We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to Celebrate Chinese New Year!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #159 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Location: Located at the heart of Chinatown, you can easily reach the hotel by bus or MRT. Very close to the shopping malls. Surrounded by shopping souvenir kiosk and restaurants. A perfect place to celebrate the Chinese New Year!
Eventhough the official address is on Trengganu St., the hotel entrance door is on Smith St. So, I have some difficulties to find the entrance door, especially when the celebration month of Chinese New Year started because so many people will hangout in Chinatown.

Lobby: Great design, Love the lamps! Decorated with Chinese Opera theme. So many tables and comfortable sofa. A perfect place to sit a while after going around Chinatown before going back to your room. Fully air-conditioned and super fast WiFi too. Love it!
The receptionists always standby and really friendly. Even when the hotel is full, they give some good advice where to stay in Chinatown. The staffs are really helpful when they show your room right after checking-in, and explain how to use everything in the room.

Room: I stayed with in a family room on the 2nd floor, the room is pretty small, but clean and neat/ Love the circular design of the ‘bed cave’!
Bathroom is quite good, cold and hot water, closet works well. But no tub, no curtain, and no lock for the bathroom door. So, it’s a bit uncomfortable and feeling insecure when taking a bath or pooping, even when people on the room are your family.
Unfortunately, no water heater in each room. But, it’s OK since the hotel provide a big water heater plus coffee, tea, sugar, and etc at the ‘mini cafe’ on each floor. You can make and drink as much as you want while surf the internet. Love the idea!

Rate: Worth on every dollar you spent! Great services! and the breakfast is included while many other more expensive hotels don’t give you breakfast. Love the breakfast sausages of BAR25. The staffs are really friendly and helpful, especially the old lady on the BAR25! Tell my compliments to her for her great service! Definitely will stay here again when travelling to Singapore!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ponyodesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and compliments! We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the ambience of Chinese New Year in Chinatown and pleased that the services and facilities of our hotel exceeded your expectations and that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us. We certainly will pass your recognition along to the team especially the staff at Bar25. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

It’s my 2nd time to visit this hotel. The front guy was still as helpful as before. I like this uncle, so informative. I got different room than before, this time it wasn’t dominantly red, so I can do some trivial reading in the room as it’s not so dark. The only thing that might decrease the comfort was the breakfast was so simple, and too many people in such a small place cause the breakfast area is for two hotels. If you’re not in hurry, maybe it’s be it’s better to try local breakfast in other places nearby. Despite of all, for the price we pay for the room, it’s more than we can expect

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banyulautan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our regular guest. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, we only serve simple continental breakfast to cater to a wide preference of our guests. This is generally quite acceptable to guests who can also have the option of eating along the food street to have a taste of the local Singapore hawker fare.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your continued patronage!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Loved the building which apparently is an old theater all red and wood panels, very cosy feeling.
Room was small but clean and nicely decorated and had a window overlooking the street.
Bathroom was small but newly renovated and clean.
Breakfast is included
Location is great, right in the middle of China Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tattooed_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and extremely pleased that you liked the opera-theatre interior and ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Convenient Location. Just 5 mins walk to the MRT station. Nearby Many asian restaurants. The mattress & pillow are comfortable. The design of the room is nice but the size is a little bit small. I can hear the noise very clearly from the next room when the guest was using the toilet. The light is too dark in the bathroom. I couldn't do my make up there. The music is a little loud in the corridor. The price is little bit high.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StellaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review and noted some postive points of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen.

Singapore is an expensive city, small rooms is quite common in Singapore while we do have larger rooms available. If a spacious room is a guest’s preference, we will try our best to accede to their request and we would be pleased to recommend the room types for our customers subject to room availability.

Thank you for all of your very comments and constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Santa Grand was great for the price. I asked for a room with a window which helped and loved looking out over China Town. I arrived early and the staff let me check in. Very prompt room service and reception very friendly. For solo traveller on a budget it was excellent choice. Easy walk to MRT station. Breakfast included a bonus. Would definitely stay again on short trips to Singapore. Yes the rooms are small but I got the deluxe balcony room and having windows opening on to street gave it more space. Nice hotel :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you liked the hotel location. As well, we are delighted to learn that our service standards exceeded your expectations and made an impressive mark on you.

Thank you again for taking the time writing us a review and we look forward to having you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location...Chinatown food street is just in front of the hotel
I like the music they play during the night, make me sleep faster :))

Friendly staff.
I got a nice orange juice as welcome drink.

Room is small but very clean, and nice decoration.
I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherry_Vo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location in Chinatown very close to the subway station.

We got a family room in two story, with absolutely no room for the luggage, we had to keep our suitcases in the stairs. The beds were comfortable. No window and the room was poorly lit.
Bathroom was clean and newly renovated.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was included. Not fantastic, but OK.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and compliments! We gladly noted that the services and facilities of our hotel corresponded to your expectations and that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us. We certainly will pass your recognition along to the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#187 of 317 in Singapore
356 reviews
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#274 of 317 in Singapore
382 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#128 of 317 in Singapore
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#221 of 317 in Singapore
257 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#283 of 317 in Singapore
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street | Chinatown, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $71 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing