We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good compact hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bay Hotel Singapore
Ranked #109 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night and I would say it's a good hotel for the following purposes:
1. you are not choosy with the amount of space you have, as long as you have a bed and a toilet and shower in a decent room
2. you are not traveling with a family of more than 2, kids will find it hard to sleep and you might need extra rooms for them to sleep in.
3. you want to visit some shops and head out to Sentosa.
4. It's convenient to the train station.

The service was pretty good and staff are friendly. I think this hotel has 2 main views, 1 is the view of the cemetery (eek!) and the other is looking directly at the motorway/Vivocity shopping mall/bridge to Sentosa. If you stay here I recommend any view except for the cemetery one, although I hear that the motorway looking room gets noisy? We didn't really experience this problem when we stayed there on the 8th floor.

One really great thing is the mini bar is completely complimentary! I'm not sure if this is for all guests but the hotel said we could eat and drink everything in there, so that was nice. It was decently stocked with lots of snacks, beers, juices etc so least to say we were happy about that.

It is a compact hotel where you would probably have about 20-25sqm of space squeezing in a shower room and toilet. So if someone is using the toilet or shower, you can hear everything....

It's packed with many amenities like slippers, shaver, cotton buds etc so that was good that it was provided. The closet space was really small but again if you are not staying long at this hotel I don't think it would be an issue.

Across the road is Vivocity shopping mall, which was really big, so I think this is a great place to kill time and have something to eat.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for romantic getaways or enjoyment, but I could see that some business travellers or single people would like to use this hotel. For us it was more of a place to stay and sleep before we have to wake up early the following day to go to the airport. It served it's purpose and it was a good experience.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid seeing the cemetery outside your room window, make sure to ask for the non-ceme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirinlager007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our service, complimentary bar and great location.

Our Deluxe rooms, at 23-26sqm, have proven to be a good size for most guests. We are in the final phase of rolling out bigger rooms and they are expected to be ready soon.

Indeed, the rooms facing Mt Faber and the greenery offer a more quiet respite from the traffic. Such rooms offer pleasing and calming views of the greenery as well as the swimming pool.

Bay Hotel is located on a rich heritage site that is Telok Blangah – home to the Temenggong and the royal family that gave British the rights to be in Singapore.

Sited next to a Malay heritage site also gives us great pleasure to celebrate Telok Blangah’s history. The historical mosque that is the Masjid Temenggong Daeng Ibrahim is an interesting piece of history that points to Singapore and Malaysia’s intimate relationship prior to independence.

Home of the royal family of Temenggong Abdul Ibrahim, this is now a mosque. The mausoleum is now home to the royal family of the Temenggong. Once upon a time, the European colonial powers had significant influence in the Malay archipelago – the likes of Dutch and Portuguese. It was with that interest in mind that Raffles, a British trader representing the British government set foot in Singapore. He signed a treaty with the Temenggong which gave the British rights to establish a trading post in Singapore. With that, the Temenggong and his family moved to Telok Blangah and the royal family lived there since. With close to 200 years of history to its belt, the heritage site is a good jumping board to explore other facets of pre-Raffles history and places of interest in Singapore, e.g., Kampong Glam, Arab Street, Haji Lane, Geylang Serai

To ensure you have a better experience, we have inter-connected rooms so that bigger families can be linked and enjoy their own private access between two rooms.

Our wardrobe space does allow for more clothes and we would be happy to provide you with more hangers on your next stay with us.

We look forward to have you at Bay Hotel Singapore and hope to provide you with an improved experience.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 919 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We've been there at the beginning of Oct 2012 and I've choosed the wrong side of the hotel: to the main street. I was noisy BUT the windows are quite good insulated. You still hear the cars.
Next time I have to choose the side to the forrest.

Room size is OK for Europeans, very clean, friendly staff, good internet access, MRT station in 5min walking distance, mini bar was for free :-) and the pool was way too low of 1.2m could be deeper but really ok for a little bit swimming.
Fitness centre is around 4sqm hughe ... totally ridiculous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMister78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Bay Hotel Singapore.

We understand that we situated next to the street therefore we have made a point to create double-insulated windows so that they keep out the noise. Also, from our guests’ experience, the noise does die down in the early evening and allows our guests to have a good night’s rest.

We have created a compact-sized gym, also taking into consideration that our guests would enjoy using our pool as well as walks up to Mt Faber where nature is at its best. We are pleased, however, to inform that we are in the planning stage to create a bigger and more spacious gym. Please feel free to let us know if the gym needs to include anything to make it a more well-equipped facility.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

the location was ideal for us as we had just got off a cruise and was able to walk to the bay hotel from the cruise centre a nice hotel for maybe a night or two as the rooms are very small did not like the wash basin in the bedroom and we could only hang two items of clothing up the rest was in our suitcase we had a nice room on the tenth floor overlooking sentosa
overall a nice and friendly hotel

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karaoke176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Public Relations Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you found the location ideal and convenience enticing.

Our wardrobe space does allow for more clothes and we would be happy to provide you with more hangers on your next stay with us.

We aim to make your next stay with us an even better one.

Bay Hotel Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

i am going to start with the location. the only thing that it is really near is sentosa/vivo city so for everything else you need some form of transportation. the hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from the metro station which goes just about everywhere and you never have to wait more than 5 minutes for a train. the train station also offers a tourist card where for 30 singapore dollar you get unlimited train and bus use, and once your return the card afterwards you get $10 back. if you are staying at this hotel i definitely recommend the metro pass! coming from the airport id say it was no more than a 20 minute cab ride that will cost no more than $28 at most. check in was quick, someone came out to the cab to help bring in our luggage and offered to help us to our room. reading previous reviews i knew about needing to use my room key to active the elevator but they did mention that to me as i was heading to my room, as well as telling me the mini bar is complimentary. We were booked for a deluxe room and looking at the room description from the website i can say we did not have a "pedal-like bay window cushion" but simply a sliding door with gravel on the otherside and we had slippers but no bathrobes. we had to call the front desk because we couldnt figure out how to get the tv to work, the power button showed green but nothing more happened. someone was at the room within 10 minutes, check the remote and all the wires then said he would be back shortly. 10 minutes later he returned with another tv and actually just replaced the one in our room. as far as the noise from the freeway goes,i found since our room was facing the road we did hear ALOT of noise, it was as if the sliding glass doors werent closed all the way but to be honest with the time change and all the running around we did i was tired enough not to nice it. i found every other day the cleaning staff did not come to freshen up the room even though we had the clean room button activated for our room. yes the rooms are small but after going around and seeing the rest of the city it seems the norm there and really do you need lots of standing space in a hotel room anyway?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Senior Marketing and Communications Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Warmest Greetings From Bay Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Singapore during the Grand Prix.

We are truly heartened by your compliments and comments and will certainly keep on improving and keep up with the latest to provide you, our valued guest, a better experience.

We certainly look forward to your support in the coming days and hope that you will recommend us to your relatives and friends when they come to Singapore to stay.

Wishing you a great week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is great, right across from Vivo City, Sentosa and a MRT station. The staff were very nice and helpful. The exterior of the hotel is very nice. The room however, is tiny. It is well equipped though, with a complimentary mini-bar, ample amenities, free wifi, a desk and pen and paper. But the size...it's just too small for two people.

I did like their staff uniforms. Hip and stylish.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwistedGecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Warmest Greetings From Bay Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for your compliments, you have made our day.

We have noted on your feedback and will take it into consideration when we open our next hotel.

Wishing you a wonderful week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We took a staycation for one night at this rather new hotel near Vivocity.

Check-in and check-out was swift and quick. However, the staff seemed rather new and probably were not familiar with customer service. They gave us only very basic information like where to have breakfast and what storey we are staying in. They did not give us more information like where the gym/ pool is, etc.

Room is small. (We had the deluxe) Not much walking space, but should have enough space for one luggage. We stayed in a room that looked out to the cross junction. Many vehicles driving pass the whole time, but luckily, the room is sound proof. Not much of a view though.

Showers is separated from the toilet. Both are tiny.

Location-wise, it is a short walk to Vivocity, where you can have your meals, shopping etc. St James is just across the road if you want to club/drink. Sentosa is rather near too, and it's a nice walk along the boardwalk over.

Swimming pool was quite big, outdoors and quiet. We couldn't locate the fitness centre though.

Breakfast was quite normal, nothing to shout about. Simple fare.

We paid $200 for a night. If you are thinking of going to Sentosa, and don't want to pay for the expensive hotels in Sentosa, this place might be what you are looking for. Otherwise, staycations wise, you might want to explore more established/ interesting hotels.

(Sidenote: we requested for 2 wine glasses at about 10PM, and it took half an hour and 2 reminder calls to reach us. When it came, the 2 glasses are of different sizes!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jia284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Senior Marketing and Communications Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Warm Greetings From Bay Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us.

We take your feedback seriously and have already informed the relevant departments on areas to look into and will certainly ensure such occurences do not happen again.

We look forward to your continued support and should you have friends coming to Singapore, we certainly look forward to you recommending us to them.

Just to share, we have new packages from time to time, be sure to check back soon!

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I've booked a room here because it's near to Vivo City and St James Powerhouse.

When we've arrived. The front desk staff was quite attentive. She approached us first instead of us making our way to the front desk.

In our room, we realised there's no menu for room service. We called to request for a menu to be brought up to our room. However, it took them almost 30minutes to bring it to our room! When we've received the menu, we've totally lost our mood for it and decided to dine out instead.

For breakfast, I must say the food is quite delicious. But when the service staff was topping up our tea, it was dripping out all over the table. Some of it even dripped into my food.

After staying at the hotel, I received an email. I was surprised that I was addressed as a 'Mr'. When I registered, I don't remember changing my gender. After reading other reviews, I realised this is not their first mistake.

Overall, I guess I was quite glad I'm only staying 1 night. There's nothing bad about the hotel but the staff working there clearly need extra training.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jadnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayHotelSingapore, Senior Marketing & Communications Manager at Bay Hotel Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Greetings From Bay Hotel Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to pen down your thoughts and experience during your recent staycation with us.

We thank you for your compliments and are certainly looking into training courses to improve our staff's service standards.

We look forward to your continued support and to welcoming you here in the near future.

Wishing you a great remaining week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singapore
0.7 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
Fragrance Hotel - Royal
#213 of 317 in Singapore
101 reviews
2 mi away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#61 of 317 in Singapore
1,111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dorsett Singapore
Dorsett Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Costa Sands Resort (Sentosa)
Costa Sands Resort (Sentosa)
#13 of 13 in Sentosa Island
134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Destination Singapore Beach Road
4 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#59 of 317 in Singapore
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Hotel Singapore

Address: 50 Telok Blangah Road Bay Hotel Singapore | (Hotel entrance via Temenggong Road), Singapore 098828, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $110 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Hotel Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the gateway to Sentosa, in the heart of it all. The diamante-inspired facade, Bay Hotel Singapore, sets the stage for a pleasant stay of convenience in a modern boutique hotel. The 11-storey hotel comes fully equipped with its own set of modern comforts and facilities, home with 333-rooms offering stunning views of Sentosa or verdant embrace of Mount Faber through its panoramic bay windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bay Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing