We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've seen better, but overall pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #141 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I've seen better, but overall pleasant.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

There are two Santa grand on the same street so beware!!
Overall it's ok. Rooms and beds are really small, so share only with someone you care about.
Bathrooms a disaster, no edges for the shower so water everywhere all the time.
Internet did not workin the room for 2 days out of the three we where there. The guy at reception was very useful (not) trying to offer me a cable rather than checking wifi.

Room key never seemed to work, had to go down to reception every time.

Breakfast was VERY basic and if you go too late they run out of eggs.

They do not offer airport transport but are really close to MTR.

Area is eclectic and buzzing during weekends, with lots of eateries and lounges.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digulitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Manager Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to know that generally you had a pleasant stay.

Indeed, we do have two Santa Grand Hotels located in the heart of Chinatown and both hotels are just within a minute walking distance. However, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is converted from an opera theatre to a modern and unique opera-style designed hotel. While Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside. Both hotels have a very different character in order to meet the diverse need of customers and you may consider our Deluxe Room for your next visit, which is more spacious in size.

We appreciate your feedback about the Wifi and room key, we have since rectified it and take into a consideration of upgrading the system as well. It is through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve ourselves and serve our guests with a high standard of service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    503
    342
    94
    64
See reviews for
186
292
289
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Although the room is small, it contains necessary things. The only disatisfaction is that some rooms are quite noisy because of the shops nearby.
The services are good. I came to Singapore for the exam, and the hotel friendly lent me the pencils.
The location is also great. It just takes 5 minutes to reach the Chinatown metro station from the hotel.
The price is relatively reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Echolu5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Indeed, the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear that. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets and please do let front desk know about the issue for your next visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The room is very small room but good location that near mrt and restaurant. I stayed on the third floor that room do not have window but it is not problem for us because I visited another place for daylong. If you want to stay here for sleep only, it is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natchy_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have a comfortable & enjoyable stay with us. Indeed, our location is perfect for leisure travallers and food lover as well! Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great location. comfortable room , Friendly and concent staff.
compare with others hotel which in singapore i stay before. Its great!!!
Although it was just like bugject hotel.
I love the place and the room . it awasome

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susientan129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your complimetns! We are extremely pleased to know that you have a comfortable & enjoyable stay with us and glad that you liked the room and hotel's location. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Clean, friendly service, decent breakfast, room small but comfortable with all amenities . Location is right near mrt and many food and souvineir stalls, I got tailored shirts from Jerry whose tailors are right next to the hotel and am very happy with my 2 shirts

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zacfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

By Singapore standard, the price is reasonable, the location is great, inside lively Chinatown. Room comes with the necessary things one will need. Only thing, the room is quite small. If you don't mind the noise coming from the stalls outside Chinatown, it's not a problem. Anyway, the noise dies down by 11+pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pingtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Whilst the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Location is very convenient, hotel staffs are friendly & helpful, room is very clean but the air conditional is not working well, sweat when sleeping due to the beds are setting in a "hole" design. Deeply in love with the interior, so unique, will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaLooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team.

We appreciate your feedback about the air-condition, we have since rectified and made improvement. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#175 of 315 in Singapore
350 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#260 of 315 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#273 of 315 in Singapore
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
#126 of 315 in Singapore
247 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#86 of 315 in Singapore
673 reviews
Naumi Liora
#111 of 315 in Singapore
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing