We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Hotel Singapore
Ranked #114 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Things I Like:
- The room looks new and clean.
- The buffet breakfast has a good spread.
- The hotel is walking distance from Vivocity and Sentosa

What I did not like:
- My room on the 5th floor was right next to the flyover; hardly any privacy.
- Noise from the traffic and also the corridor (sounds like service staff and other guests) disturbed our sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor possible (Level 10 being the highest), and facing Sentosa. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jingyi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled that you love our hotel in more ways than one.

Our windows are double glazed and we do our best to ensure that there is minimal noise. We will certainly inform our departments re. this situation and ensure that our team as well as guests are conscious of other guests' need for a tranquil stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Bay Hotel Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 891 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I booked a staycation over at Bay Hotel. On first arrival I was getting very excited! The carpark looks good, the building looks inviting, the layout looks different from other hotel settings (restaurant at ground floor for easy access by public as well, lobby on third level and guests rooms above that).

The young girls at the reception were friendly and smiling, compared to the hotel that I just transferred from. We even got an early checkin. So nice! Until....

I reached the room and the layout was special. BUT toilet is too tiny! I was prepared to put up with it. There were clumps of dirt lying on the bed, the carpet under the TV, on a pair of room slippers (packaging opened with brown specks over the edges of the slippers and the sticky plastic flap that contains the slippers. Fine.. I was even prepared to put up with that. And I looked out of the window to see a cemetery. Oh boy... So my boyfriend, seeing that I seem pretty upset by now, decided to ask if we could change a room.

We went to the reception and asked. They said that the rooms are being cleaned and a room will be available after 2pm. While one girl was checking on her system, my boyfriend overheard another reception girl saying "so pang-dang" (which means "so superstitious"). My boyfriend only told me when we left the hotel to walk around the vicinity. I was furious!

These people, for God's sake, are in the service line! Basic courtesy = service with sincerity! We weren't even unreasonable, we were just trying our luck. All the good impression I had first off were ALL GONE! If I hear what that reception girl says I'd tell her off on the spot. Is asking for a change in view the same as superstition?! This young girl should be re-educated for her poor comprehensive skills, poor manners and to learn to be more open-minded. Maybe she shouldn't be in service line as her character and personality is unsuitable.

By the way, the pool looks cloudy. This shouldn't be happening in Singapore. Bay Hotel, you need to try harder to improve. But I will not get to see your improvement as I will never stay with you anymore! Once is enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We sincerely apologize for this unfortunate chain of incidents and will carry out an investigation to understand which member of our staff is responsible. Being in the hospitality business, we are passionate about service and take a serious view towards employees who carry out their service duties below par.
Our Deluxe Queen room, at 23 - 26 square metres, is a good size and appeals to most of our guests who have stayed in them; good, also, for two persons. We are in the final phase of rolling out bigger rooms and they are expected to be ready soon.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai.

Could we interest you in providing us details of your stay via email as this could greatly assist our investigation? Our email address is peter@bayhotelsingapore.com

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again on your next visit.
Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in a Deluxe Room at the Bay Hotel for a weekend getaway, and it definitely provided some time away from the city. The location of the hotel was a good balance between entertainment and relaxation, being close to Sentosa and Vivocity, but yet just far enough to not be surrounded by the hustle and bustle of the city.

Would recommend this hotel for poeple who are not too fussed about space in a hotel room. The shower and toilet area is not as private, so if you're going not going to be comfortable with the person you're going with, you have been warned!

Front desk service was a thumbs up, checking in and out was a breeze!

All in all, I would say it was worth the amount we paid for a wkend stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was just a weekend stay to hang out and relax. The location is good since it is located near vivo city and sentosa. I highly recommend this place for tourist alike and for people who just want to stay on a nice hotel with luxury of near fun locations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 770CarolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night and I would say it's a good hotel for the following purposes:
1. you are not choosy with the amount of space you have, as long as you have a bed and a toilet and shower in a decent room
2. you are not traveling with a family of more than 2, kids will find it hard to sleep and you might need extra rooms for them to sleep in.
3. you want to visit some shops and head out to Sentosa.
4. It's convenient to the train station.

The service was pretty good and staff are friendly. I think this hotel has 2 main views, 1 is the view of the cemetery (eek!) and the other is looking directly at the motorway/Vivocity shopping mall/bridge to Sentosa. If you stay here I recommend any view except for the cemetery one, although I hear that the motorway looking room gets noisy? We didn't really experience this problem when we stayed there on the 8th floor.

One really great thing is the mini bar is completely complimentary! I'm not sure if this is for all guests but the hotel said we could eat and drink everything in there, so that was nice. It was decently stocked with lots of snacks, beers, juices etc so least to say we were happy about that.

It is a compact hotel where you would probably have about 20-25sqm of space squeezing in a shower room and toilet. So if someone is using the toilet or shower, you can hear everything....

It's packed with many amenities like slippers, shaver, cotton buds etc so that was good that it was provided. The closet space was really small but again if you are not staying long at this hotel I don't think it would be an issue.

Across the road is Vivocity shopping mall, which was really big, so I think this is a great place to kill time and have something to eat.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for romantic getaways or enjoyment, but I could see that some business travellers or single people would like to use this hotel. For us it was more of a place to stay and sleep before we have to wake up early the following day to go to the airport. It served it's purpose and it was a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid seeing the cemetery outside your room window, make sure to ask for the non-ceme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our service, complimentary bar and great location.

Our Deluxe rooms, at 23-26sqm, have proven to be a good size for most guests. We are in the final phase of rolling out bigger rooms and they are expected to be ready soon.

Indeed, the rooms facing Mt Faber and the greenery offer a more quiet respite from the traffic. Such rooms offer pleasing and calming views of the greenery as well as the swimming pool.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai

To ensure you have a better experience, we have inter-connected rooms so that bigger families can be linked and enjoy their own private access between two rooms.

Our wardrobe space does allow for more clothes and we would be happy to provide you with more hangers on your next stay with us.

We look forward to have you at Bay Hotel Singapore and hope to provide you with an improved experience.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've been there at the beginning of Oct 2012 and I've choosed the wrong side of the hotel: to the main street. I was noisy BUT the windows are quite good insulated. You still hear the cars.
Next time I have to choose the side to the forrest.

Room size is OK for Europeans, very clean, friendly staff, good internet access, MRT station in 5min walking distance, mini bar was for free :-) and the pool was way too low of 1.2m could be deeper but really ok for a little bit swimming.
Fitness centre is around 4sqm hughe ... totally ridiculous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMister78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Bay Hotel Singapore.

We understand that we situated next to the street therefore we have made a point to create double-insulated windows so that they keep out the noise. Also, from our guests’ experience, the noise does die down in the early evening and allows our guests to have a good night’s rest.

We have created a compact-sized gym, also taking into consideration that our guests would enjoy using our pool as well as walks up to Mt Faber where nature is at its best. We are pleased, however, to inform that we are in the planning stage to create a bigger and more spacious gym. Please feel free to let us know if the gym needs to include anything to make it a more well-equipped facility.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

the location was ideal for us as we had just got off a cruise and was able to walk to the bay hotel from the cruise centre a nice hotel for maybe a night or two as the rooms are very small did not like the wash basin in the bedroom and we could only hang two items of clothing up the rest was in our suitcase we had a nice room on the tenth floor overlooking sentosa
overall a nice and friendly hotel

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karaoke176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you found the location ideal and convenience enticing.

Our wardrobe space does allow for more clothes and we would be happy to provide you with more hangers on your next stay with us.

We aim to make your next stay with us an even better one.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
0.7 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#209 of 317 in Singapore
101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#65 of 317 in Singapore
968 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Ville Hotel
Harbour Ville Hotel
#225 of 317 in Singapore
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#90 of 317 in Singapore
947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Hotel Michael
0.8 mi away
Resorts World Sentosa - Festive Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel Singapore

Address: 50 Telok Blangah Road Bay Hotel Singapore | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $114 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the gateway to Sentosa, in the heart of it all. The diamante-inspired facade, Bay Hotel Singapore, sets the stage for a pleasant stay of convenience in a modern boutique hotel. The 11-storey hotel comes fully equipped with its own set of modern comforts and facilities, home with 333-rooms offering stunning views of Sentosa or verdant embrace of Mount Faber through its panoramic bay windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing