We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #142 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Great location and friendly service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I was there for business and was looking for an inexpensive hotel near an MRT station. The staff at the reception were very helpful. I did have trouble adapting to the incredibly tiny room though. I kept referring to it as a hole in the wall as it actually resembled one. Not recommended if you're thinking of sharing a room with someone, however it is a great place to stay for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will definitely share your positive feedback to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    503
    342
    93
    64
See reviews for
184
291
289
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good staying in Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The design was really unique, a fresh look. The staffs were friendly. Did request for early check-in at 7am instead of the normal check-in timing at 2pm, surprisingly I got the room at 7am and had no extra charge.

The room was small but it's standard, comfortable to stay with.

The only issue was the noise proof somehow poor as quite some noise can be heard in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarvardSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is In a great location with a reasonable price. The room size leaves much to be desired. My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights and probably would not have done well for a longer period of time. We could not pass each other between the bed and bathroom and the room was so small we had little room for our luggage even adding another obstacle to our paths. While the location is great it is also noisy. There is a karaoke bar next door. My biggest issue was that the rooms were so close together I would jump out of sleep every time a neighbor came in or out because it sounded like they were opening OUR door. Breakfast was downstairs in the morning. Fresh watermelon and pineapple, two kinds of cereal, toast, beans, meats and hard boiled eggs, decent. The tea was great. I wouldn't recommend sharing a room if you plan to stay longer than a weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkc532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to know that you like our hotel's location and that made your stay memorable.

We recognize that some of our rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby area which are very quiet and conducive, and can enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wi-fi service. Regarding the noise due to it's location situated in the heart of Chinatown can be a little bustling at night whilst it reflects the ambiance in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travelers like you, which we are sorry to hear that. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

However, this hotel may not be preferred by all travelers, we do have other hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel East Coast or Santa Grand Hotel Bugis that you may consider on your next Singapore trip.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Santa Grand Lai Chun Yuen is a small hotel in the middle of China Town of Singapore - so if you are a tourist with limited budget and time, this is a good place. But mind you do not bring much baggage with you, because if you want to keep them in your room there isn't going to be much space for you. The rooms with windows, although at a premium, gives interesting view into the alley ways and the way of life of China Town. The complimentary breakfast is not something worth writing home about. The service and attitude of the staff are just like in most other Singaporean hotels - friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Choose one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appanicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Clark Quey and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLG
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you need litteraly bed and breakfast this hotel is exacly what you need. Tiny rooms and tiny bathroom so you can seat on a toilet while taking a shower and use a hair dryer. But it have a good location. In a center of China town. So you can easily buy something chinese such as tea. Underground station is hearby. But you should take a walk cause Singapore is beautiful. By my side it is expensive for such a small room. But it's a Singapore, not a cheapest city in the world. Oh, and be prepare for chinese karaoke on the other side of street. If you want to have a deep relax you'd better not take a street view room.

Room Tip: Don't take a street view room. Unless you know Chinese language and love karaoke after midnight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We recognize the streets in Chinatown tend to be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambiance in Chinatown, it can be troubling for travelers. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good location, right in the middle of Chinatown. Just 2 minutes walk from the "Chinatown MRT" and a station away from Clarke Quay.

If you considering to get cheap souvenir, it's either from Chinatown or Bugis. The stalls in Chinatown open in the afternoon. Besides, I noticed that the restaurants in Chinatown is more expensive compare to those operating in BUGIS.


I stayed here for 3 nights and was given a room without balcony / window. The room is small but presentable.

I do have few things to comments:
1. Why the bed in between wall? You can't even stretch out your legs if you are 180CM tall!! Further, the wall separate the aircond and bed.... the air don't blow directly to your bed.

2. Matress is hard. Not many TV channels to watch and the TV satellite reception is not very good.

3. Internet connection at 1st floor not stable and disconnected for no reason.

4. You have to walk side-way to use the toilet bowl / shower!! You'll know what I mean when you use the bathroom.


Things I like about this hotel:

1. Free complimentary breakfast.

2. The staffs in Bar 25 super friendly and helpful. Although the breakfast choices almost the same, the food taste good.

3. The lobby is impressive. I love the setting and music so much!!

4. Full day complimentary tea and coffee serve on every floor, but you have to get it outside of the room. There is no kettle provided inside your room.



Others things to take note :

Basically, this is just a hotel, no swimming pool / gym... just a place for you to sleep.

The hotel is situated in the middle of the night market and the walls are not sound proof. I tend to hear alot of noises coming from the corridor / cars honking outside. Although is not loud, but still beware of the noise. You may want to ask for room at higher floor and not facing the main road.

There is limited seat in the Bar 25, you may want to grab your breakfast before 9am.

Room Tip: Ask for room at higher floor and not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lero_Lero_Lero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you like the hotel’s location and convenience in Chinatown, and the opera-theme decorations. We also recognize some shortcomings in our facility that you have mentioned, and it has attracted our management’s attention. We have taken immediate action to correct some of the areas to improve and will continue to monitor the situation. Such feedback like yours will drive us to do better.

The streets in Chinatown tend to be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in Chinatown, it can be troubling for travellers like you, which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A great hotel for its price. It's located in the middle of Chinatown, super close to the MRT station and some other bus stops, which is really convenient. There's also the Chinatown food street right next to the hotel.

The hotel used to be a chinese opera, and the decorations are really cool, bearing the Chinese atmosphere around.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The only drawback is that the bathroom is a bit small, the room is not so small as some people say. Remember to get a room with windows if available.

Overall, a pleasant trip.

Room Tip: Remember to get a room with windows if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phanhavba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Indeed, our location are easily accessible with MRT, Clark Quey and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely glad to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay a pleasant and memorable. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#172 of 312 in Singapore
346 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#259 of 312 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#272 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#119 of 312 in Singapore
245 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#197 of 312 in Singapore
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing