We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming convenient hotel”
Review of The Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sultan
Ranked #175 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“charming convenient hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I liked everything! charming nice hotel in Arab quarter, absolutely safe feeling, a lot of food nearby, supermarket and corner street restaurants, shops, massage and spa. about 7 mins walk from lavender that is direct line from the airport, 8-9 mins to bugis station and shopping mall. Actually easy walking distance to the raffles place and further city hall. The hotel is absolutely clean, well equipped, with it's own soul and everything is working well.

Room Tip: we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was quiet and nice, though we had no window on the wall - only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khenaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    131
    62
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
106
40
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
パース, オーストラリア
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I think the hotel is suitable for the couple an single traveller however we ended up staying with our baby for some reason, I was a bit nervous because it was a first overseas trip for our baby but the hotel staff are so friendly and kind. Especially the female manager is just excellent. We also enjoyed Jazz night upstairs, it was a perfect for us to have a date night while our baby is sleeping.
Definetely we are going to stay for next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kabachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is well located, with polite staff and a modern, quirky interior. The rooms are small with very firm beds, tidy ensuites and very little noise insulation. There are switches in the bedrooms that you have to turn on if you want hot water but despite having them switched on, there was no hot water for showers. We travelled as 2 couples and stayed here for 2 nights...we all agreed that the hotel was ok and a 3*, but none of us would stay again...there are just too many better options in Singapore.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pea6uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed with my partner at The Sultan for 3 nights, and we an awesome and a very comforting stay with friendly and accommodating staff and excellent customer service. The hotel is ideally located at a walking distance from MRT (train station) which connects you to the city in 5 minutes.

The rooms are not less than of any 5 star hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a budget short stay. The staff is very friendly and can tell you about all the places to visit and see. They also have live music almost every night at the bar - which is an added attraction after a long day of running around in the city!

The hotel is also a short stroll to Singapore's best night food street :)

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidayfying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Exactly what we always look for a Clean room, and excellent Customer Service and such a Comfortable place to stay! Yes, we were grateful that we found one which worth it all... My husband joint me on a last minute decision and was worried about the room upgrade availability. Upon arrival, without any hussels, the assertive receptionists did a great job, allowed my room was upgraded from a single to the Attic room type.
Upon reaching the room, the smart and beautiful room design made it a comfortable place to lay down and Zzzzzz.... regardless the size.
The staffs do practice Honesty, one incident is when some of my belongings left in the room, all were safely returned. Another one is when my husband left his mobile phone while we were already on our way to the airport, the hotel called to collect it. Keep up the honesty Guys!!!
The WIFI was excellent and so as other facilities such as the left luggages. Seriously, it is located in a centre of a super active areas, days and nights.
With all these good memories, we surely keep this in our must stay hotel in the future... A couple from Brunei Darussalam:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imas-HAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

An excellent place for short stays.

A new hotel from a shop house conversion (do not look at google street view, it looks nothing like that any more)

The Sultan is convenient for the airport (via Lavender MRT) and the Central City. It is 5 mins walk to/from Lavender MRT. However to base yourself at the Sultan you need to be willing to use public transport to get around the city - which is easy.

Good pricing for Singapore too.

Modern, clean and well appointed with very helpful staff. The roof bar and (Italian) restauarnt are not well populated - why would you when there are street restauarants all around serving excellent local food and cheap drink? The Indian (although not as Westerners would consider Indian food) next door is halal making this area a good place for Mulim guests (as one may expect from the name and area). 20m up the road is a steam boat hawker area - the food looked good.

The reason I say "short stay" is the size on the rooms. SMALL. But this is pointed out in the booking engines, so don't be surprised. Not a room I would like to spend a lot of waking time in. Free wifi works. TV and all amenites.

The other thing to note is that the usually super efficent Singapore MRT is considerably less so early on a Sunday am. Allow over 1 hour for 9 stops to the airport!

Yes, I would stop over here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of Lavender or Bugis MRTs. Lavender is on the direct route from Changi airport and it's a 5 to 10 minute walk to the hotel if you choose to travel to the hotel by train. Bugis is about a 15 minute walk. I had a single room which was small but clean and well appointed and certainly fine for a 3 night stay. The bed was comfortable and the room was well insulated from outside noise. The only issue I had was that the Wifi did not work in my room although the hotel staff, who were generally friendly and helpful, tried their best to resolve the problem but were not successful. I used the lobby Wifi instead. I recommend this hotel for short stays for those who want some security and comfort but do not want to pay the very high prices of Singapore hotels.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#138 of 312 in Singapore
183 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#135 of 312 in Singapore
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
833 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#92 of 312 in Singapore
805 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#132 of 312 in Singapore
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan

Property: The Sultan
Address: 101 Jalan Sultan #01-01 the Sultan, Singapore 199002, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sultan is a 64-room shop house style boutique hotel, nestled right in the heart of culturally vibrant Kampong Glam. Faithfully preserved and recreated from traditional Singaporean shop houses; The Sultan retains many beautiful architectural features that hark back to a time in Singapore’s past when Kampong Glam was a bustling shopping and trading district and shop houses were magnificently built with great arches and columns to be used by owners as both their personal residence and their place of business. The distinctive building which houses The Sultan’s main lobby is so prized for its historical and cultural relevance, and architectural beauty, that it has appeared on a 1996 Singapore postage stamp. At The Sultan, you won’t have to give up the perks of modern comforts and luxuries to get a taste of old world Singapore charm.Priding itself on good ol’ Singaporean hospitality, each and every single member of The Sultan family looks forward to making your stay one that is truly memorable. Be it a personalized walking tour through Kampong Glam, or just making sure you get your breakfast just the way you like it, The Sultan family hopes that you find in The Sultan a haven from the hustle and bustle, a refuge from the blazing Singapore heat, a home away from home.The Sultan boasts 64 hotel guest rooms, offering 8 different room types to cater to our guests’ different budgets and needs. No two room in The Sultan are exactly the same, spanning different visual themes, views and spatial set ups, giving our guests a little surprise each time they come back to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sultan Hotel Singapore
The Sultan Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing