. Regarding the noise due to it's location situated in the heart of Chinatown can be a little bustling at night whilst it reflects the ambiance in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travelers like you, which we are sorry to hear that. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets. We also appreciate your feedback about the sliding door, we have since rectified this issue and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue improve.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The design of the hotel is very unique. We chose to stay there for that as well as the location. It's value for money in my opinion. The breakfast buffet was satisfactory. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The rooms were always clean. The location is very convenient. Restaurants and convenience store all around as well as a hawker's market and night market. Public transportation is within walking distance.

- Tourist information center/ticketing office is conveniently located at the square beside the Buddha relic temple. Their tickets are usually discounted so better buy there before going to the tourist sites. No lines.
- Hawkers market to go to are at the 2nd floor of the chinatown complex, which is the nearest to the hotel, and maxwell food center (southwest of the Buddha relic temple)
- It's a 20-30 minute walk away from Marina Bay. Take a stroll at night and enjoy the view. Singapore's safe anyway. Lau Pa Sat hawkers market is on the way to the hotel from Marina Bay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have less noise. The night market on Smith street was under renovation when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Clark Quey and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent staff with good follow-through on details. Rooms are small but unless you plan to throw a party they work well: compact, clean, many with balconies. Try for third floor for less street noise, which is not loud considering the night market is down on the street. Building very interesting as it was once a Chinese Opera house. Overlook the tatty red carpet in the entrance, it is not representative of overall quality. Beds very good, breakfast very bad.

Room Tip: Didn't see all rooms so cannot specify. The singles are tiny. Standard rooms do not have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 33nora707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms are tiny but clean, the only problem is with sound isolation - I don't mind this usually but in this case there really is none. BUT, we kind of anticipated that from the other reviews and the room size don't matter at all if you just sleep there and your stay is short (as in Singapore it usually is).

The breakfast...unfortunately that part is quite bad. I don't have problem with simple breakfasts but in this case, the best part was making a toast with butter & marmelade. Beans tasted like the ones you get at supermarket from cans and sausage similar quality on 2nd day(on 1st day it was a bit better, some different kind). The mashed eggs on 1st morning were fine, but there were none on 2nd morning, just whole cooked eggs.

Juice was fine at least.

The location is very good though, not necessarily the exact location in busy chinatown street, but overall being so close to MRT and center of Singapore is great, considering the price of hotel.

The staff was friendly and ready to help - infact, the problem was sometimes they were too friendly :D After my question, a guy was Insisting he will show me personally the electricity socket will work with EU plugs, even girlfriend was sleeping in the room and I said no thanks I'll trust you - but the guy insisted to come into my room and show me personally lol. It was a bit awkward and funny at the same time, so I don't really take it as negative, but some people might mind. I took is at "cultural differences" :)

So overall, I would say don't be discouraged by the cons and book this hotel if you value relative comfort / modern looking rooms, being close to the centre / MRT and getting it all for a very reasonable price. Don't expect anything from the breakfasts / room size / sound isolation and you won't be discouraged for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PavelLangweil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made you stay memorable. We strive constantly to improve our service and have counseled our staff to take note and find out how to address the needs of our guests. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is great just 1 min form Subway, markets, and foodcourt, the old theatre setting is amazing all dressed in red, rooms are small but comfortable and clean and breakfast is friendly although coffee has room for much improvement to meet my taste.

The only issue is due to the old building type and windows not really blocking noise : on the street side, they are garbage collection every other night and it can be quite noisy so You can ask for quiet room at check in !

I had to ask for late check-out to 2pm and was told by the satff that after 1pm it would be charged 10$, finally, the manager informed me that it was accepted FOC. Great client service !

Overall great experience and good value for this charming theatral hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XDP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We recognize the streets in Chinatown tend to be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambiance in Chinatown, it can be troubling for travelers. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#170 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#253 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#112 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#197 of 309 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and ACCOR so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing