We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #157 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Front Desk bit slow for checking in. Room is very small but I guess that is the price you have to pay for. Breakfast is just ok. Internet access is very good. Noise outside can be disturbing during sleeping hours (well this is Chinatown). Very accessible, near the mrt station which is the best thing. A lot of restaurants outside to choose from! Overall had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emanon1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel has been converted from a former Chinese Opera theater so tends to be dark (no windows) & the rooms a tiny but efficient "modules", immaculately clean. Since I was only there at night, to sleep, the small dark room was not a problem.

The location is absolutely perfect, in the center of Chinatown, one entrance opens on "food street", the other on Temple with important sites at each end (Buddah Tooth Temple & the big Hindu temple). The Hop-On/Off (HOHO) buses (4 routes) & the MRT all stop at the end of the block & the subway is only another block away. The Chinatown night market is only steps away. Something is always happening just outside the door, yet the hotel is perfectly quiet inside.

As an older solo, female traveler, I am very concerned about security & it was safe to walk around this area at anytime, even late at night. The staff was friendly & very helpful, with pretty good English skills. The included breakfast buffet was OK tho uninspiring.

Overall I loved staying in such a vibrant area, in a very clean, comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: If you really need a window ask for one on the outside wall---it did appear that those across the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titamargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for both leisure or business travelers and everything are just within walking distance! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The worst sleep ever!!Very thin walls so you hear everything. Construction in the rooms opposite and the room staff have very loud radios to talk (or shout) to each other early in the morning just outside your door for lengthy amounts of time...unbelievable!!

Room Tip: I wonder how many of the rooms actually have windows....!!! (I know this is normal in SIN/HK etc. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roestimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and regret with any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your feedback and we have since adjusted our practices for the reminder of the construction worker to minimize disruption to guests as well as the repairing work hours which only allowed to be start from noon.

We also recognize that some of our rooms are small and some are without window. However, guest can state their preference during their booking and we will try our best to accede to their request. Guest who prefer room with window, Deluxe room type would be our recommendation.

While Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen might not be preferred by all travelers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse needs of the guests.

Thank you again for your constructive feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rooms are small but great location,
Very close to MRT so can get from airport to hotel by train for only $6 approx.
Woudnt recommend paying more for bigger room as there is not much in it.
Staff are great and breakfast is quite nice.
Just get there before the rush as setting is limmited.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaguyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for both leisure or business travelers as is easily accessible with MRT , and attractions just a stone throw away. We gladly noted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I visit Singapore almost every month, if the price offer is good in Agoda, i usualy book this Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. Rooms are a bit small but Great Locations and Very nice friendly Helpful staff. Many nice foods, good shopping, neare to Train stations.....etc.

Room Tip: Good Room. um...... I've stay few different room. all rooms are ok jst that it's a bit small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveUsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our hotel location is perfect for both leisure travelers and food lovers as everything are just within walking distance!

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This accommodation had a beautiful atmosphere - the plush red carpets and entrance made you feel like a celebrity every time you entered. The staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating swell.
It was a great location right in the centre of China town - this added even more to the atmosphere but excess noise was not an issue - I slept better here than anywhere else on my holiday. Although I was amongst the touristy markets etc I loved the fact that I was still close to the locals and their eateries and shops as well - as i was on a tight budget I managed to get some amazing meals.
The rooms were not huge but plenty big enough - an odd shape but to me that added to character. I think I may have been upgraded as well. They were kept extremely clean and the "china opera" feel was continued throughout.
The rooms did not have there own fridge or kettle but hot water (tea/coffee etc) was available on each level - I think Australians assume fridges/kettles come as standard in rooms but I think this might not be the case overseas. Buying food out was so affordable anyway.
Breakfast was included - buffet style - cereal, toast, eggs, beans sausages and beautiful fresh fruit. The staff were so friendly and welcoming - they brightened my day every morning!!
Would highly recommend the Santa Grand Lai Chun Yeun - I will definately stay there again.

Thank you!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: standing on your own balcony looking down on the market stores and red lanterns hanging in the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzimayabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and recommending us! We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We also gladly noted that our location, interiors and facilities corresponded to your expectation.

Once again, thank your for sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we only spend one night in singapore, so I need a quality hotel to make sure we have a nice refreshing rest. the location is great, with MRT station, souvenir shops and food stalls reachable by foot.
the room is really nice, although i found mine leaked with rain drops. the interior is not for every one, but i have no complaints.
i wish the breakfast could be better, given it's a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed a pleasant stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service. Experience of our guests' is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our facilities and services consistently.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#177 of 319 in Singapore
354 reviews
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#273 of 319 in Singapore
381 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#233 of 319 in Singapore
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#285 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#133 of 319 in Singapore
590 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 319 in Singapore
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street | Chinatown, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $73 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing