We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't find any location better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #141 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“can't find any location better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

It’s my 2nd time to visit this hotel. The front guy was still as helpful as before. I like this uncle, so informative. I got different room than before, this time it wasn’t dominantly red, so I can do some trivial reading in the room as it’s not so dark. The only thing that might decrease the comfort was the breakfast was so simple, and too many people in such a small place cause the breakfast area is for two hotels. If you’re not in hurry, maybe it’s be it’s better to try local breakfast in other places nearby. Despite of all, for the price we pay for the room, it’s more than we can expect

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banyulautan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our regular guest. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, we only serve simple continental breakfast to cater to a wide preference of our guests. This is generally quite acceptable to guests who can also have the option of eating along the food street to have a taste of the local Singapore hawker fare.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your continued patronage!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    497
    340
    90
    64
See reviews for
182
290
285
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Loved the building which apparently is an old theater all red and wood panels, very cosy feeling.
Room was small but clean and nicely decorated and had a window overlooking the street.
Bathroom was small but newly renovated and clean.
Breakfast is included
Location is great, right in the middle of China Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tattooed_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and extremely pleased that you liked the opera-theatre interior and ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Convenient Location. Just 5 mins walk to the MRT station. Nearby Many asian restaurants. The mattress & pillow are comfortable. The design of the room is nice but the size is a little bit small. I can hear the noise very clearly from the next room when the guest was using the toilet. The light is too dark in the bathroom. I couldn't do my make up there. The music is a little loud in the corridor. The price is little bit high.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing us a review and noted some postive points of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen.

Singapore is an expensive city, small rooms is quite common in Singapore while we do have larger rooms available. If a spacious room is a guest’s preference, we will try our best to accede to their request and we would be pleased to recommend the room types for our customers subject to room availability.

Thank you for all of your very comments and constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Santa Grand was great for the price. I asked for a room with a window which helped and loved looking out over China Town. I arrived early and the staff let me check in. Very prompt room service and reception very friendly. For solo traveller on a budget it was excellent choice. Easy walk to MRT station. Breakfast included a bonus. Would definitely stay again on short trips to Singapore. Yes the rooms are small but I got the deluxe balcony room and having windows opening on to street gave it more space. Nice hotel :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you liked the hotel location. As well, we are delighted to learn that our service standards exceeded your expectations and made an impressive mark on you.

Thank you again for taking the time writing us a review and we look forward to having you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location...Chinatown food street is just in front of the hotel
I like the music they play during the night, make me sleep faster :))

Friendly staff.
I got a nice orange juice as welcome drink.

Room is small but very clean, and nice decoration.
I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry_Vo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good location in Chinatown very close to the subway station.

We got a family room in two story, with absolutely no room for the luggage, we had to keep our suitcases in the stairs. The beds were comfortable. No window and the room was poorly lit.
Bathroom was clean and newly renovated.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was included. Not fantastic, but OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGOhlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and compliments! We gladly noted that the services and facilities of our hotel corresponded to your expectations and that you have spent an enjoyable stay with us. We certainly will pass your recognition along to the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalian, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were here at the start of the Chinese New Year celebrations. We expected noise and we experienced it. Staff was extremely helpful and polite. 5 nights, lots to see and do, food just outside the door on the street, subway very near, shuttle bus from the airport (arrange this at the airport when you arrive). Small room but who cares. We use the room to sleep after exhausting ourselves about town and fall asleep watching BBC amid the celebrations outside. Breakfast included.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninesided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the ambience of Chinese New Year in Chinatown and pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. As well, we are delighted to learn that our service standards exceeded your expectations and made an impressive mark on you.

Thank you again for taking the time writing us a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Grand in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#165 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#255 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#81 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#109 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#268 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing