We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lest we forget..”

Reflections at Bukit Chandu
Ranked #117 of 805 things to do in Singapore
Attraction details
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lest we forget..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reflections at Bukit Chandu is both very sad and very uplifting at the same time. Such a moving story and so well told at the centre. It’s a beautifully restored villa looked after lovingly by a small team of staff who are clearly passionate about keeping the memories of what happened real and alive. And since hope for the future rests on not repeating the mistakes of the past I hope they are successful.

Nearby is the site of the Pasir Panjang Ridge battlefield which I can't believe they've renamed 'Kent Ridge' after some second rate royal who happened to visit it for a couple of hours in the 1950's. It should be called 'Adnan Ridge' or 'Malay Regiment Ridge' in memory of the brave men who fought to defend Singapore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank sahaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Even a pacifist can feel the pain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

War museums? Not my cup of tea, but this one is exceptional. Interactive. Absorbing dioramas and video presentations and helpful, friendly staff make this my favourite war museum in Singapore, and there are several, including the Battle Box, Changi Chapel plus the war cemeteries. Of course, this is history from the perspective of the victors, and jingoism inevitably raises its ugly head occasionally, particularly in its perhaps biased adulation of the 'bravery' of the Malay regiments. But, the horrors of war aside, there is little to glorify in when it comes to mass death. There is instead, so much to think about.
Well worth a look, either on a walk from Hort Park or on a visit to Kent Ridge Park. Situated in a lovely old mansion on Kent Ridge, it is a place of real reflection.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Borisbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Peaceful place for reflection...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Dropped by with my kids on a late Sunday morning before lunch. A very peaceful compound considering its violent history during the fall of Singapore. It's a good start to have my boys interested in Singapore history during WWII. They very fascinated by the multi media presentation detailing the fall of Singapore and the Battle that took place in the area. Nothing too heavy to bore young children with limited attention span. It's also a point of interest and repite from the heat if you are covering the Southern Ridge route.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaruTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“Excellent modern museum a must see in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I thought this museum was fascinating, my wife who is not interested in anything military was also moved by the harrowing personal stories portrayed here ( one of which is being made into a film). The museum uses modern video in novel ways to tell the story of the defence of Singapore and the actual house and area where the museum now stands. It also tells some sad personal stories eg the massacre of British hospital staff and patients when the Japanese army ransacked the hospital bayoneting everyone from staff,nurses, surgeons even people on the operating table then stole their watches etc. it tells other personal stories of Malay regiment soldiers who knew they were going to die yet stood their ground and fought the Japanese in hand to hand fighting and when wounded they were strung up by the japanese. This is the true story of the conflict it was brutal hand to hand fighting and the museum depicts this. The stories may bring you to tears.

We were shown around the museum by a guide who was very helpful and knowledgeable. The museum is air conditioned, which is a relief as it is up a gentle incline and some steps to get here. But well worth the walk, these men and women remembered here fought so we could all be free I think we owe it to them to make the journey and learn a little more about what they did.

In summary a fantastic modern museum that uses novel ways to entertain and inform definitely 100% worth a visit and it's on two dollars to get in.....bargain....we paid our two dollars each but gave a donation we valued this museum so much.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip to the past at Bukit Chandu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

As I walked into the compound, I immediately noticed a beautiful garden which has been well maintained. There were several bences shaded by mature trees and beautiful shrubs. As I scanned to the left I saw a pond and a two story colonial building which housed the interpretive museum. Just outside of the house there stood a monument of three figures that looks like Japanese soldiers. In the building, I saw displays of the original items as proof of what had transpired during the invasion. We watched a 7 minutes movie about how the Japanese had successfully invaded Bukit Chandu on Valentine day of 1942. There were couple of bicycle that looked like it has been worn but preserved on the display. In the next room was a bunker has been erected with a recorded reenactment from one of the scenes. There is a washroom in the facility and we were reminded to refrain from eating or drinking inside the museum. There is no cost to enter. I am so glad for this experience and it has made me reflect and appreciate at Bukit Chandu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Norad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reflections at Bukit Chandu also viewed

 

Been to Reflections at Bukit Chandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing