We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“An over-rated budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ardennes Hotel
Ranked #162 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An over-rated budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was the second hotel that we stayed in while on our vacation in Singapore. I had high expectations from this property as its rated 4 star on Booking.com. But to sheer surprise it was a real pain to even find this hotel. We got down at Bugis station and asked the locals and taxis about the hotel and the street it was located on, but none had any idea. Took us more than an hour to finally locate this hotel and check in.

Pros: Clean room, friendly staff.

Cons: Location, expensive, not a very fancy hotel to be rated as 4 star, tiny swimming pool, very limited choice for breakfast.

At this price, one can get better hotels in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JigyasuBajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
57
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a staycation at this little hotel located right in the middle of Lavender and Bugis road. Was given the black suite though I had initially booked for the floral suite. Even after I argued with the reception, the staff just simply refused to change to my original floral suite for me as they had given my room to another occupant. This really spoiled my day.

Other than the rude service given by the hotel staff, this hotel is pretty worth staying if you love privacy and do not mind the service provided, since they do not have much occupancy units here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iBaby63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Ardennes is a well located 15 room boutique hotel. The interior is quite stylish and even though the room is small, it is neat and adequate. Given that Singapore hotels are expensive, this one is at the lower end of the range for those that claim to be 4 star. The property is only 5 minutes walk from Bugis Junction and there are several interesting bars and cafes on the same street, Jalan Klapa (Malay for "Coconut Street"). The hotel even has a nice looking pool on the second floor, but I cannot imagine it gets much use because it is tiny and located directly outside a couple of guest rooms.

That is the good part.

Now the problems. Firstly, the breakfast is totally inadequate. There is no choice - either you accept a plate with a weird vegetarian combination of a pancake, scrambled eggs and a hash brown or you get nothing. There is a single piece of fruit on offer. Hello? What is wrong with the "cook" buying a packet of bacon and some sausages on the way to work???? And how about some bananas, which you can buy around the corner for next to nothing??? This is sheer laziness on the part of the staff and management and lets the hotel down badly.

Secondly, it appears that the staff lie (or have been told to lie by the management). I asked for a late checkout - a very routine request in Singapore because many of us have evening flights and one which is almost invariably granted. However, the response from the front desk was "No, we are fully booked". Well boys and girls, in this age of the internet that's fairly easy to investigate and the very first site I went to - Agoda - showed that there was in fact at least one room still available.

So the correct response to my request for a late check out should have been "No - we can't be bothered" or "No, it doesn't suit us".

I can live with the substandard breakfast. What I cannot abide is being lied to. Shame on you.

Room Tip: There probably is not a great deal of difference given there are a total of 15 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KymBergmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We´ve stayed in the "black" executive suite and that was gorgeus. We stayed for 3 nights so the room and bathroom was great for relaxing after expending all day visiting Singapore. The only regret was the breakfast, everyday was the same and it would have been nice to have some more variety.
It´s an small hotel, which makes it quiet and wtih many nice details that makes you feel like in a higher star.
It´s well located, and you can find many places to eat around. THe buildings of the area have all 3 floors, and that in Singapore you will appreciate, . Just one tip, if you take a taxi, just remeber to take a card so that the driver can know how to find it.

Room Tip: It´s well known that in Asia all the rooms are small, so if you can take a suite, you will hace spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKandCRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

For the prices I payed, there is no convenience. Too small room (suite) and not cleaned sheet.
I think it would be better considered a medium 3 star hotel than a 4.
The only positive thing is that is nearest the nice Bugis zone and not so far (8 minutes walking) from the subway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaSniky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

cheap hotel but very nice room, it's a low rise hotel, accessible bec it's between two MRT station. SInce it's a bit walking distance to MRT station you can ride a bus going there for 2-3mins. there's convenience store and easy for taxi to find it. The breakfast is good.

We stayed at the ground rooms, room 101, dont stay below rooms bec you can hear footsteps from the stairway made of wood, though they have elevators I am not sure why many people use it. nice frontdesk, very accomodating

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catbearkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Well, although I put 4-stars for this hotel, I must tell that there are two minor problems with this hotel; first, the taxi driver from the airport did not know that this hotel is exist!! I mean, how can a taxi driver doesn't know about it? Because of this, we got off at Bugis Junction and were forced to walk to the hotel as we didn't have any other option. That was our first trip to Singapore, we were barely blind with everything, luckily I noted the hotel adresse and remembered the route from Bugis to the hotel from google map.
So, after almost half an hour, we arrived at the Ardennes, and feel happy with what we see, the hotel is nice, clean, comfort, modern even tho it was small compare to other hotel.
However, we were quite surprise to find that the breakfast was not in buffet style. They only have omelet, sausages, some fish chips *I guess*, and coffee, milk, tea, or juice. Surely you may ask for more portion if what they gave you is not enough for you, but they don't have anything else to offer in the morning. The restaurant itself is small if it's not tiny, but the ceiling is quite unique; while having your breakfast, you can see the sky through a transparent ceiling which is actually a swimming pool. I didn't see anyone swimming during my stay there, but I think it would be quite an experience as well if you want to try it.
For the room, I found that it was so clean, comfortable, and practical. The bathroom consist of shower cabin, a toilet, a wash basin and some amenities provided for free. You also have hairdryer in the closet, you can make your own coffe and tea as well, the flat screen tv is nice, the bed is bouncy, me and my husband really enjoyed our stay. The Ardennes located adjacent to Kampong Glam, Arab and Haji Lane, you can walk to Bugis street. We walked up to Orchard, Mustafa, Clark Quay, and SIngapore Flyer, it was nice, but for those who can't bare the heat, I won't recommend to stroll down the street after 10 AM, luckily, the MRT Bugis is only 300-400 meter away from the Ardennes, so there won't be any problem.
Otherwise, you can ask the friendly hotel staff to reserve a cab which will show up right in front of the hotel door *yes, the door, because the Ardennes is located in the lane, not street*... The staff booked me a cab to the airport as well and it came on time. I also had a problem with my credit card, but the staff gave me an option and it was really heplful indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannywishnuardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#123 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#139 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Arcadia Hotel
#99 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#152 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Sultan
The Sultan
#181 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#133 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Property: The Ardennes Hotel
Address: 11 Jalan Klapa The Ardennes, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing