We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good value”
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ardennes Hotel
Ranked #183 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty good value”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Good value hotel.

Positives:
- great location and easy to get to from airport by taxi or even MTR are two stations are less that 5 mins walk away
- free wifi
- fantastic, friendly staff and service
- rooms good and given fresh fruit and water in room
- great coffee in morning, free breakfast
- great value
- swimming pool above the bar

Negatives
- rooms don't have much natural light. So dark had no idea if day or night
- breakfast is good if you like fry ups

Would return. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
61
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was the second hotel that we stayed in while on our vacation in Singapore. I had high expectations from this property as its rated 4 star on Booking.com. But to sheer surprise it was a real pain to even find this hotel. We got down at Bugis station and asked the locals and taxis about the hotel and the street it was located on, but none had any idea. Took us more than an hour to finally locate this hotel and check in.

Pros: Clean room, friendly staff.

Cons: Location, expensive, not a very fancy hotel to be rated as 4 star, tiny swimming pool, very limited choice for breakfast.

At this price, one can get better hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JigyasuBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a staycation at this little hotel located right in the middle of Lavender and Bugis road. Was given the black suite though I had initially booked for the floral suite. Even after I argued with the reception, the staff just simply refused to change to my original floral suite for me as they had given my room to another occupant. This really spoiled my day.

Other than the rude service given by the hotel staff, this hotel is pretty worth staying if you love privacy and do not mind the service provided, since they do not have much occupancy units here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iBaby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Ardennes is a well located 15 room boutique hotel. The interior is quite stylish and even though the room is small, it is neat and adequate. Given that Singapore hotels are expensive, this one is at the lower end of the range for those that claim to be 4 star. The property is only 5 minutes walk from Bugis Junction and there are several interesting bars and cafes on the same street, Jalan Klapa (Malay for "Coconut Street"). The hotel even has a nice looking pool on the second floor, but I cannot imagine it gets much use because it is tiny and located directly outside a couple of guest rooms.

That is the good part.

Now the problems. Firstly, the breakfast is totally inadequate. There is no choice - either you accept a plate with a weird vegetarian combination of a pancake, scrambled eggs and a hash brown or you get nothing. There is a single piece of fruit on offer. Hello? What is wrong with the "cook" buying a packet of bacon and some sausages on the way to work???? And how about some bananas, which you can buy around the corner for next to nothing??? This is sheer laziness on the part of the staff and management and lets the hotel down badly.

Secondly, it appears that the staff lie (or have been told to lie by the management). I asked for a late checkout - a very routine request in Singapore because many of us have evening flights and one which is almost invariably granted. However, the response from the front desk was "No, we are fully booked". Well boys and girls, in this age of the internet that's fairly easy to investigate and the very first site I went to - Agoda - showed that there was in fact at least one room still available.

So the correct response to my request for a late check out should have been "No - we can't be bothered" or "No, it doesn't suit us".

I can live with the substandard breakfast. What I cannot abide is being lied to. Shame on you.

Room Tip: There probably is not a great deal of difference given there are a total of 15 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KymBergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We´ve stayed in the "black" executive suite and that was gorgeus. We stayed for 3 nights so the room and bathroom was great for relaxing after expending all day visiting Singapore. The only regret was the breakfast, everyday was the same and it would have been nice to have some more variety.
It´s an small hotel, which makes it quiet and wtih many nice details that makes you feel like in a higher star.
It´s well located, and you can find many places to eat around. THe buildings of the area have all 3 floors, and that in Singapore you will appreciate, . Just one tip, if you take a taxi, just remeber to take a card so that the driver can know how to find it.

Room Tip: It´s well known that in Asia all the rooms are small, so if you can take a suite, you will hace spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKandCRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

For the prices I payed, there is no convenience. Too small room (suite) and not cleaned sheet.
I think it would be better considered a medium 3 star hotel than a 4.
The only positive thing is that is nearest the nice Bugis zone and not so far (8 minutes walking) from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaSniky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

cheap hotel but very nice room, it's a low rise hotel, accessible bec it's between two MRT station. SInce it's a bit walking distance to MRT station you can ride a bus going there for 2-3mins. there's convenience store and easy for taxi to find it. The breakfast is good.

We stayed at the ground rooms, room 101, dont stay below rooms bec you can hear footsteps from the stairway made of wood, though they have elevators I am not sure why many people use it. nice frontdesk, very accomodating

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catbearkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
The Sultan
The Sultan
#175 of 312 in Singapore
278 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#135 of 312 in Singapore
185 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#134 of 312 in Singapore
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 312 in Singapore
1,002 reviews
Kampong Glam
Hotel 81 - Heritage
Hotel 81 - Heritage
#212 of 312 in Singapore
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Property: The Ardennes Hotel
Address: 11 Jalan Klapa The Ardennes, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing