We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$169
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$321
$200
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$275
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$215
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$165
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$200
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$798
$468
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$155
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveler rating
143
512
347
96
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
512
347
96
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood streetchinese opera housesmith streetgreat locationchinatown mrtheart of china townsingle roomrooms are smallnoisy at nightchinese new yearhotel is locatedbalconystallsconveniencehawkerasiaeateries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
881 - 886 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Clean, friendly service, decent breakfast, room small but comfortable with all amenities . Location is right near mrt and many food and souvineir stalls, I got tailored shirts from Jerry whose tailors are right next to the hotel and am very happy with my 2 shirts

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zacfinestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

By Singapore standard, the price is reasonable, the location is great, inside lively Chinatown. Room comes with the necessary things one will need. Only thing, the room is quite small. If you don't mind the noise coming from the stalls outside Chinatown, it's not a problem. Anyway, the noise dies down by 11+pm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pingtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Whilst the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to have you back with us soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Location is very convenient, hotel staffs are friendly & helpful, room is very clean but the air conditional is not working well, sweat when sleeping due to the beds are setting in a "hole" design. Deeply in love with the interior, so unique, will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeaLooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team.

We appreciate your feedback about the air-condition, we have since rectified and made improvement. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Before I booked this hotel, I had read a lot of comment. All said that the room was very small, but good location and good service. So, I booked a single room for five nights. Most of the single rooms do not have window, I requested a room with window, so they gave me a room on second floor but just above the restaurants on the street. It was super noisy as the restaurants open till 1am and they need to clean up afterwards. I requested to change a room on second day, they gave me a room on the ground floor, just besides the toilet. I had a feeling that this room was a disabled toilet before and with no window. I refused to change to this room, but they don't have any other rooms that with window and quieter. So, I need to extra SGD40 to upgrade to a deluxe room on 3rd floor. It is much better, even though it is still small. But with this amount of money, I am sure you can get a better room in other hotel.

And for the service, some of the staff are very helpful, but some of them are so rude. They will not help you with the lugguge even though they know that you need help. When I requested to change my room, one of the lady seemed very annoyed and did not want to change the room for me.

If you can accept SMALL room without window and you don't really care about the service, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen can be a choice. If not, please check another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911Mopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are dissapointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that some of the hotel rooms are small and without window, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee, tea and free wi-fi service. However, If a spacious room with window is a guest's preference, Deluxe room type would be our recommendation.

Indeed, the streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear that. However, our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets which we did. As well, we appreciate your feedback about the services, we have since counselled our front line employees and will continue focus on improving our service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Single bed room size is good for singapore. Hotel clean and tidy. The location is excellent 200 yards from Chinatown MRT. Only minor irritation was no soap in bathroom (everything else !) and also constant music in corridors and rooms make it not easy for rest during day. Would definately recommend and return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 44Mark63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is easily accessible with Mrt station, attractions and Chinatown food street is just right in front of our hotel which is perfect for food lovers.

We appreciate your feedback about the soap and the improvement will be put in place soon.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews