We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely, nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Ranked #143 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is decorated with the theme of traditional Chinese opera, for which I like it very much. The location is really good, it's only 5 mins' walk to the Chinatown MRT. Crew in the hotel are warm and helpful. Also, there's cafe and tea free of charge outside the room. The breakfast is okay for me(a little bit brief for some of you, I guess). Room here is small, while enough for me as a solo traveller. In addition, the lighting in the lobby is harmful to your eyes if reading newspapers. I'll stay here the next time I travel in Singapore.

Room Tip: If possible, demand a room with window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1530lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad that you liked our Opera-styled hotel designed.

At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your valuable feedback about the lighting in the lobby, we will look into the points that you raised personally and make the improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadivisor and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    494
    339
    89
    64
See reviews for
182
287
282
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The place its so perfect for vacation, near mrt , hawker food and souvenir shop, but the room was small and the breakfast doesnt variant.

the hotel people are friendly, and i dont have any difficulties when check in, also on the last day i can put my luggage in hotel so that i have extra couple hours to buy souvenir near hotel.

For extra tips tell the hotel you wanted to go to changi airport one day before youre depart so that the hotel call the airport to pick you up at the hotel, if you prefer bus than mrt

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakikisatrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliment. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee/tea and free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

It's an interesting hotel, lovely decoration and ambiance.
It's in a perfect location - good, cheap food all around the hotel, 5 mins walk to Chinatown MRT station, 10 minutes to Clarke Quay.
I was disappointed by the breakfast - buffet of cereal & fruit, toast, eggs, ham, beans, chicken, sausage. I expected at least some Asian dishes (congee?).
Staff were good - polite, friendly and helpful.
Wi-fi fast and reliable, good choice of channels on flat-screen wall-mounted tv.
Would go back.

Room Tip: My room ('Warrior') was small but OK as I was travelling alone. If you like space get a a su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciaobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your patronage at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us. At the Santa Grand Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and are sorry to hear that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. Your feedback will serve as a good basis for us to work on improving the offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The room I stayed is very small and have no window.
So it's good for bagpackers or people who are sleep only in hotel.
But the location is great!
Many things enjayeable in China town and easy to acces to Clock Qay and Raffles Place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seensunmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review.
We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee/tea and free WIFI.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

First impression was good. very nice location. But as soon as arrived there, bellboy (don't know exactly if he is bellboy. could be security) wasn't kind at all, (first time to feel wasting tip)
When I enter the room, Oh my god. How small room it is! And what made me surprised is that there was no soup!! How could the hotel(which is called 3 star hotel) not provide a soup?
Beside.... the room was absolutely noisy. I don't know what they did outside, I couldn't barely sleep!! Breakfast is just same as Backpackers hostel's. I don't want to go back this hotel. NEVER!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaonlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation during your stay. We agree that the bellhop’s service can be improved and we have since counselled him. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee and tea and wi-fi are available. You feedback on breakfast and soap will be considered.

The streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for travellers like you, which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location in Chinatown is great. Disappointing was the size of the room and the fact that there was no daylight on the room due to a lack of windows.
The breakfast was also very disappointing; very crowded, no room to sit, hardly anything decent to eat especiallialy when we went late. The only thing left was a good cup of coffee. I would not recommend it to my relatives. What I really liked about it was its history (formal Opera House) which was explained in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderenMieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review and your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay. Unfortunately, the hotel room is small, and to increase guest comfort, we would encourage guests to use the lobby and stage area which are very quiet and conducive, and full day complimentary coffee and tea and wi-fi are available. We appreciate your feedback and will be increasing the seating capacity for breakfast to cater for its popularity, and will consider adding the opening hours should there be a need.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the history told through our storyboards displayed in the hotel, bringing out the heritage of this opera theatre converted into a hotel.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Likes+
Free wifi, nice balcony, big bed, air condition, no stress, location

Negatives-
Not very clean, tired appearance overall, very limited breakfast, no enclosed shower

On arrival we were disappointed with how tired the hotel looked on the inside, dirty carpets and cleaning trollies on show. However, in the evening with the lighting the lobby area looks very nice and special. We were surprised how small our room was especially as we paid for a delux room with balcony. The balcony was very nice but the room was small. The king size mattress was full of springs and we were lucky that ours sprung in the right places:-). Apart from the bed there was not much space and very limited place to store your clothes if you are two people. The bathroom was a decent size however there was no shower curtain sectioning off the shower so the water goes everywhere. But with it being a warm climate it dries up quite quickly. We noticed that some rooms don't have a window so we felt quite lucky:-)
The location is very good and very close to the MRT train system and buses that go to popular destinations. There is a nice 'mens' bar across the street called Backstage which was friendly and nice to chill out on a night time. It is quite noisy in the hotel but you kind of expect that being in Chinatown.
The breakfast is not worth waking up for if you have had a late night:-). There are plenty of places around to eat at and Maxwell Food Court is nearby to get good local food at all times.
I would recommend this place for a short time stay. I stayed here 6 nights and the longer i stayed the more i forgot about the negatives. If the breakfast would improve then it would indeed be a good stop.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a window. Can highly recommend a room with a balcony. Room 320 is a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank your for taking the time to write a review of your recent stayed at Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. We are delighted to know you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We are pleased to hear that you liked our lobby designed, location and the room's balcony. We appreciate your feedback about the shower room and breakfast, we have taken your valueble feedback and made the improvements.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#168 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#252 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#83 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Chinatown
Keong Saik Hotel
Keong Saik Hotel
#108 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#269 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen

Property: Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Address: 25 Trengganu Street Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen, Singapore 058476, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Chinatown district, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is located within proximity to the city centre, local metro station and less than 20 minutes drive away from the Marina Bay Sands Integrated Resort, Orchard Road and Universal Studio. Featuring tastefully decorated accommodation named as the Warrior, Scholar and Majesty rooms, refurbished from the Historical Opera Theatre, Lai Chun Yuen each has its own distinctive flavour individually unique to Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen. The hotel's calm and peaceful concept of "Tranquillity amid the chaos" will immerse guest in an experience like no other. With a stage located at the second floor of the building, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen will stage live performances with the traditional Chinese orchestra and music as well as, an opera setting on display. Guests can feel free to experience the opera backdrop for an unforgettable stay at the hotel. As the hustle and bustle of Chinatown life is locked up away from them behind the closed hotel doors, guests will truly understand the true inner calm that lies within the four walls of Lai Chun Yuen. Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen is primed to bring tradition, history and culture with a modern twist to guest who wishes to get away with the modern day rooms and have a unique experience like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing