We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly tacky but very comfortable”
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ardennes Hotel
Ranked #182 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Slightly tacky but very comfortable”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We only stayed one night, and as locals we didn't need the assistance of the hotel reception so I cannot really comment on the service. When we checked in the receptionist was civil at best and not welcoming at all, so it may be a good thing we didn't really require any help.

The room we got was Flora II, which lived up to its name by having a wallpaper of huge flowers plastered across one wall. I'm not sure what they were going for with the decor because it was eclectic, to say the least - the garish wallpaper, a rhinestone-studded leather chaise longue in one corner, a baroque-esque chair in another, and industrial-design type bathroom fittings. However, the bed was absolutely amazing - I have rarely come across a mattress, pillow and blankets that comfortable and my sleep that night was wonderful. My husband suffers from sleep apnea but he didn't snore even once.

The room is too pricey for what you actually get - more than $200 for a normal-sized room and no breakfast. However, the bathroom is spacious, and you have a bathtub. And that wonderful, wonderful bed.

Location-wise, it's right in the middle of the Muslim quarter where all the great food [Beach Road, Jalan Sultan, etc] and shops are [down a few streets at Haji Lane], plus it's not a very far walk from Bugis MRT station, so that's a plus. I do have to say that there are definitely better hotels in Singapore [and Bugis] for the price you'd pay here though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
61
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The one thing that my partner and I like about the hotel was its location and all eateries around the area. Being locals in search for a quite break away from home and work, we knew that bugis was just the place for us and the ardennes provided us with the basic necessities as we explored the neighbourhood. Checking in and out the hotel was a breeze! We truly loved the comfy bed and there was even a vcd player which came in handy for our late night movie marathon.

However, there are a few things that could have been better. When we first checked into our room, we noticed that the aircon was in fact leaking. What got us worried was that it was located just above the tv and vcd player. Leaking aircon, wires, electricity... anything can happen. Called reception a few times but no one picked up, went down and was told it will stop leaking after a few mins of switching the aircon on and that other rooms experience the same thing too.

The towels were rather rough and uncomfortable to be used. Our room (flora 2) was located adjacent to the public changing room/ toilet that other guests can use before or after a dip in the pool.. so it got pretty noisy during the day (thank goodness we didnt literally bump into anyone as we went in and out of the room. It would have been awkward). The room is in need for maintenance esp the closet doors. The tap above the basin has a unique design to it but not practical at all. I had to ask my partner to hold the tap as I wash my face. As for the breakfast, we decided to forgo the idea of going down since we weren't too sure if it was halal.

Overall it was a good experience but to have another staycation there, maybe not.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masturahabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Was greeted by very friendly helpful staff on arrival and that didn't change throughout our stay. We stayed in a "Junior Suite" called La Roche. I use the term suite loosely as it was not much bigger than a standard room in other hotels. The room was very dark even when lit as everything except linen is black. Even the mirrors were all tinted making it difficult to see what you were doing. Forget putting make up on unless you've got a good aim. The bathroom had no shower but a round bath and you had to step up over a two foot tile panel to get in. Not easy if you are short or unsteady on your feet. The taps didn't work properly and you could only shower by holding the shower head in your hand - pretty awkward really.

Toilet roll and shower gel were not replenished so we had to go in search of our own.

The air conditioning leaked so the bed was soaked on the morning of our departure.

The Western Breakfast was probably the worst we have ever encountered. Bacon so dripping in fat it made you feel sick, a hot dog sausage, the most awful tasting scrambled egg, again full of fat and a toasted croissant. Thank goodness for hash browns as it was the only edible thing on the plate.

All in all not a great experience but it didn't detract from an amazing stay in a fantastic city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joleighton1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. They gave as a room near the swimming pool:
-room very small
-view on a wall
-no double glazzing so you can hear the road not far away
-there a loud sound of a kitchen funnel that you hear 24h a day, sleeping was a challenge even if we were very tired
-breakfast is one of the worst experiences I have ever had! no choice and thet give one platter with a half cooked egg, a bacon (I'm a muslim!!!) without asking you what you want!
-the girl we found at reception when arriving was really not sympathic, and when I complained about the noise told it's maybe the rain!!! took me for a stupide, than said that it's the same with all other rooms!!!
-the bed covers were smelling like wet clothes and with some dirts
-bath room contained hair of previous clients
-the walls we dirty
-no body to help with luggage

this is our worst hotel experience in 15 days in asia!! and the best part of it is thay it cost more 100£/night. I don't recommand this hotel unless you don't find any available rooms elsewhere!

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhalidBssb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The 15-room Ardennes Hotel is a hidden gem well suited for young couples. It’s a great base to explore Singapore and a peaceful oasis in the middle of a concrete jungle.

Unlike other hotels in Singapore in a similar price-range, The Ardennes has good-sized, well-lit rooms with some surprising and useful gadgets (Smart TV, DVD player, multi-charger for all types of laptops and mobile phones, iPod player), and a boldly designed bathroom with a wonderful waterfall shower (perfect water pressure and temperature).

There is a small but stunning rooftop pool with a glass bottom through which you can look straight down into the small restaurant. Although the restaurant is small, the glass roof, greenery and funky decor make it an enjoyable place to have a relaxing breakfast. There's no sense of hustle and bustle here.

LOCATION
The Ardennes is located in the vibrant and eclectic Bugis district, a more interesting area than the sterile Orchard St shopping strip and other inner city locations.

It’s a stone’s throw from Kampong Glam / Arab Street, with some great murtabak restaurants located opposite the Sultan Mosque and quite a few trendy pubs, bars, and cafes a short stroll away down Victoria Street.

It’s about a 10-15 minute walk along Victoria Street to the Bugis MRT Station (via Exit A), Bugis Junction shopping complex, and Bugis Street (a large, maze-like market selling souvenirs, clothing and accessories). There are lots of places to shop and eat nearby. A 7-11 is about three streets down along Victoria Street towards the station and a Subway a bit further along. If it’s raining, ask the front desk for an umbrella, which you can borrow for the day (the hotel guide book says you have to pay a $20 deposit to hire an umbrella, but they didn’t ask us for this).

If taking a taxi, make sure you have a map showing the hotel’s location as a lot of taxi drivers do not know where it is. It takes about 20-30 minutes to get there from Changi Airport if the traffic is good (about $13 - $25).

ROOMS
The room are individually designed and themed. The Aqua rooms on the rooftop next to the pool are quiet and relaxing retreats with shuttered windows opening onto the vine-covered wall of the enclosed courtyard below. It’s lovely to be able to have the windows open for some fresh air and yet still enjoy complete private. We never heard a sound from the other guests, staff, the traffic, restaurants or pubs in the surrounding area. You would never guess you are right on the doorstop of a busy city district.

Although much appreciated in the Singapore heat, the air conditioning can get very cold at night, so cold that I slept in winter pajamas but still had ice-cold hands. Unfortunately the room becomes too hot and stuffy if you turn the AC off at night, so make sure to pack appropriate sleepwear.

The fridge is filled daily with 2 complimentary bottles of water and 2 complimentary drinks (we got Chrysanthemum tea and soy milk). There is also a kettle, earl grey tea and Nescafe instant coffee.

Comfy slippers and rather coarse bathrobes are provided but there is no hair dryer. There is a cupboard with a safe but nowhere to put a suitcase.

Rooms are very clean, modern and well-maintained.

A word of warning, some of the other (i.e. not Aqua) rooms do not have windows, so make sure to double check when booking. Also, I imagine the late-night noise from the karaoke bar opposite would disturb guests in the rooms with street-frontage. However, the street in general is very quiet.

Rooms are non-smoking but there is a smoking area in front of the hotel (table and chairs or a wooden bench).

There are a few cable channels including CNN and a movie channel.

The WiFi is free and excellent. You can log on as many devices as you like.

FOOD
Breakfast is a simple set menu with a homey feel that is cooked to order. You can choose from
1. Western: a warm croissant, bacon, sausage and a fried egg;
2. Singapore: Kaya toast and half a boiled egg; or
3. Toast and fruit
with either coffee, tea, milk or juice. We had the Western breakfast, which we really enjoyed. It was just like eating a home-cooked Sunday breakfast, but it might not be up-to-scratch for guests expecting a larger selection or higher-class of breakfast.

We didn’t order anything from the Room Service menu. However it is reasonably priced (except for the coffee) and available until 9pm. With so many great places to eat nearby, I doubt guests will even look at the Room Service menu.

RECEPTION
Staff are welcoming and friendly. Check in and check out is quick and easy. There are a selection of brochures and newspapers available in the lobby. Although there are no taxis waiting out front, as there are at larger hotels, the staff will call you a taxi if need be.

A few negatives:
- If you extend your stay, you are charged the full room rate, not the much cheaper rates on Agoda or Bookings.com
- Hotel security is very lax. There is no keycard access to the hotel entrance at night. This is necessary due to the nightlife in the surrounding area and also as there is often no one at the reception desk at night (the entrance is not visible from the hotel office where I assume the front desk staff are). This means anyone can walk in off the street, into the hotel and knock on your bedroom door if they were so inclined. This may be a worry for single female travellers.
- Towels are scratchy and don't smell as fresh and fragrant as they should
- Slightly overpriced. Although we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room rate is too high given the location and facilities.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We felt refreshed and relaxed in the peaceful and quiet atmosphere after long days out and about exploring Singapore.

We will definitely stay here again! Loved it!

Room Tip: 1. Some of the other rooms do not have windows, so make sure to double check when booking. 2. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eternallywanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the first time I have ever given a review this low but I think that it is fair this time.

We stayed at The Ardennes for 5 nights over GP weekend. The front desk staff were very friendly and the room was fine and a reasonable size for Singapore though the bathroom flooded every time you showered (judging by the photos this would not be an issue in every room type but it was in our ground floor Deluxe Queen Room). It was very dark but the bed and pillow were comfortable and the Wifi worked well. Based on the room and location I'd give the hotel a 3.5. It is a few minutes walk to the MRT station but if you're happy to walk it is otherwise located in an area with lots of character and an easy walk to Haji Lane and Arab Street.

However, twice during our stay we left the room to go out and put on the do not disturb light only to return and find that our room had been entered. Due to this breach of trust/privacy, I cannot give the hotel more than two. The first time it happened I thought maybe my partner had made a mistake and not put the light on but the second time we both made sure it was on before we left and returned to find that they had been in our room.

Room Tip: The ground floor Queen Deluxe rooms are very dark. They were dark even with the shutters opened and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohmiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is is nestled away in a small, quiet street. It takes about 8-10min to walk either to Little India or Bugis shopping district.
The room was small for the price but was clean & comfortable, the bathroom and decor stunning. The pool was located on the second floor and has an amazing glass floor that is above the restaurant. Breakfast was included and was a very generous cooked meal of eggs, bacon, sausages etc. Perfect for business, single, couple and friends travel...wouldn't see it being a family place though.
Would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
The Sultan
The Sultan
#175 of 312 in Singapore
277 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#135 of 312 in Singapore
185 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#116 of 312 in Singapore
1,002 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel 81 - Heritage
Hotel 81 - Heritage
#210 of 312 in Singapore
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Property: The Ardennes Hotel
Address: 11 Jalan Klapa The Ardennes, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing