We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real chinatown style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #153 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have had a wonderfull time in this hotel. The rooms are small and clean!!! The breakfast is simple and good.
The hotel in in the middle of the crowded Chinatown, which is a haven for food lovers, nearby the Metro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a vieuw, because rhey have also rooms without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoniqueJM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is a perfect location for leisure travellers and food lovers. We are extremely pleased to know that you have a wonderful and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and hope it won't be long to see you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is located right in Chinatown and there are some little stores and food stalls as soon as you walk out. I was traveling with 2 other friends with a room each, I had the "best" room out of all 3 as my shower wasn't directly over the toilet. We had only spent the night as we had an 18 hour layover and so it did the job but if I were to stay longer than 2 nights I would suggest to look elsewhere as this room is very small and cramped.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Indeed, our hotel's location is perfect for leisure travellers and food lovers. We recognize that some of our rooms are small and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and enjoy our full day complimentary coffee, tea and free wi-fi service. However, if a spacious room is the guest preference, Deluxe room type will be our recommendation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the most weird and the worst hotel i've ever stay.. The room is like prison, AC made a noisy sound all the time, every day i have lack of sleep because my room facing the road which is there is a food street market that makes noise till late, the walls are so thin that you can hear everything from outside your room especially your neighbor room, the bathroom is even worst, it's a nightmare! There is no hot water every morning! Staff are not helpful, you have to get your taxi by yourself even you ask them to get a taxi! Never get back to this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank delboy168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are dissapointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that some of the rooms size are small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee and tea and free wifi service. However, if a spacious room is a guest's preference, deluxe room type would be our recommendation. We also recognize the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear that. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets. We appreciate your feedback about the staff service, we have since counselled them and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve ourselves and serve our guests with a high standard of service.

Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen may not be preferred by all the travellers, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis and Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Location is this hotel's best asset. Located in the heart of Chinatown amidst all the action offering many restaurants and shops to choose from. It is in a noisy neighborhood so bring ear plugs and sleeping pills. The rooms are modern, basic, and quite small. The bathroom reeked of sewer gas at times. The WIFI signal is not very strong, I suggest going to the lobby to use it.
On the good side, the room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a free, mediocre breakfast buffet but I would skip that and walk down the street for some traditional Singaporean breakfast - Kaya toast and Kopi! The hotel is near the MRT, transportation is easily accessed. The area offers many food venues.

Room Tip: A room with a window = street noise, less sewer gas odor. A room with no window = sewer gas odor, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10sboysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are glad that you liked the hotel's location and the convenience. Indeed, it's easily accessible with MRT, shopping malls, Clark Quey and no doubt that Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen has a perfect location for leisure travellers.

However, we do have others Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast situated in other heritage area of Singapore to meet the diverse need of our customers. You may want to consider it for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Singapore is expensive for budget travelers like we are. But when you increase your budget and agree to spend 90 eur/night double room you expect good quality for the money. Well we did not get that in Santa Grand hotel. Room was very small compared with what we've seen in pictures. The sheet beds were clean and the AC was quite comfy as well: efficient and not annoying. But the balcony was the best thing about this room ( #311). However having a balcony to your room facing the Chinatown streets also brings the street noise. Be prepare to not being able to sleep before 01:00 am and waiting up at 6:00 am. Depends if you're a light sleeper or not.

The walls are so thin that you can hear everything from outside your room. The hallways are interesting decorated - the opera theme is quite appealing. But they could have done much much better.

Breakfast is an English breakfast wanna be but so so so far away still. Don't get excited about the included breakfast because it's simply not worth it.

The staff was not really helpful - when we have asked for indications to the train station or train ticket office we were put to wait an wait and wait forever and when we left they simply did not even try to stop us. Therefore don't expect much from the staff - don't search for advice on how to best enjoy the city. It's just a hotel!!! Eager to take your money and see you checking out.

Exception is the staff from the breakfast place which have been very nice with us. And the young lady serving at the bar - she was very nice with us as well.

All in one I don't feel I've got good value for the money. And it's less likely I would go there a second time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raluca_abuletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are dissapointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for travellers like you, which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

We appreciate your feedback about the staff service, we have since counselled them and it is through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with a better service level. As regards the breakfast, we serve simple continental breakfast to cater to a wide preference of our guests. This is generally quite acceptable to guests who can also have the option of eating along the food street to have a taste of the local Singapore hawker fare.

However, this hotel may not be preferred by all the travellers. We do hava other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse needs of customers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Upon arival there was no one to take my bags n boxes to the room so the Recetion Guy had to do it. It's not designed for guest with many bags as there is no lift. The room was small. The bathroom was small. No bedside tables. No fridge. It was a very very basic room. The room I had was on the street with the food stalls so the noise kept me awake until about 3am. No sooner got to sleep then the garbage truck went throught the street. The only good thing about this Hotel was the location - China Town.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go back to this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_Eds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are dissapointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that the hotel room size is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee and tea and free wifi service. The streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear that. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

However, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen may not be preferred by all the guest. We do have other Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis and Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Me and my wife stayed there this November 2012.
The hotel is exactly what we've expected based on the reviews and the Internet photos. It's very nice, simple and clean, it's tight but I guess you cannot expect something else in Chinatown. We had a Deluxe room and it was still tight so I can imagine what the standard rooms could be.
Other than that: very helpful staff, speak good English and do smile (something very important I can say).
Our room had an Air-con, a LCD TV, nice bathroom design and a small security box in the wardrobe. Also if you need they can store your bags down in the lobby.
The breakfast was simple but delicious.
Yes, Chinatown: noisy people down on the street till about 2 am, but when you're tired from the long sightseeing, you don't really pay attention to that:)
The location is great, very close to a MRT station and you could say it's fairly a walking distance from the downtown (Fulerton hotel, Marina Bay).
I would definitely recommend it to fellow travelers, young families (no kids for sure) and people who are in Singapore for the city, not for the hotel:)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vDechev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, it's easily accessible with MRT, shopping malls, Clark Quey and no doubt that Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen has a perfect location for leisure travellers.

However, we do have others Santa Grand hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast situated in other heritage area of Singapore to meet the diverse need of our customers. You may want to consider it for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#178 of 319 in Singapore
354 reviews
Chinatown
Jinshan Hotel
Jinshan Hotel
#272 of 319 in Singapore
381 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#233 of 319 in Singapore
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#285 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 1929
Hotel 1929
#135 of 319 in Singapore
590 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 319 in Singapore
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Address: 25 Trengganu Street | Chinatown, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $73 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing