We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Mitraa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitraa Inn
Ranked #41 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked this after reading the reviews on here but I have to say I was a little underwhelmed.

We stayed for 3 nights in a private 3 bed with shared bathroom.

Our room was small and basic with a bunk bed, the bunk bed was pretty rickety and hard to climb up!!

The bathroom was ok, ran out of loo roll a few times and was a bit gross sometimes.

There was a member of staff who I think was new but knew absolutely nothing so should have been supervised as it would have made our lives much easier!!

The breakfast was very basic- tea, coffee, banana and toast.

It was quite pricey for what we got to be honest. We have stayed in places 5 times cheaper with better facilities but this is good if you want something basic.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzib123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    126
    34
    7
    7
See reviews for
108
23
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Location: Fantastic, very close to MRT

Staff: Very Helpful and Friendly

Rooms: Very Neat and Clean

Good for youngsters as my son with his friends went to Singapore after their year 12 exams. I recommended this place to stay for he and his friends which they gladly accepted and thank me after their return

Booked Mix Dorm of 4 and paid for four though they were only three of them.

They wanted to check-out early but were unable to get refund for last night as staff told them, it's very difficult. That was a only negative point

Will highly recommend to young students and budget travellers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our first backpacking holiday in Singapore was very short, 3 days. With affordable price, we got a neat-comfortable place to sleep in this hostel also with breakfast. The strategic location near Farrer Park Station made us easier to go anywhere with MRT and also just a stone's away from bus station. The staff are friendly. I asked tons of questions via email and they replied promptly and it's very helpful. A lot of restaurants near the hostel so we could walk and enjoyed the Indian meals. So over all, the hostel is very recommended for all travelers. You can enjoy the togetherness at the common room and have a breakfast together with the others and suddenly .. you can make friends as much as I do lol

Room Tip: 1st floor room will be nice for family trip with private bathroom of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narschika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We visited Singapore after 15 years and given the expensive hotel options and our hectic sightseeing we opted for Mitraa Inn based on TA reviews. I have given below my review based on 5 nights stay.

Location : Its bang on Serangoon Road just behind a bus stop. We took a taxi from airport (S$ 18.70), which for three of us was most economical & comfortable option. Serangoon Road is one way so you pass through Little India, Farrer Park MRT and its bang behind a small bus stop, between two hindu temples, after a petrol pump. Farrer Park is 7-10 min walk. Fairly convenient, specially with a 24 hours convenience store on the way. There are few restaurants serving muslim, as well as South Indian food (incl MTR) close by. This hostel (not hotel) has a very small entrance and a small room which serves as lobby, reception, internet room etc.They do store on beers, soft drinks, water etc very basic stuff near reception but no room service.

Hotel : Check-in was smooth - Sebastian was very helpful. We had opted for a 3 bed private room which had a double bed & a single bunk bed. Only bed cover, pillow & a thin sheet is provided. But big relief is - a lift, even if its 2nd floor. Room was basic and tiny without any other amenities (except small wooden cupboard, table & 2 stools) but had good natural light (window opening in back ally) & aircon. Room has access control mechanism, which is convenient and you definitely feel safe. On our floor there were around 15+ beds with two bathrooms & two western toilets. Some rooms come with attached toilets.

B'fast was included & like other hostels there is unlimited supply of bread, boiled eggs, tea, coffee, preserves & a fruit. Boarders have to help themselves to toaster, food & clear plates and wash their cups. The pantry room is very small so if you happen to go during peak hours one had to search for seating place.

We were travelling fairly light so we used their washing machine & dryer facility (S$5 each) which was a bit expensive for self service as per Indian standard but very convenient.

What we liked:
- very good customer service at reception. The lady in pantry was always smiling and trying to have dialogue with travellers. When my wife was operating the dryer, it swallowed one coin extra, no-one was around at that point but on complaining at reception, Sriram did open the machine and returned our money back, frankly had lost hope on that,
- fairly Value for Money option based on location, price & clean environment.
- Bed & aircon is of good quality, after a long day out walking we used to sleep like babies
- Shopholic Indians will love 10 minutes walk to Mustafa, which is open 24 hrs and has one of the best rate Forex shop

What we didn't like
- In evening you have to cross two bars, in same block. They are deserted during day but late evening there was buzz with somewhat seedy looks. To be fair to the hotel, we felt a bit uncomfortable late night with a teenage daughter but never insecure, as most nights we reached between 10 pm & mid-night.
- My Travel adapter was not working and I couldn't get one to suit Indian plugs nearby so I had to borrow for S$1 which was a bit outrageous when it could have costed S$ 2 - 3 max.
- Although toilets were cleaned daily, but thanks to individuals who do not care for their fellow travelers, they used to stink at times. Lift does have a damp smell, as mentioned in some previous reviews

Verdict:
Pl don't get me wrong, we didn't regret staying here as we spent the saved money in expensive entry fees, but being used to more comforts in life so one may miss on the pampering in a 'hostel' environment. This is a small, efficiently run set up and if I had more money allocated for hotel stay, I would prefer a hotel option. My ratings are keeping in mind the rate charged and facilities expected accordingly.

Advice:
- Who can Stay here - if you are travelling alone or in a group and are not very fussy on sharing your b'fast table, common toilet, same b'fast menu and/or want to save money in hotel stay.
- Who can Avoid - honeymooners, families with very young children
- Dhoby Ghaut is the most accessible MRT (junction with 3 diff lines) any hotels close to it will be convenient if you are on go all the time
- Being a hardcore foodie, I would love to stay close to Chinatown MRT with Chinatown Complex and Maxwell Centre hawker centres two of cheap local food options close by

Room Tip: If travelling as family/friend, attached toilet option is convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We learned about Mitraa from a co-traveler we met at the airport. They recommended this place to us and so we read a few of its review then decided to take a look of this place. We instantly liked the place when we arrived, well, because Jonahs (the staff who received us) was very accommodating. We are very particular about the ambiance in choosing a place to stay, here in Mitraa we find it wholesome and decent (a great place to stay for families, couples, business and even if you're traveling solo). The toilet and bath are clean (you don't get that stinky smell which is a turn-off from other hostels). Although this is a budget hotel, we got more than what we expected. We will definitely recommend this to our friends because of the following: 1. Great location - walking distance to MRT and Mustafa 24-hour shopping 2. Clean and well kept hotel facilities 3. Very good wifi connection 4. And lastly, Great customer service - the staffs were great - Jonahs and Angel gave us travel tips, and even helped us book our bus for Malaysia travel. Indeed, Mitraa was a great place to stay, its just like home! We really enjoyed our Singapore trip not only for the place but also for the warm people we meet. We will definitely stay in Mitraa on our next Singapore travel :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank analyn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

First time to SG, my tour guide recommend this great inn. So we choose it. I enjoy the cozy room & pantry. The toilet & bathroom always cleaned up. The wifi also great. Overall the facility & the staff's kindness are beyond expectation.
Stay 3 days here just like a second home ^_^ Hope i can go there again soon :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Iqbal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

All in all ok.
Bathrooms were tidy enough.
Location was also good - next sub stn is just 500m away.
Breakfast is comparable to other low budget hotels. Though I didnt like fact every spread was served in big plastic bowl with one knife for everyone. I am not a drama queen, but it was a little messy and waiting times were long.
Bottom line: go for the place but insist on a room windows. I had a non window room. It wasnt possible to circulate fresh air. There was a constant smell like mould in the air. Apart from that it s a decent place!
Btw: singapore became my favourite metropolis in asia (i visited aleready BKK SEL TYO HKG SGN SHA)!

Helpful?
Thank Tarotogati
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 227 in Singapore
402 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#42 of 227 in Singapore
480 reviews
Fisher BnB
#3 of 227 in Singapore
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blanc Inn
#36 of 227 in Singapore
180 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Lotus Hostel
#23 of 227 in Singapore
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitraa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitraa Inn

Property: Mitraa Inn
Address: 531 Serangoon Road Mitraa Inn, Singapore 218163, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mitraa Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mitraa Inn is located in the rich cultural district of Little India, just 5 min's walk from Farrer Park MRT station. Guests have access to a common kitchenette, which has a microwave oven, fridge, toasters and hot/cold water dispenser. Simply furnished all rooms are fully air-conditioned. Bathrooms are both ensuite and shared, depending on the room type. For guests' convenience, the guest house provides a 24 hour internet corner with printing facilities and free Wi-Fi through out the hostel including the rooms. It also provides a tour desk & coin operated laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitraa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitraa Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing