We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, express service, overcrowded”
Review of Jumbo Seafood Waterfront - CLOSED

Jumbo Seafood Waterfront
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sofia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Tasty, express service, overcrowded”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The restaurant has good location, non-formal appearance, many locals spend their evenings there. The black pepper crab is really delicious, service is expedient and effective, but as an overall experience this place lacks hospitality and the manners of the stuff are more appropriate for a fast-food stand.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    36
    11
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Jumbo big on promise poor on delivery”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Avoid Jumbo! We ordered seafood rice and it came with two prawns in it, nothing like the picture on the menu. The manager gave us a 10% discount but this didn't make up for a poor experince. Go to the cafe on Level 4 of Tang;s and for $18 order the lobster laksa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For the 2-day Tourist in Singapore who loves spicy + crab”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you have about two days in Singapore, you must try the Chili Crab (or the Pepper Crab as I hear) at any of the Jumbo Seafood Restaurant.

A definite must-eat: Chili Crab. Spicy but you want more of the crab and the sauce.

Location: We went to the one at the Stadium. I recommend that you try other Jumbo restaurants if you require taxi. We had to find a taxi, which was mildly difficult because the location wasn't close to any traffic that enables you to catch a cab easily. There's a 5 to 10-minute walk to a taxi stand.

Reservation: Advanced reservation is highly recommended due to the popularity of this franchise.

View: There's no view of the river of this particular restaurant. There's an outside patio in front of the restaurant for its guests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theavidtourist07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of Black Pepper Crab!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Of course we had to try the infamous chili crab while we were visiting Singapore. Our hotel suggested Jumbo and TripAdvisor reviews were helpful. We called ahead to make a reservation for a table outside near the water. Ambiance was a little dissapointing, just a bunch of tables outside, didnt really see the inside of the restaurant though. We ordered the chili crab at market price of $50 SGD per kilo. Very tasty and saucy just not as 'spicy' as advertised. Also ordered the fried buns which ended up being sweet. Not really into mixing sweet and spicy but the buns were still good and fresh. Not sure how the locals get at the crab leg meat with only the use of their chopsticks... We definitely were not able to! We had to ask for crab crackers. Crab itself was delicious and succulent. We then decided to go ahead and order another crab, this time the black pepper crab.... When in Rome/Singapore....Right?! We were so glad we did! Thoroughly enjoyed the black pepper sauce more so than the chili crab. Amazing! I still have dreams about it. Definitely worth trying them both. Really enjoyed our meal here, although this location didnt seem very convenient since its in the Stadium.

Helpful?
Thank FancyTee
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place for Seafood in SG”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Jumbo is one of the most famous place in SG for seafood, especially for Chilly Crab and lobster. The soup (shark fin soup) also tasty! i like the location of this Jumbo. It is in the waterfront in Clark Quay, easy to find and it is outside, If you are going there for dinner, it will not be so hot to sit outside. Enjoy the food and the view together, definately one of the best dinners during my stay in SG.The service there is also very nice, they are nice and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumbo Seafood Waterfront also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing