We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise”
Review of The Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sultan
Ranked #176 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great unique little hotel in a similarly unique area of Singapore. Great location a short walk away from the CBD. The rooms were a little small, but they were modern and comfortable.
Staff were nice and courteous. Good cocktails in the bar but couldn't tell you how the food was. A good place to stay if you don't want to be spending your time in the CBD and want to be enjoying the cultural aspects of Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtchclt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    137
    66
    19
    15
See reviews for
26
113
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nerja, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I purchased a coupon from Travelzoo I had read the reviews so was not expecting such a nice place. Very pleased that the reviews are getting more positive as they deserve better.

The room was good although as others have said the wifi is pretty sketchy and yes the curtains were drawn not sure why as they faced an inner courtyard so privacy wasn't an issue.

The breakfast was more than adequate at 9.30am and when asked by guests it seemed to be no problem getting extra fruit, coffee etc.

We went for the complimentary drinks on the top terrace which was really nice and they had a well known Australian Jazz musician playing in their jazz lounge.

We were allowed late check out until 2pm at which time they placed our luggage in hold until we returned in the evening to go to the airport.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and informative and the restoration of the building and interior design was Moroccan themed, very tasteful.

We did not eat in their Italian restaurant however the food looked nice, right opposite they have a hawker restaurant called The Sultans kitchen serving all types of Asian food, great value.

Very close to Lavender Station only 2sgd from airport.

Will stay here again on our next trip n March.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jockeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just spent 2 nights here and realy enjoyed our stay,we had a Sultan room on the ground floor at the back and found it very comfortable and the shower was fantastic,the front desk staff were helpful and nice even at 3 am when we arrived after a delayed flight,breakfast was nothing special but adequate and the location was good,would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sandrac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

08-12 Oct 2012 - 4 nights in The Sultan. Top marks to staff - each and every one most amenable, courteous and helpful. Made very welcome. As this is a boutique our room (Sultan grade) not big, but big enough for this type of hotel. Air con is great. Plenty of wardrobe space for storing at least 1 large suitcase and 2 carry-on cases. Although our room was on ground at back of hotel which was on a street, very little road noise. Front rooms at hotel may be a little noisier. Hotel located in Arab or Muslim quarter - plenty of food varieties from which to choose. Located close to all major bus routes and metro stations, but easy enough to walk to nearby attractions, such as the Indian Quarter.

Room Tip: Rooms in back section are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in The Sultan for two nights at the end of a trip around Asia and it was a relief to feel like we were back to relative normality! The reception staff were really great and knowledgable and the room we had was great - really modern, clean, comfortable. The only thing that slightly (and only slightly) upset me is the breakfast which wasn't really worth having - I would have prefered to walk around the corner to a cafe to eat, which we did on the second morning, however, we got a really good deal so can't complain. Location is really good for all the sights as taxis can be hailed outside and are really cheap to everywhere around Singapore (including back to the airport and out to the zoo). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleighjBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you want to have great local food, have drinks at nice and lively bars in this area, then stay at The Sultan. the Location is great and friendly staff in the morning. The breakfast has been improved - as I heard from a mate which has been a regular there and the room is just great. Good for business traveler too. the only problem is if you stay in the room at the back, there might be noise of people hanging out at the back alley and on Thursday night - you will hear muslim students reciting beautiful Quran verses - not that I mind this.
Overall - great location, friendly people and exactly just what you need after a long day at work! Oh yeah, the Filipino lady in the morning serving breakfast might be a bit grumpy, but heck, she does a good job!

Room Tip: try to stay at the front side rather than at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SYEDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my second time staying here. The last time was an overnight in one of the small rooms. My stay this time was for 4 nights in the Sultan Room with a Queen Bed.
My late check in at around 12midnight was a breeze and was a little bit scared that my suitcase rolling down the walkway to the rooms might annoy some people, but I couldn't really help it.

Room: slightly small, but it's an ok layout - not the best with electrical plugs though. Bedside clock/ipod dock was kinda crap - it took forever to dock my iphone and the time wasn't even working (found it unplugged when i got into the room, so had to fiddle around with that for a bit). Bathroom is tiny (as was the last one I stayed in) and had to shift around a bit to get to do anything to avoid knocking into the door. Towels were also thinning out or ripping. In my last 2 nights, the waterbottles or bathroom amenities weren't replenished by housekeeping, but they were pretty good at everything else. The airconditioning is hard to manage, so my room was usually freezing and slightly damp... but that might have been my fault.

Internet: the Wifi was horrible. That's all I can say. Slow, hard to find and disconnects all the time. My phone couldn't even get the connection. Oh, and good luck trying to get 3G in the building (well, that's what wifi is for, but if that isn't working, then bad luck). Couldn't do the little bit of work that I wanted to in the room because the internet was so bad.

Another thing about this place is that there's no gym or swimming pool, so keep that in mind when booking and you want to actually have a workout during your stay.

Location: Good shops for amenities (ie. 7/11) nearby and streetfood. Cab stand across the road, but lots of cabs going past so they're easy to find. Everything is pretty easy to get to (well, that's Singapore). Nice historical sites as well.

I do appreciate converted buildings, but I think there's something more that needs to be done to make this place a notch better and more comfortable for guests. Won't be staying here again though until I read they've made those improvements. Oh and soundproof the rooms. The constant furniture moving/music from the bar is really annoying when recovering from a heavy night!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JauiPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#132 of 314 in Singapore
192 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#135 of 314 in Singapore
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Hotel
#129 of 314 in Singapore
59 reviews
Hotel YAN
#54 of 314 in Singapore
374 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#92 of 314 in Singapore
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sultan

Property: The Sultan
Address: 101 Jalan Sultan #01-01 the Sultan, Singapore 199002, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sultan 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sultan is a 64-room shop house style boutique hotel, nestled right in the heart of culturally vibrant Kampong Glam. Faithfully preserved and recreated from traditional Singaporean shop houses; The Sultan retains many beautiful architectural features that hark back to a time in Singapore’s past when Kampong Glam was a bustling shopping and trading district and shop houses were magnificently built with great arches and columns to be used by owners as both their personal residence and their place of business. The distinctive building which houses The Sultan’s main lobby is so prized for its historical and cultural relevance, and architectural beauty, that it has appeared on a 1996 Singapore postage stamp. At The Sultan, you won’t have to give up the perks of modern comforts and luxuries to get a taste of old world Singapore charm.Priding itself on good ol’ Singaporean hospitality, each and every single member of The Sultan family looks forward to making your stay one that is truly memorable. Be it a personalized walking tour through Kampong Glam, or just making sure you get your breakfast just the way you like it, The Sultan family hopes that you find in The Sultan a haven from the hustle and bustle, a refuge from the blazing Singapore heat, a home away from home.The Sultan boasts 64 hotel guest rooms, offering 8 different room types to cater to our guests’ different budgets and needs. No two room in The Sultan are exactly the same, spanning different visual themes, views and spatial set ups, giving our guests a little surprise each time they come back to visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sultan Hotel Singapore
The Sultan Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing