We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“low rise hotel, cheap and accessible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ardennes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ardennes Hotel
Ranked #171 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“low rise hotel, cheap and accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

cheap hotel but very nice room, it's a low rise hotel, accessible bec it's between two MRT station. SInce it's a bit walking distance to MRT station you can ride a bus going there for 2-3mins. there's convenience store and easy for taxi to find it. The breakfast is good.

We stayed at the ground rooms, room 101, dont stay below rooms bec you can hear footsteps from the stairway made of wood, though they have elevators I am not sure why many people use it. nice frontdesk, very accomodating

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catbearkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
57
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Well, although I put 4-stars for this hotel, I must tell that there are two minor problems with this hotel; first, the taxi driver from the airport did not know that this hotel is exist!! I mean, how can a taxi driver doesn't know about it? Because of this, we got off at Bugis Junction and were forced to walk to the hotel as we didn't have any other option. That was our first trip to Singapore, we were barely blind with everything, luckily I noted the hotel adresse and remembered the route from Bugis to the hotel from google map.
So, after almost half an hour, we arrived at the Ardennes, and feel happy with what we see, the hotel is nice, clean, comfort, modern even tho it was small compare to other hotel.
However, we were quite surprise to find that the breakfast was not in buffet style. They only have omelet, sausages, some fish chips *I guess*, and coffee, milk, tea, or juice. Surely you may ask for more portion if what they gave you is not enough for you, but they don't have anything else to offer in the morning. The restaurant itself is small if it's not tiny, but the ceiling is quite unique; while having your breakfast, you can see the sky through a transparent ceiling which is actually a swimming pool. I didn't see anyone swimming during my stay there, but I think it would be quite an experience as well if you want to try it.
For the room, I found that it was so clean, comfortable, and practical. The bathroom consist of shower cabin, a toilet, a wash basin and some amenities provided for free. You also have hairdryer in the closet, you can make your own coffe and tea as well, the flat screen tv is nice, the bed is bouncy, me and my husband really enjoyed our stay. The Ardennes located adjacent to Kampong Glam, Arab and Haji Lane, you can walk to Bugis street. We walked up to Orchard, Mustafa, Clark Quay, and SIngapore Flyer, it was nice, but for those who can't bare the heat, I won't recommend to stroll down the street after 10 AM, luckily, the MRT Bugis is only 300-400 meter away from the Ardennes, so there won't be any problem.
Otherwise, you can ask the friendly hotel staff to reserve a cab which will show up right in front of the hotel door *yes, the door, because the Ardennes is located in the lane, not street*... The staff booked me a cab to the airport as well and it came on time. I also had a problem with my credit card, but the staff gave me an option and it was really heplful indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannywishnuardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Room is ok, location wise its located between 2 MRT station. Kinda bum if you want to walk right or left, although its only 5-8 min walk.
Amenities also in par with any other 4 stars hotel. however, taxi driver got difficulties to find the location

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I chanced upon The Ardennes one day and thought the exterior was particularly inviting. Made a booking for their suite on agoda, was allocated Flora II on the second floor. The lift works interestingly, for the handicapped in particular - I needed to hold the button until the floor was reached if not risk it hanging in mid-air. Taking the stairs could be a better option.

For starters, they are shorthanded, the receptionist doubles up as the f&b manager as well. Room was clearly unoccupied for a while, the aircon took quite awhile to warm up.

See through bathroom which was cool but the size of their so-called "suite" is too small! No windows, as expected. Bed was comfy thankfully.

Breakfast was just omelette, wedges, sausages with bacon. A choice of beverage but really average.

If anything, the recep kindly extended our checkout time by an hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miracle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I chose this small hotel from Agoda and was really happy with it. Loved location being an easy walk from Bugis rail and Plaza Centre, and Indian Market and food area, also a great local Chinese cafe around the corner, one of the boys at the hotel directed me to, l found the staff to be helpful, though breakfast not great. Room well appointed a bit noisy,with street outlook, but would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request room with window off the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and were glad we did.

Lovely modern rooms with nice bathroom, all very clean. Our room opened up onto the small pool area which was nice. Pool had glass bottom which was the roof of the restaurant.

Location is very close to transport, shopping, restaurants and massage right outside the door.

You get served a cooked breakfast each morning which was nice but it would be good to have the choice of a cold fruit and toast type selection also.

Yes, rooms are small but offer very good value in an expensive city for decent accommodation.

Friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you can, book a suite for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooks1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Well, please do nit waste your money here! Nicely decorated rooms but the practicality... OH MY GOD!! Electricity plugs in very stupid locations. No shower curtain in bathroom which means you have a swimming pool by the time ONE person has had their shower! The deluxe room is totally not recommended - its only okayish for 1 person. & I hate to imagine the size of the single room!

Not to forget the MOSQUITOES!! Yes, a few in the room so my legs were covered in bites!

Then you get greeted by a really grumpy waitress for breakfast! And what a let down that was! As a vegetarian, you have no hope but to eat bread! One day, they didnt even have any fruit! Apparently, they hadnt had a delivery that day! Surely, for charging me $150 per night, they out to have made a better effort! I felt like slapping the waitress, she was that rude!

The TV in the room didnt work properly either. There's hardly any space to walk around. Two people in this so-called deluxe room would be tripping over each other!

The Receptionist booked me a really expensive taxi to the airport... Luckily, something prompted me to hail a cab from the road when I went to get some cash and he turned out to be much cheaper!

OH MY GOD, what a nightmare!! I had a much better deal at $140pn at the Park Royal during the 1st leg of my trip!

Room Tip: Do not choose The Ardennes Hotel - Over Priced Deluxe room is too small for 2 people & definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#142 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#123 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#144 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arcadia Hotel
#143 of 304 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Kampong Glam
The Sultan
The Sultan
#176 of 304 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Hotel Kai
#122 of 304 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ardennes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ardennes Hotel

Property: The Ardennes Hotel
Address: 11 Jalan Klapa The Ardennes, Singapore 199323, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 304 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ardennes Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Ardennes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ardennes Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing