We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sultan
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$169
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$321
$200
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$275
$245
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$215
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$165
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$200
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$798
$468
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$155
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$113
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveler rating
60
159
72
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
159
72
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattic roomarab quarterboutique hotelkampong glamhaji lanenorth bridge roadlovely little hotelthe ground floorshop housesgreat boutiquelavender mrtbreakfast was includedstreet noiselittle indiacoffee machinecheck in was quicktaxi stand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 329 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed in a single room which had a double bed. The room was clean and bed comfortable. The room was quite a bit more cramped than the photos of the single room on the web site, but it was perfectly fine for a mid priced stay in Singapore. The reality is that Singapore is an exciting country, so you shouldn't be spending loads of time in your hotel room any way!

The bad... The rain shower head in my room only part worked which meant the water was shooting out in a jet like fashion rather than rain shower. The hot water switch that other reviewers have mentioned seems to only provide a limited amount of hot water.

No power point in the bathroom, meant that you have to use the hair dryer in the bedroom, but no mirror in the bed room means you can't see what you are doing as you dry your hair.

The hotel is located next to a school and nearby mosque. This is great from a cultural experience point of view, but you will be woken by the early morning call to prayer, which you won't encounter in other areas in inner Singapore. The hotel has a nice jazz bar upstairs with a very relaxed vibe and mix of locals and ex-pats.

If I stayed here again, I'd upgrade to a bigger room.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank MapleInfusedAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I liked everything! charming nice hotel in Arab quarter, absolutely safe feeling, a lot of food nearby, supermarket and corner street restaurants, shops, massage and spa. about 7 mins walk from lavender that is direct line from the airport, 8-9 mins to bugis station and shopping mall. Actually easy walking distance to the raffles place and further city hall. The hotel is absolutely clean, well equipped, with it's own soul and everything is working well.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was quiet and nice, though we had no window on the wall - only in the ceiling. But I faced absolutely no problems with that.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I think the hotel is suitable for the couple an single traveller however we ended up staying with our baby for some reason, I was a bit nervous because it was a first overseas trip for our baby but the hotel staff are so friendly and kind. Especially the female manager is just excellent. We also enjoyed Jazz night upstairs, it was a perfect for us to have a date night while our baby is sleeping.
Definetely we are going to stay for next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kabachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is well located, with polite staff and a modern, quirky interior. The rooms are small with very firm beds, tidy ensuites and very little noise insulation. There are switches in the bedrooms that you have to turn on if you want hot water but despite having them switched on, there was no hot water for showers. We travelled as 2 couples and stayed here for 2 nights...we all agreed that the hotel was ok and a 3*, but none of us would stay again...there are just too many better options in Singapore.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pea6uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed with my partner at The Sultan for 3 nights, and we an awesome and a very comforting stay with friendly and accommodating staff and excellent customer service. The hotel is ideally located at a walking distance from MRT (train station) which connects you to the city in 5 minutes.

The rooms are not less than of any 5 star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a budget short stay. The staff is very friendly and can tell you about all the places to visit and see. They also have live music almost every night at the bar - which is an added attraction after a long day of running around in the city!

The hotel is also a short stroll to Singapore's best night food street :)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holidayfying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews