We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget accomodation...great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #162 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Good experience...cool looking hotel. Rooms are small but functional and clean. A little annoying that the bathroom doesnt have an enclosed shower...gets the entire bathroom wet. Also the bath gel dispenser was empty. But thesr are minor issues. Overall good marks for the price

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we have since rectified the issue that you mentioned. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us here. Hope it won't be long to see you again!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Room would be a little bit small but the bed is comfortable. some plugs on the wall is universal so you don't need to bring an adapter if you only need to charge your device in your room. It is in the heart of Chinatown so it makes traveler easy to reach sight attractions in a short transpotation time. Air conditioner is good and cool the room quickly when you come back to hotel. The shower has very hot water with bodysoap and shampoo. There are free coffee and tea in the corner of your room. Luggage can be stored at the reception for free after checking out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayxchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We gladly noted that the services and facilities of our hotel corresponded to your expectations and that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a strange hotel. We stayed for 5 nights and I hate some things and love others. Would I come back to it? If budget allows, I would not. However if I was short of cash I would.

The building is very interesting. An old chinese opera theatre where the lobby and common areas are fantastic.

The location couldn't be better. In the heart of Chinatown on Temple St and about 100m from the Chinatown MRT station

As many reviewers note, the rooms are quite small. I would add that if you are familiar with Parisian hotels around the Place de l'Etoile, they are no smaller. If you just use the room to sleep in, it's ok, but they are very small.

The breakfast is very limited and basic and the coffee is lousy (although this is a general problem in Singapore). You may chose to go to the Smith Street food court

The main problem is the noise. The very advantage of it's location is also the problem. This is a very noisy area, especially at weekends. Not much point in going to bed before midnight as you will be kept awake by the noise from the street. It does calm down afterwards but there is no such thing as complete silence. If you are a fussy sleeper I would strongly recommend you don't stay here. If you are the type that sleeps through anything, you will probably value the positives.

Given the general prices in Singapore, a price below €100 per night in such a privileged place is great, but be clear, you gets what you pays for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and really appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our facilities and services consistently.

We recognize that some of our rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and could enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and wifi service.

As regards the noise, the street in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night while it reflect the ambiance and unique in this heritage area. Immersing ourselves in the heart of Chinatown will inevitably bring some noise and it can be troubling for some guests. Hence, our standard practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets and subject to the room availability.

However, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen may not be preferred by all the travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast that you may want to consider for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Managment Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautifully restored former opera theatre , internally renovated with theatrical brilliance, set in the bustling heart of Chinatown.The central lobby is one to behold, while the rooms are similarly designed with a sense of real artistic flair.
We were in a " superior queen room ", with an external window overlooking the busy street below.The bathroom is this cute tiny module thing, raised about 160mm off the floor level.There is little protection between the shower and the rest of the room , so water spreads over the floor when you have a shower.Air exhaust is minimal, so steam and bathroom odours easily penetrate your tiny room.The hard bed was wedged between 3 walls, so you had to climb into bed from the foot end.The remaining furniture consist of dolls size wardrobe and writing desk.
But the real problem is NOISE and lots of it, even wearing ear plugs the external street noise and ample noise from surrounding rooms made sleeping difficult.B/F is cheap and basic.

Room Tip: Visit this place, just don`t stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfriebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for noted some positive points of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and your valuable feedback.

We recognize the street in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night while it reflect the ambiance and unique in this heritage area. Immersing ourselves in the heart of Chinatown will inevitably bring some noise and it can be troubling for some guests. Our standard practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets and subject to the room availability.

However, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen may not be preferred by all the travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast that you may want to consider for your next visit.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here. We hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Front Desk bit slow for checking in. Room is very small but I guess that is the price you have to pay for. Breakfast is just ok. Internet access is very good. Noise outside can be disturbing during sleeping hours (well this is Chinatown). Very accessible, near the mrt station which is the best thing. A lot of restaurants outside to choose from! Overall had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanon1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has been converted from a former Chinese Opera theater so tends to be dark (no windows) & the rooms a tiny but efficient "modules", immaculately clean. Since I was only there at night, to sleep, the small dark room was not a problem.

The location is absolutely perfect, in the center of Chinatown, one entrance opens on "food street", the other on Temple with important sites at each end (Buddah Tooth Temple & the big Hindu temple). The Hop-On/Off (HOHO) buses (4 routes) & the MRT all stop at the end of the block & the subway is only another block away. The Chinatown night market is only steps away. Something is always happening just outside the door, yet the hotel is perfectly quiet inside.

As an older solo, female traveler, I am very concerned about security & it was safe to walk around this area at anytime, even late at night. The staff was friendly & very helpful, with pretty good English skills. The included breakfast buffet was OK tho uninspiring.

Overall I loved staying in such a vibrant area, in a very clean, comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you really need a window ask for one on the outside wall---it did appear that those across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titamargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for both leisure or business travelers and everything are just within walking distance! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The worst sleep ever!!Very thin walls so you hear everything. Construction in the rooms opposite and the room staff have very loud radios to talk (or shout) to each other early in the morning just outside your door for lengthy amounts of time...unbelievable!!

Room Tip: I wonder how many of the rooms actually have windows....!!! (I know this is normal in SIN/HK etc. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roestimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and regret with any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your feedback and we have since adjusted our practices for the reminder of the construction worker to minimize disruption to guests as well as the repairing work hours which only allowed to be start from noon.

We also recognize that some of our rooms are small and some are without window. However, guest can state their preference during their booking and we will try our best to accede to their request. Guest who prefer room with window, Deluxe room type would be our recommendation.

While Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen might not be preferred by all travelers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse needs of the guests.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#187 of 317 in Singapore
359 reviews
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#267 of 317 in Singapore
386 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#93 of 317 in Singapore
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#283 of 317 in Singapore
207 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#127 of 317 in Singapore
1,035 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#149 of 317 in Singapore
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street | Chinatown, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $59 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing