We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good option!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sultan
Ranked #184 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good option!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel in a "last minute deal" and it was excellent. Great room and very nice staff. There are several options of restaurant close to the hotel (in the Arab street area) and it is easy to get to the main touristic places. The breakfast and a "cargo elevator" to the third floor were the negative points.

Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    126
    60
    18
    13
See reviews for
20
102
38
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days for the second time in 6 months and it is just as great as the first time. Fabulous service from the staff, included early checkin and late checkout, use of shower room as our flight left very late....great breakfast buffet...lovely room, comfy bed and pillows, great shower, honestly I could go on and on...The hotel is close to Lavender station, easy to get around on buses too. Highly recommended and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Sultan and really enjoyed. The room was basic, but clean, well furnished, and had everything we needed (comfortable large bed, locked safe, bathroom, hot shower, no bugs, water kettle, tea/coffee, security, nice ambience). The location was excellent - we were close enough to two train stops that are direct to the airport and pretty easy walking distance to the esplanade and raffles hotel area. We mostly took taxis and it was very cheap and quick to get around.

Breakfast was included and "ok." There was only coffee or tea - no lattes or anything fancy. Food is buffet and the options are good, but they make small quantities at a time so get it while you can. They will make more, but it takes a little while and you might not want to wait. Service at breakfast was minimal.

One point of caution though - few people know where this hotel is yet. Take the address with you and tell the taxi drivers that it's in the Arab Quarter - and then narrow it down when you get there. Otherwise we had cab drivers take us to a nearby mosque or refuse to take us or drive around in AQ just looking for the hotel. Heartache can be avoided by simply knowing a little bit more about the location yourself.

All in all - I'd definitely recommend staying here. It's by far the most reasonable hotel we looked at and it met our needs perfectly. Singapore is expensive and ritzy - I doubt you will find better than this in terms of cost for quality and proximity.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room - off the street and not near the bar/club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is charming - it is has been decorated around a Arab feel and being in the Arab quarter most appropriate. Our first room however, was near an entrance and just below the upstairs open entertainment area. It was really noisy. We asked to be moved and the hotel staff were accommodating and moved us to a room in the middle of the hotel. The rooms are tastefully decorated albeit small but that is Singapore. The upstairs bar was lovely although it was difficult to get a drink from the infrequent passing waiters. On Friday night it seemed like the hub for local office people and it became very noisy. I recall one guest complaining about the noise to reception and thought perhaps he had our original room just below the bar.
Breakfast was buffet style and once again it was difficult to get the attention of staff even though it was a small area. There was some disinterest in whether guest were attended to. The reception staff however were very friendly and accommodating. Overall the experience was positive and we would recommend this hotel. It is close to the MRT and about a 20min walk to the Mustafa Centre. We got a special deal which made this more hotel attractive as accommodation in Singapore is expensive and the rooms are small.

Room Tip: Don't get a room either side of the corridors as you can hear people come in and out through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronandSonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a single room which had a double bed. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The room was quite a bit more cramped than the photos of the single room on the web site, but it was perfectly fine for a mid priced stay in Singapore. The reality is that Singapore is an exciting country, so you shouldn't be spending loads of time in your hotel room any way!

The bad... The rain shower head in my room only part worked which meant the water was shooting out in a jet like fashion rather than rain shower. The hot water switch that other reviewers have mentioned seems to only provide a limited amount of hot water.

No power point in the bathroom, meant that you have to use the hair dryer in the bedroom, but no mirror in the bed room means you can't see what you are doing as you dry your hair.

The hotel is located next to a school and nearby mosque. This is great from a cultural experience point of view, but you will be woken by the early morning call to prayer, which you won't encounter in other areas in inner Singapore. The hotel has a nice jazz bar upstairs with a very relaxed vibe and mix of locals and ex-pats.

If I stayed here again, I'd upgrade to a bigger room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MapleInfusedAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I liked everything! charming nice hotel in Arab quarter, absolutely safe feeling, a lot of food nearby, supermarket and corner street restaurants, shops, massage and spa. about 7 mins walk from lavender that is direct line from the airport, 8-9 mins to bugis station and shopping mall. Actually easy walking distance to the raffles place and further city hall. The hotel is absolutely clean, well equipped, with it's own soul and everything is working well.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was quiet and nice, though we had no window on the wall - only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
パース, オーストラリア
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I think the hotel is suitable for the couple an single traveller however we ended up staying with our baby for some reason, I was a bit nervous because it was a first overseas trip for our baby but the hotel staff are so friendly and kind. Especially the female manager is just excellent. We also enjoyed Jazz night upstairs, it was a perfect for us to have a date night while our baby is sleeping.
Definetely we are going to stay for next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#139 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#140 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#96 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#97 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#135 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Hotel Re!
#127 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan

Property: The Sultan
Address: 101 Jalan Sultan #01-01 the Sultan, Singapore 199002, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sultan is a 64-room shop house style boutique hotel, nestled right in the heart of culturally vibrant Kampong Glam. Faithfully preserved and recreated from traditional Singaporean shop houses; The Sultan retains many beautiful architectural features that hark back to a time in Singapore’s past when Kampong Glam was a bustling shopping and trading district and shop houses were magnificently built with great arches and columns to be used by owners as both their personal residence and their place of business. The distinctive building which houses The Sultan’s main lobby is so prized for its historical and cultural relevance, and architectural beauty, that it has appeared on a 1996 Singapore postage stamp. At The Sultan, you won’t have to give up the perks of modern comforts and luxuries to get a taste of old world Singapore charm.Priding itself on good ol’ Singaporean hospitality, each and every single member of The Sultan family looks forward to making your stay one that is truly memorable. Be it a personalized walking tour through Kampong Glam, or just making sure you get your breakfast just the way you like it, The Sultan family hopes that you find in The Sultan a haven from the hustle and bustle, a refuge from the blazing Singapore heat, a home away from home.The Sultan boasts 64 hotel guest rooms, offering 8 different room types to cater to our guests’ different budgets and needs. No two room in The Sultan are exactly the same, spanning different visual themes, views and spatial set ups, giving our guests a little surprise each time they come back to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sultan Hotel Singapore
The Sultan Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing